We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor experience...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aberlour Takeaway

Aberlour Takeaway
92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
01340 871871
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Aberlour
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very poor experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ordered by phone 2 x onion rings, 2 x pizzas and 1 x fish and mushy peas. Confirmed order at shop when paying only to find out on arrival at home that.....

1. 2 x onion rings order were not in the bag !
2. Pizza boxes had been placed upright in the bag so the pizza toppings were lying all down one side of the pizzas...which were very doughy.

And this for £18.50!? Very poor :-(

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Returning customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Returned a year later and still the same excellant service and good quality fish & chips! Placed order for 29 people and order fulfilled quickly, no complaints what so ever!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My local chippie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great chippie, food made fresh, we normally order by phone then nip down for it. Love the white pudding supper.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Arrived to stay overnight at local hotel. Was very hungry after a 400 mile journey. Brilliant meal @ good price

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional fish & chip takeaway-excellant very friendly service-Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We recently placed a very big order for 29 people ordering fish & chips or Scampi & Chips and wondered what the quality would be like and whether a small village chip shop would be able to handle such a big order. I was thoroughly impressed! I had researched the 2 closest chippys to where we were all staying and it was between the Aberlour takeaway and another in Grantown on Spey, I had rang the 1 in Grantown only to be put off by the owner not wanting to take my call and he had to relay the answers to my questions via the young girl who clearly didn't know what she was talking about - what a differnce to the Aberlour Takeaway! I rang to enquire and Fiona was very pleased to help and even emailed me their entire menu, I was able to email back my order and arranged a time to collect. When we got there we were late but the girls in the takeaway had held off putting the order together until we arrived, so it was prepared fresh and hot and even bagged up in 3 seperate orders as I placed it. I was worried it would have been waiting for us getting cold and soggy but not at all - excellant service, to the dismay of a few locals that had to wait quite a few minutes for their orders (Sorry!) then since the chips couldn't have vinegar on them otherwise they would have gone soggy on our (20min) drive back they had put together little bags of complimentary salt, vinegar & Ketchup bottles! And to top it all off our order was so large all 3 girls helped us out the shop with all the bags! The friendly service, spotlessly clean premises and helpfullness was really impressive and we will definatley be placing our order here next year when we come on holiday! One last thing the fish & chips were beautiful, lovely flaking haddock in crispy batter and gorgeous chips. Thanks Again!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberlour Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Aberlour Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberlour Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.