We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Raven Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Raven Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ravenscar YO13 0ET, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
FriesianLover
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in March and we were not disappointed. The hotel is charming, with loads of character and with a lovely atmosphere. The staff were excellent, friendly and very attentive. We paid extra for a bay view room...well worth the extra £10! We were on a DBB basis and the food was excellent, fresh and well presented. We will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st Floor room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    269
    92
    39
    23
See reviews for
121
426
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staff are all very attentive and helpful. Bedrooms clean and warm. There is a small pool which is adequate for say two people really.
The only downside I found was that the downstairs public rooms are a bit on the cool side, so take something warm with you!
Plenty of lovely walks from the hotel either north or south along the coast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Beautiful views, nice location. Room was ok, we paid £49 so we got what we paid for and it was fine. I'm guessing there are better ones...but I'm not complaining.
The wifi was strangled seemed to have an excellent signal but was limited. Apart from that the hotel was top notch...really worth a visit.
Breakfast was a buffet...but not a dried up one! Really nice. Didn't try dinner but it looked good :)
Great staff, that do look after you. Please stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for two nights In March and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful when I telephoned to make the booking and suggested a room that was suitable for my elderly father and only a short distance from the dining room and lounge. I paid a little extra for a view of the bay and it was definitely worth it. The bathroom was quite small but the bedroom was a good size.
We had breakfast, lunch and evening meals at the hotel and they were all good. The evening menu was varied and changed each day.

We walked along the beach to Robin Hoods Bay, played tennis and really had a wonderful time. We will definitely return before long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Bay View on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband treated me to two nights here for my birthday,had a beautiful room overlooking the bay,breakfast was lovely,and dinner cooked beautifully,we have been coming to Robins Hoods Bay for years.,so we know the area well.we walked from the hotel to the bay taking two hours and forty minutes,but it was muddy and had a lot of steps to climb up and down,we walked back the cinder path way back which was far easier,and no steps! But glad we walked it as the weather was beautiful and really enjoyed it.would love to return one day,we had a lovely room with a bay view,so we could lay in bed and enjoy the amazing view.
r

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Raven Hall in March and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The building is old (18th century) which adds to the experience of the stay.
We paid a little extra for a 'Bay View' and it was worth it, stunning view!!!
Good menus for breakfast and dinner and the food was cooked well and presented well.
The view from the restaurant adds to the enjoyment of the dinning. A little cosmetic work needed here and there but nothing to detract from a relaxing stay.
We would defiantly book again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Well worth the £10 a night extra for a bay view . Stunning on a clear day. Only downside was the pool quite small so had a good walk instead as we were lucky enough to have beautiful weather. Really relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenscar YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 51 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raven Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.