We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for vegan (vegetarian) B&B!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B to your Saves list
Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B
Claggan Farm | Wester Elchies, Aberlour AB38 9SB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for vegan (vegetarian) B&B!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent B&B experience!

Being vegan it can be quite hard to find a suitable place to eat and/or stay - this vegetarian (vegan) Bed & breakfast was just perfect and is well worth the visit!! We will surely be back before the end of the year!

We got a warm welcome from the owners and the homemade breakfast was absolutely delicious!
The landlady makes her own sausages, which are vegetarian, and also vegan pancakes, bread and different kinds of jams and marmelades.
She also makes her own vegetarian soaps, which are a beautiful gift or stock filler!

The house itself was built in the 17th century and is in a stunning and remote location, overlooking the river Spey.
The rooms were tidy and beautifully decorated, and instantly made you feel like home.

We had a fantastic stay in Claggan Farm and definitely recommend a visit!

A must if you're a vegan or vegetarian - but do give it a try, even if you're an omnivore! The food might even convert you :-)

Many thanks to the owners!

Teresa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Owner at Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Teresa,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was good to share vegan ideas. Do get in touch on our email and we hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Late in the evening and whilst in near-by Dufftown, called this "Claggan Farm B&B" and minutes after talking with this sweet young woman, who confirmed availability of two rooms, received on my mobile a clear map on how to reach the farm. We were there in minutes.
We were given two spacious and clean rooms on the upper floor, with a beautiful view to River Spey and sharing, in-between them, the very large, impressive and spotless bathroom, decorated with candles and home made soaps.
Greatly appreciated the peaceful surroundings, the special vegetarian breakfast (although not a vegetarian), the genuine hospitality of the owners, and their successful effort to offer a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As mentioned by others, the only potential drawback is the location. However, the location also affords you wonderful views of the River Spey and Aberlour! So, you pays your money and you takes your choice - and given that the room rates are very reasonable, I would always choose this option! It's also great to find somewhere that does such a tasty veggie breakfast.

We chose to walk home each evening, as we usually didn't start to head back until gone midnight, which we felt was too late to impose on the B&B owners, who had kindly offered to pick us up. But it also meant we could stop off at the excellent Mash Tun for a final wee dram, which offers a fine range of food and whisky, and is right next to the path going back over the footbridge over the river. You can walk back via farm tracks, rather than heading across the fields, which is shorter than going back along the main roads, and helps to clear the head from the whisky that you've no doubt been sampling!

For anyone wanting a warm and friendly stay with home-cooked food and freshly-baked bread, I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Claggan Farm B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The most special part of the B&B was certainly the breakast. The vegetarian options were superb, the carrot pancakes and tofu chestnut sausage being the highlights. The road to the b&b was not always obvious but once there the view was great and it was by the river, in the heart of the distillery region. Second best thing was the homemade organic soaps. They make great souvenirs! Both the room and the bathroom are large and well decorated. The owners were very friendly as was their adorable dog.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here while walking Speyside Way. accommodation is great, wonderful views, great breakfast. There is a bath in the bathroom, which is great if you've walked 12 miles to get there, which we had! The owner's home made soap is provided in the bathroom ( we bought some from the website when we got home)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at Claggan Farm (a vegetarian bed and breakfast!) while walking the Speyside Way. We very much enjoyed our stay: The scenery is gorgeous, the interior of the house is lovely (and appears to be a recent renovation), the beds comfortable, the rooms spacious, and the shared bathroom well-equipped. The vegetarian breakfasts were the best we've had along the way! The owner makes her own vegetarian sausages as part of the vegetarian full Scottish breakfast, and they're incredible!

Essentially the only real drawback is the location: The farm sits at the end of a 1/2 mile driveway just east of the Wood of Claggan, which makes for a few miles of walking to Aberlour along busy roads if on foot. The owner told us there was a shortcut through the fields (which would allow very convenient access to Aberlour via a footbridge), but it appeared (to both us and the other visitors we met) that the shortcut had been overgrown by crops or vegetation at the time of our visit. We were lucky enough to get the owner (who is fantastic!) to pick us up on the first night, saving us from having to find the farm on our own. If you can arrange to be picked up, or if you come by car, then this is a fantastic place to stay!

Hikers: The owner was more than happy to handle our baggage forwarding to the next B&B along the Speyside Way!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B

Address: Claggan Farm | Wester Elchies, Aberlour AB38 9SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the heart of Speyside and the Malt Whisky Trail. Whether you are on a walking holiday or visiting various distilleries you'll find our B&B conveniently located. Our farmhouse, situated on a hill overlooking the River Spey, offers magnificent views and peace and tranquility in the countryside. We are fully vegetarian and you'll only be served organic produce either farmed by us or sourced locally. We can cater to vegans and offer packed lunches and evening meals by prior arrangement. The area offers a wide variety of activities including kayaking, fishing, walking, climbing and whisky tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B Aberlour, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claggan Farm Vegetarian B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.