We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands

Save Saved
You added Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton, Nottingham NG10 4EP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Long Eaton
A TripAdvisor Member
“Functional and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff were very friendly and made to feel welcome. Rooms a little dated, TV picture poor but bed very comfortable. Excellent breakfast offering.

Overall, excellent staff, beds and breakfast but hotel needs a makeover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your sleep and had a good breakfast in the morning. We are planning on updating the TV system very shortly. Thank you very much for your review, the team is delighted you enjoyed our service and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    221
    114
    35
    17
See reviews for
151
125
48
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The water was running black. Could not shower and stomach upset just from brushing my teeth. Sure this must be a temp problem. Staff lovely.rooms clean. Staff welcoming. Bar area small but modern . Children seemed to enjoy the pool. No time for us to use. Quite a lot of noise from smokers using the fire exit to go out to smoke very late and again very early.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Fran P,

Thank you for your review. I can assure you the matter was an isolated one that affected very few bedrooms and it was quickly rectified. Please feel free to call me on 01159465111 or email me on h0507-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Thank you for your comments about the staff; hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Eaton hotels

Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Perfect location for my meeting in Ilkeston. Upon arrival the front desk senior staff was very welcoming and extremely polite and helpful, by ensuring I was positionin a room near reception, so I could use WIFI.
Room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent. Good VFM
I shall definitively be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Bab0510,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Novotel nottingham East Midlands. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently to break up our journey on a break away as I am heavily pregnant.
Glad we booked it last minute and only paid £40, any more I would have been disappointed. Room was very very old fashioned and dated, our floor was so noisy and I could hear everything in the room above including their bed squeaking! Noise in the corridor started early on, fair to say neither of us got a good nights sleep.
We didn't pay for breakfast and didn't eat dinner in the hotel. The bar area looked the only modern area.

Location was perfect, but I wouldn't recommend at full price

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear SarahSwindon_UK,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you did not get a good nights sleep. We always have staff available and would have been happy to look for a solution for the noise. I am glad you were satisfied with the deal you got for the bedroom and I hope we can welcome you back again. Best of luck with the forthcoming addition to your family.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

stayed here to visit Alton Towers over Bank Holiday. Quite cheap, very cheerful. Rooms are quite basic for the chain (eg no fridge, tired decor) BUT that said if they did them all up to general Novotel standard two rooms over four nights would probably be prohibitively expensive for us.
The staff are lovely and the pool is great; location is not the most beautiful but it's convenient

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MaggieMcFlurry,

Really pleased to see you had a nice stay. You are correct in noting that we attempt to make our prices relative to the product we have to offer. Nice to see that you enjoyed using the pool and that our team was welcoming.

Thank you for your comments and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed at The Novotel many times (3 times this year so far!) for short breaks as my husband is from the area and we use it when we visit relatives. This time we brought our 7 year old grandaughter with us and she loved it. It has always been clean, had very friendly staff and this time no different. As soon as you enter it is light and airy and you are soon checked in.

We had an evening meal there and our grandaughter was treated as an adult which thrilled her. Her meal was even brought out by the chef himself.It might have been a tad expensive but well worth it. Overall we think it is very good value for money. Our grandaughter remarked how friendly everyone was towards her, she wanted to stay longer. No doubt she will be back with us!

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quieter, but we have never found noise to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Georgina G,

Thank you for your comments. We're delighted that you have once again had a comfortable stay with us. I am sure the team enjoyed looking after you and your grandaughter as much as she enjoyed her stay.

Thank you for your custom and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A family of 3 stayed here over the bank holiday. We came to a couple of concerts at the capital fm arena which was about a 20 min drive away. Hotel is located just off the m1 motorway..easy to find and to get to places. The outside isnt too bad,reception and bar area look very nice.thats where the good bits end. The rooms are appalling! We had the most awful room.disgusting stained carpets, artex walls, poor tired looking furniture, really plain bedding, the sofa bed set up for our son had slats out of place that we had to put back in with some struggle before it was stable enough for him to sleep on. He was given a top sheet and a really scratchy old blanket. We asked housekeeping for a duvet instead on the 2nd night as he had been so irritated and they gave it to us no problem - but why not supply a duvet in the first place? Also we were only given 1 pillow per person which was really flat, asked for a second and again given no problem. The staff at the hotel provide a great service, very helpful and cheerful..the hotel however is a complete let down. 3 adults in a room and they gave us 4 tiny sachets of milk a day! The room felt grubby although I am sure it was perfectly clean. The bathroom was old and dirty looking, no way I would have run a bath there, the shower was just about bearable. Room was far too warm, no air con but the windows opened enough to give some reprieve. Dont be lured by the advert of the outdoor swimming pool...its tiny and pretty dirty looking. I wouldnt swim in it, Cant comment on the food as we ate out the whole time, staying on a room only basis. We did get a cheap deal however for a group staying for 4 nights I would have expected a considerably better room than the one we got. Really substandard hotel that should be avoided at all costs. On the last full day there we had to wait until 3.30pm in the afternoon for our room to be replenished..ie clean towels, milk and a toilet roll, Which had run out earlier that morning. Clearly the housekeeping staff dont check wen supplies get low. No hotel room should run out of toilet roll! Our room was only replenished because I got so fed up of waiting for clan towels so I could get ready to go out, that I went to find the housekeeper. Really poor! Will certainly not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sonia C,

Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I hope you were satisfied with the response you received from the team when you asked for things during your stay. The hotel is of a certain age but we make sure that we do keep it clean. The bedding is plain white so that is immediately noticeable if it isn't clean.
I have spoken to the team member assigned to clean and re-stock your room and she had attempted to come in earlier but as you had not gone out for the day, she had wanted to wait till later on when you had left in order that you were not disturbed.
I have taken on board all your comments and will take action to correct any mistakes we have made. If you would like to discuss any of this further, please contact me on 0115 946 5111 or h0507-gm@accor.com.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands

Address: Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton, Nottingham NG10 4EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Nottingham East Midlands is an AA 3 star rated hotel 8 miles from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport. Ideal for a weekend or short break exploring the Peak District, Derbyshire Dales, Alton Towers, Sherwood Forest, Donington Park and the Royal Crown Derby porcelain factory. For conference guests, we offer 11 meeting rooms for up to 220 people. Enjoy room service or a meal in our Elements restaurant. The hotel also features onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nottingham
Nottingham Novotel
Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands Long Eaton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.