We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cardhu Country House

Save Saved
You added Cardhu Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardhu Country House
Knockando, Aberlour AB38 7RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Wareham, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Situated in among pastures of grazing cows and fields of barley, the Cardhu is the perfect setting to feel at home in the highlands. The room was very comfortable although the walls are quite thin so be prepared to hold your noise down and hear your neighbor's mumblings and coughing.
But this was a minor trade off for the ability to walk to the Knockando Woolmill and the Cardhu Distillery. A short drive can find you in reach of fine pubs and other distilleries. Norman, the host is gracious, helpful and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
50
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This country gem is NOT to be missed if you're anywhere nearby. While touring Scotland visiting our favorite distilliries, the Cardhu Country House was such a great find for 2 nights. It's charming and truly home away from home. Perfectly situated in the lush coutryside as well as minutes from the whisky trail and many beautiful points of interest. Breakfast and dinner are NOT to be missed - coming from the NY metro area, we know good food - the presentation and quality here is top shelf! Norman, the innkeeper/owner made our visit when he joined us in the parlor for a wee dram or two after dinner AND was even nice enough to bring out one of his own special reserves for us to sample. This will always remain an unforgettable visit.

Room Tip: I believe you want to be on the 2nd floor as third floor rooms may be smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent two night here and it was the best stay of our trip. Well run B&B in a quiet location. Older refurbished home with fine details and clean well sized rooms. You should have dinner one evening - food is well prepared, fresh and fairly priced for what you'll get. I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel, and also booked a dinner.

We found it a bit hidden, and the signs from the road were not visible immediately and we had go a bit around with our car to finally see the directions to the hotel.

We were warmly welcomed, the hotel is very tastefully decorated with some genuine Scottish textures. The room was quite large and the bed also very comfortable.

The dinner is OK based on our standards - it was quite decent, but nothing to rave about.
However, as we were the only guests having dinner, it felt a bit left out of the big party, as we heard the family was having dinner with quite a lot of people at the same time. In the morning, the breakfast was also quite OK, but again nothing special.

If you are looking for a place to stay, this is a decent hotel, but I would not call it amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent two nights with the very friendly family run quiet little guesthouse. Ideal stop when traveling on whiskey, gulfing or fishing trip. Hosts very helpful. Nicely sized rooms with comfortable beds and surprisingly nice bathrooms. Wood floors are a great plus (no carpets!). Car parking available free of cost. Would go back any time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is beautiful home on a lovely quiet street. The hosts are so helpful and friendly and the breakfast is delicious. We had a large room with a very comfortable bed. The staff is great. If you are planning on visiting the whiskey trail this is a great location right next to the Cardu distillery, near Glenlivet and Alberlour. Wonderful stay, we hated to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Top rate facility, property and wonderful hosts. The chef's meals were so delicious we just ate in every night. As one person in the dining area remarked, "what are you going to do - go out and get chips when this feast can be had?" My partner and I loved the house, but more so the family that hosted us - they treated us as guests in their beautiful home. We will always remember this...in part because after we left my partner proposed marriage!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cardhu Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardhu Country House

Address: Knockando, Aberlour AB38 7RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive rural retreat in Speyside Whisky Country offering luxury bed and breakfast, self catering and fully catered and serviced accommodation. Cardhu House is at the very heart of the Whisky Trail where more than half of Scotlands malt whisky distilleries are to be found. Situated a mile from the River Spey, famous for its salmon fishing, and the Speyside Way, a long distance walking and cycling route linking the Cairngorms to the Moray Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cardhu Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardhu Country House Aberlour, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardhu Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.