We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff at this little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aberlour Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberlour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Aberlour Hotel
Save
You added The Aberlour Hotel to your Saves list
87 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly staff at this little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, as it is right in the middle of Whisky heaven. You are literally minutes away from some of the world most well known distilleries. The hotel was going through renovations when we were there in 2013, but they have been completed since.
Clean with a touch of modern, very accomodating staff. Try the restaurant there or walk 5 minutes to the Mashtun for a dram and a meal!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are a bit noiser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
14
13
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a standard room. Our impression was that no expense has been spared on the modernisation. It is to a very high standard for this size of hotel. We had a pleasant evening meal with home cooked food, not gourmet, but good value. Service was good and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Our standard room was fine but looked out over the roof of the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomintoul, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited in September after our tour at the Aberlour distillery, we did not know that it had been refurbished and taken over by new owners and it was a lovely surprise. There were four of us and we all had a main meal and dessert with drinks to begin with, the service was good with friendly staff who were efficient and very helpful, the food did not take too long to come and it was delicious, we would definitely visit again as we only live 20 miles from Aberlour and visit there regularly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stopped at Aberlour Hotel purely by chance on our way to Elgin. I cannot comment on the rooms or the food as we only wanted tea and biscuits. We were directed to the bar where we were welcomed by the manageress who could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. We were very impressed by the interior decoration, quality of the furnishings etc. and the facilities were spotlessly clean. Even though we were only there for less than an hour we were made to feel very welcome and the manageress went to considerable trouble to write down directions to our destination. (Many thanks for that, by the way, followed your instructions and arrived safely, great improvement on our Sat nav!). Next time we are travelling in this area we will make a point of returning to the Aberlour Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight 17th August found the staff very friendly and courteous at all times although some confusion when I came to pay seemed that there are new systems in place and not all staff trained to use this will put down to teething probs as it seems like there has been a lot of work put into the business ie the rooms reception areas all looking pristine and almost new cooked breakfast was nice too found the price reasonable too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a lovely family lunch at the Aberlour hotel today. The staff were amazing and helped make a special birthday extra special. The food was really good, great choice and freshly cooked. The hotel is really nicely decorated and great place to relax, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abernethy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

enjoyed stay at hotel for family reunion comfortable bed polite and pleasant staff breakfast was first class apart from coffee was a tad weak hotel is also dog friendly a big plus for dog owners
not all rooms have a bath only shower which may not suit everyone but sure hotel would accommodate if this was a requirement

Room Tip: not all rooms have a bath only shower which may not suit everyone but sure if this was a requirement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aberlour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberlour Hotel

Address: 87 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberlour Hotel is a lovely family run hotel, situated in the heart of Scotland's Malt Whisky Country.Family and Dog Friendly, there is a varied menu serving fresh home cooked food using the finest local produce from the humble sandwich through to scallops and steaks to venison casserole. The well-stocked bars offer cask ales and a variety of drams from Speyside and further afield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Aberlour Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aberlour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.