We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Raven Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Raven Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ravenscar YO13 0ET, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friends visiting from New Zealand had mentioned they used to holiday every year at the Raven Hall Hotel before emigrating. As a surprise I booked afternoon tea at the hotel. The hotel is set atop the cliffs at Ravenscar with fabulous views across to Robin Hood's Bay and out over the sea. It was a blustery day with quite a chill in the air so we were looking forward to getting into a cosy, warm hotel with real fires. One fire was lit but apart from that the reception rooms were cold and uninviting. Despite having booked in advance (2 months!) we clearly were not expected. We were left standing at the door whilst a waiter put 2 round tables together for the four of us to sit at in a row in a very odd configuration. The range of teas available was poor. I did manage to get Earl Grey, but a request for Ceylon tea resulted in one of our friends receiving English Breakfast tea with no explanation. Two tiered stands arrived with a selection of finger sandwiches and cakes. The sandwiches had clearly not been freshly made, the bread and fillings were poor both in terms of quality and inspiration. The home made scones were very good as was the lemon cake. The remaining cakes were uninspiring. The service was desultory. We were not made to feel at all welcome and were clearly in the staff's way. The only saving grace was the fabulous view from our table

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lallytap, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Apologies that the guest was disappointed on this ocassion, we're not sure why this wasn't in the restaurant reservations diary and it was certainly no problem to arrange the afternoon tea to order. If it was a cold, wintry day there will have been a log fire burning in our main lounge and the other 2 reception rooms do have a small electric fire so we aim to make the Hotel as welcoming as possible. It doesn't sound like our usual excellent customer service so we're sorry if this wasn't experienced.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    247
    86
    38
    22
See reviews for
112
389
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived for a weekend break . Some areas in the hotel were under refurb but this didn't cause us any bother or discomfort. Check in was swift and efficient and the reception staff were very helpful.
We had a sea view room which was clean and comfortable with a huge comfy bed. The bathroom was like brand new.
Our evening meal was included in our price and all three courses were beautifully cooked and presented and was very nice. The service was courteous and slick . After a great evening and an undisturbed night the buffet breakfast , also included in the price , was a triumph . Again service was slick and impeccable .
The hotel is set right on the coast with great views and walkways . We saw deer and seals. This really is a lovely spot and perfect for one of those get away from it all chill outs.
Will be back ..........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went with a party to the Raven hall Hotel, the food and service left a lot to be desired. My wife had fish and I had meat pie, the fish was served first, my meat pie arrived later, then there was a long gap before the vegtables appeared, result meal was cold. However the meat pie was something that had to be seen to be believed, a portion of meat with a crust on top, the crust was so hard that you could not get a fork into it, I asked for hot gravy in an effort to soften same. It appeared but made no difference.
Will I ever return-No.
The reason for the one star is, the view from the dining room was superb, it is a great pity the the meal did not match.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lallytap, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
This review was quite a surprise as we didn't have other comments on the steak pie or food in general during this lunch, which is a group that visits every year. Personally I enjoyed the pie which I also had for lunch as one of my favourites, so we're sorry the guest was disappointed and wouldn't wish to return.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The title of my review is nothing like what myself, my husband and guests experienced at Raven Hall Hotel (it was the weather,sea mist,rain hail stones,a little break in the weather,just enough for outside photos to be taken,hence my title a grey wedding day), but it did not spoil anything, infact it added to it, making the whole expereince more enjoyable. Our photographer John Kirsopp struggled with the light and he did have a few beads of perspiration on his head, but he took some magical photographs capturing the essence of the hotel and the grounds.
