We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Raven Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Raven Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ravenscar YO13 0ET, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Raven Hall for my birthday as it is not too far to travel and we had to be in the area to see my sister the next night. The Hotel stands atop the cliff with fantastic views of the sea and Robin Hoods Bay we were allocated a room on the top floor and on the evening of our arrival could not see the view we had, but next morning in-between the snow showers that were blowing ferociously outside were wowed at how beautiful they were, we must go back in the summer.
The room was quaint clean and tidy not modern but homely, bathroom had just been refurbished warm and welcoming everything working well but again it was the views that made it special.
The public areas were more stately as befits and old Country House and on a cold night the open fire had lots of guests waiting to get sit in front of it with a dink of their choice or just read a book. We had a lovely three course meal on the night staff very attentive and helpful, breakfast next morning looking out of the large picture windows over the Bay was special food good but self service with gaps in delivery of items (Eggs, Bacon and sausages running out) leading to trips back and forth to get what we required.
Although we only stayed the one night we had a lovely time and bracing walk round the grounds in the sleet and snow before heading to Robin Hoods Bay and a walk on the beach. We will hopefully be returning in the summer to see those views in a warmer light.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the sea and Robin Hood's Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    269
    92
    39
    23
See reviews for
121
426
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Always have a good stay here, this time however we opted to stay in the new lodges. Excellant level of finish and the wood burning stove is a great idea.

The food as always is good and cannot be beaten. A great place to stay and expore the area. The staff are excellent. Any problems do not stay problems for long.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault this hotel. It is in a beautiful location. The staff are very pleasant and professional and smart. Our room had a view over the bay and was clean, warm and cosy. Breakfast was excellent. Sandwiches in the afternoon full of filling, served with a very fresh salad, reasonably priced. We didn't try the evening menu, so I can't comment. Hope to go back one day. Please save us room 204. Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As a regular visitor to this magnificent spot it has alway provided top quality food and service. The views must be amongst the best in the world of any hotel and for the price of bed, breakfast and evening meal it really is "the treasure of the Yorkshire coast"

Room Tip: Any sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and really enjoyed it so we decided to return after noticing a special Sunday night offer on their website. £89 for bed, breakfast and evening meal which is an absolute bargain! We were expecting accommodation in a standard room, but the room we were given was what I would consider superior - it was huge with a super-king size four poster bed, two leather chesterfield armchairs, and four big windows all giving a brilliant sea view. We had our 3-course evening meal in the restaurant and the food was beautiful. At breakfast the following morning the dining room was fairly busy, and the waiter asked us if we didn't mind waiting a few minutes and he would set us a table up next to the windows. A nice touch we thought. The view is fantastic, and as there was still quite a bit of snow on the hills it was very picturesque. We attempted a walk in the gardens but the snow and ice made walking quite awkward. All the staff are very helpful and friendly, and the hotel itself is in an imposing position and is very elegantly furnished and decorated. I really wish we could have stayed longer! Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a last minute deal at a bargain price. As we've been before we knew what sort if place we were going to. The place is between Whitby and Scarborough near Robin Hoods Bay. Rooms are very clean and we had a room overlooking the sea, breakfast was included which was well worth it and also took advantage of the sauna and pool. For dinner we drove up to the nearby Falcon pub as there was a set menu at the hotel at £28pp, we didn't fancy that so the pub was a good choice. We even managed to escape the heavy snowfall that came down!! Well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The fairy lights in the trees leading to the hotel were a lovely touch. Check in staff in this gracious hotel were friendly and our upgraded room was beautifully decorated, clean and had the promised sea view; which was simply lovely. Our evening meal in the Panorama Restaurant was to a similar high standard; pork loin with celeriac mash and fennel cream for me and a perfect steak for my lovely man. Breakfast was good too and the waiting staff were professional and helpful. Our only issue was trying to leave: a dreadful snowfall made exiting the car park a nightmare and a 360 degree spin on the slippery road home caused a fair amount of stress! We'll be back...in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenscar YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 51 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raven Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.