We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bostock Lane, Long Eaton, Nottingham NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pleasant stopover, room clean and tidy and staff vey helpful. Plenty of parking. Restaurant very convenient but a bit basic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    60
    16
    5
See reviews for
70
88
11
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just needed a hotel near the motorway and near Nottingham for a night and this fitted the bill. We were worried that it might be noisy being right next to the motorway but didn't find the noise a problem (our room was at the other side to the motorway though). Had a pleasant evening drink in the bar next to the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was all buffet with the usual choices - cooked food plus toast/cereal etc. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.


Yours sincerely,

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in March having booked on price and the promise of free wifi. I arrived mid evening and received cheerfully by Helen on the desk. My room on the first floor was spacious clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom looked felt like a plastic pod (along the lines of a steam room) containing a quite large shower and a toilet. The wash basin is in the room which I didn’t find to be a problem. The only annoying thing was the fan in the bathroom was noisy (even with the door shut) and took quite a long time to turn off. The bed was a little hard but I managed 6 hours sleep so I had no complaints. The wifi was easy to connect to and much relatively fast. Dinner was in the grill next door which I will rate separately.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised and the rooms were much better than that of a well know budget chain I have been staying in recently

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

It was a shame that we had not been notified at the time of booking that the new bar/restuarant would not be open. We were therefore at the hotel with a limited menu ( which we were not inspired to eat at) with waitresses who had to go over to the new bar to get drinks, which taseted dusty. Therefore we were forced to go somewhere else to find an atmosphere and something to eat and drink.
However I must add the room we stayed in was lovely.
Breakfast was interesting, we were checked in by someone who claimed "I should not be working" and was not in uniform. It was OK.
Moan aside our room (which was an executive one was fantastic)
The bath was deep enough for a swim and the shower was lovely. It was great that there was a seating area and I loved the fact that there were bottles of water. That ups the anti a bit!
Although we only had one packet of biscuits in the room.
Would definitely return to give the dining another chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read your comments about the hotel and am glad you had an enjoyable stay and liked the room.

I apologise that you were not informed of the restaurant being closed and us operating a more limited menu. We are now fully open and would be delighted to welcome you back to see the improvements.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

Can't believe the high ratings. We booked a 'Deluxe' room but had to decline. Smelly from old smoke and noisy from the motorway. Very, very bad. So we moved to a regular room which on first impression looks ok. Less smell and away from the motorway, but still very noisy. The bed however is an insult. It is completely worn and the springs make noises just sitting down. Once you lay down every spring can be felt. A desaster. Every one of the premier inns we have been to was better. Would never return to this hotel! Be good to yourself and stay away!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We practise courtesy calls to guest’s shortly after check in to check the suitability of the room, and also check with guests on check out as to how their stay was. I wasn’t made aware of any issues of this nature. As you state, as a rule our feedback is excellent and we take pride in our high standards, I sincerely apologise that in your case these standards were not met.

Should you wish to discuss this in more detail with me please do contact me at the hotel on +44115 9460000.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed whilst working in the area for 4 nights the hotel is under new management and they have spent a lot of money updating the hotel but the staff are In many cases the same,they are very helpful and go out of their way to look after you. The hotel is quiet but very convenient to the M1 and Derby and Nottingham there is a new restaurant owned by the hotel opposite although not open during our stay it will be open in February it looks very luxurious and modern will try it on our next stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the service you experienced, I will be sure to pass them on to the team here who will be equally pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If I can be of further assistance please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nightsa large De-luxe room on the third floor. The room was superb, warm, comfortable and very stylish, having recently been refurbished. Large flat screen TV and blue ray disc player, comfortable sofa and chairs, loads of desk space, king size bed and a great range of tea, coffee, water etc. The lighing in the room was excellent. The bathroom was amazing. Large two person bath with separate power shower cubicle. Everything was spottlessly clean and one of the nicest rooms that I have stayed in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although close to major roads and the M1 motorway the noise levels were in no way obtrusive. The hotel only provide a limited range of food between 6pm and 10pm and an order at the table bar service. I did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the qualityof the food. Drinks were reasonably priced and breakfast at £7.95 was also reasonable. I will certainly stay here again. The hotel is very well located midway between Derby and Nottingham and right by the M1. My only negative comment is that on departure I was not asked if my stay had been a good one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Our Deluxe rooms are new rooms created during our refurbishment in 2011, so it's great to hear your comments. I'm pleased to read that the team were friendly and helpful during your time with us and they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby

Address: Bostock Lane, Long Eaton, Nottingham NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Junction 25 of the M1 and only 10 minutes from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport, the Java Hotel offers everything you need for a comfortable, yet affordable, night’s stay. 101 modern, comfortable bedrooms, 2 conference/meeting rooms. Ample free parking for hotel guests (150 spaces), FREE wireless internet (Wi-Fi) throughout the ENTIRE hotel. 24 hour reception. Delicious buffet breakfast, including cooked English – 7.00am – 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham Derby Hotel Long Eaton
BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.