So I had to write this review to let the whole world know that we had a dream wedding day 19/04/2012 at Raven Hall Hotel. The hotel is extremely atmospheric with many of the original features still in situ, especially the Great Hall, even though the hotel has recently been through extensive modernisation (the bedrooms and bathrooms), it has kept its charm. The view from the hotel is spectacular looking over Robin Hoods Bay and the sea. There is a secret garden, which is surrounded by the old enbattlement walls, totally romantic and breath taking. The staff they could not do enough to help us. Edward Stones who helped us organise our wedding was fantastic, so obliging in every way. The food was very good and the service second to none. Everything that we requested and planned with Edward happened. But not in a mechanical way, it was very relaxed, we were all made to feel very special guests. We are returning this year for our 1st wedding anniversary to say hello, have lunch and show the staff our wedding album and HELLO magazine, which we have purchased, as we were lucky enough to have one of our wedding photos publised in it in the grounds of Raven Hall Hotel.
I would like to recomend Raven Hall Hotel and the staff and praise them very highly for their exceptional service to all our needs on a very special day - Our Grey Wedding Day - Thank you to all. Fiona and Geoff Clamp.

Room Tip: Pay the added extra supplement for a sea view room, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lallytap, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you both for this lovely review and we're delighted your Wedding Day was so special despite the grey day! The staff really appreciate your comments and we do hope you'll return to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a two night break- Have to say the food, ambience and service was excellent.
The views over Robin Hoods Bay are lovely, plenty of walks for the dog! Small pool and sauna very good too. The grounds are very well kept and plenty to do if the weather is poor (Which it was!)
The hotel need to up-date the rooms (Well ours anyway!) in terms of decoration and furniture. That said it was very clean. The bathroom had been re-newed and that was excellent.
We would go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and my new wife got married at Raven Hall on 26th January and it was an incredible weekend from start to finish.
We had 40 guests arrive during a horrendous blizzard on the Friday evening, we had originally planned to head into Scarborough for an evening meal but due to the bad weather it was best to stay at the hotel, the staff managed to get a room together for 40+ people and deliver every meal warm, tasty and within minutes so we were all eating together. A superb job all things considered. The staff were extremely helpful in setting up the venue and the event manager Edward was our go to guy for every possible question, query and problem all weekend, we don't think we could of got through it without him!
The blizzard cleared by the Saturday morning leaving a crisp 2 feet of snow over the grounds, the local community and the ground-keepers at the hotel managed to clear all of the roads, without which the rest of our guests would never had made the ceremony. The venue itself is stunning but with the addition of fresh snow it was breathtaking. The wedding breakfast food was some of the best we'd eaten and we've had nothing but compliments regarding the quality of the food ever since. Behind the scenes the staff offered excellent service and waited on us hand and foot.
We were originally apprehensive of the house DJ but he turned out to be absolutely perfect, playing the music we requested and the type of music we enjoyed and kept the dance floor full for the full night.
The room I shared with the best men on the Friday was clean, warm and well equipped with a great view of the grounds and bay. The lodge me and my wife shared on the Saturday was stunning with unbelievable views of the bay below as well as a beautiful room with some lovely personal touches from the staff that just made it that extra bit special.
Overall we couldn't of been happier, so happy in fact we decided to come back the next weekend to enjoy the hotel on our own and take advantage of the facilities the hotel offers. The staff remembered us and continued to offer the same excellent personal service we received the week before. The open fire in the lounge was a nice place to spend the evening with a bottle of wine and the walk up to Robin Hoods Bay is picturesque all the way. We would highly recommend this hotel to any aged couple for a romantic weekend away and as for weddings, we visited around 10 wedding venues in North Yorkshire before this one and we were sold as soon as we got down the driveway of Raven Hall. The ceremony rooms and hotel are stunning on their own but with the addition of those grounds and views we think this hotel is unrivaled throughout North Yorkshire, specially considering the value. We'll definitely be back for our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely surroundings. Whilst there was a wedding on in the hotel, we didn't notice the noise particularly. Good standard of accommodation with BIG comfy bed. Radiator in the bathroom wasn't working but didn't detract from the stay. Food was very nice and the view of the bay from te restaurant was perfect. Didn't get to use the swimming pool but that want a problem owing to the lovely well kept surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenscar YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 51 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raven Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.