We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asperion Hillside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Asperion Hillside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asperion Hillside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RF , England (Formerly Hillside Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Worplesdon
lincoln
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice Garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I found the Hotel to be very pleasant, particularly the gardens at the rear.
The bedroom was comfortable albeit there was some road noise
The bathroom was a bit cramped but as I was a solo travelle this was not a great problem.
I ate in and found the food to be of very high quality with prices that reflect this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.


We are delighted that you found the hotel to be pleasant, the bedroom comfortable and appreciated our beautiful garden, even in winter!
Our rooms were designed to make the most of the available space. For this reason, the size of the rooms and bathrooms will vary. Asperion Hillside used to be the local post office and as such is an old building that has been converted; hence it is not always perfectly soundproofed.

We take great pride in providing freshly prepared, cooked to order organic breakfasts and dinner, which is one of our highlights. We have been awarded 3 stars this year by the Sustainable Restaurant Association for our on –site restaurant. As you yourself mentioned, this will be partially reflected in the price.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will come back to Asperion Hillside should you be in the area again.

Kind regards

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    38
    8
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
61
17
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Clean comfortable rooms with good bathroom. Fantastic organic breakfast. I've never seen an honesty bar but it's all there to help yourself and you write what you had on a list for them. Only stayed one night while visiting nearby friends but it was really pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this site.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the clean and comfortable and the bathroom to be of good quality.

Your comments about the breakfast pleased us greatly. At the Asperion Hillside, we use organic and locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, and the food is made with passion and dedication.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside should you be in the area again.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My partner stayed here on business (I joined him), it's a little out of the way, but near to where he was doing business. I'd say you need a car or be happy to take taxis if you were staying here.
The staff are very friendly, they really do try to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible!
The rooms are so cosy, it's more like being at home. They're clean and have everything you need (large flat screen TV, decent shower, toiletries)
There is also a shared living room with a bar and TV if you prefer not to be in the room. There is also a really pretty garden with pond and bench if the weather is nice.
The food is decent and the price is good too (c. £60 for 1 night)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.com.

Thank you for your positive feedback about the food and the service. We are sincerely passionate about what we do, and we pride ourselves on offering high-standard service in a homely and friendly environment.

We hope to welcome you to the Asperion Hillside should you ever be in the area again.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here mid week with my two teenage children and my sister with her partner and 3 month old son to attend a family funeral and enjoyed a really good experience from booking through to check out.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard with good quality bed linen and towels too. Please note the reason I didn't score the quality of sleep any higher was not because of the bed which would have been fine, but because I was suffering from a healing back injury which made my sleep very fitful and uncomfortable.
The honesty bar area was very welcoming and offered a very pleasant place to sit and read one if the complementary newspapers, with a TV as well. I really liked the set up.
The breakfast room again was beautifully clean and offered a really lovely view out onto the garden. I thought the choice of breakfast menu was very good offering a wide selection of hot and cold options. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much effort, even when we asked for eggs cooked in three different ways! Thank you.
I did not experience alot of noise from the road however my room was on the back of the property so I can't say fir certain this would be a problem as some other guests have mentioned. I found the staff very welcoming and friendly and extremely forgiving of my baby nephew and the additional complications he brought with him (teething so a bit grizzly, providing one of the larger double rooms to accommodate hit travel cot more easily etc).
Thank you for a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Asperion Hillside for your recent trip to the area, and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you experienced a warm and friendly welcome and that you appreciated our help with regards to your requests.

I am also pleased to hear that you found the rooms and common areas spotlessly clean, and furnished to a high standard. Our honesty bar and lounge in the perfect place to relax and recoup after a long day and we are happy that you were able to make use of this area during your stay.

We take great pride in offering a healthy and well balanced breakfast buffet with something for everyone and are always willing to accommodate guests who have special requests and dietary requirements.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside in the future.

Kind regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've recently spent a lot of time in the area staying at many hotels and for the room rate nowhere exceeds it. I stayed in room 5 which was a decent size with good facilities and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is well looked after with a stunning garden area which is in full view from the restaurant. The food is another good reason for staying, is as equally excellent as the hotel and makes a nice change from the usual types of food served at hotels and pubs. I would like to say thanks to all of the staff who made it a pleasant and relaxing stay, nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful even when I deviated from the menu. My only criticism was that with it being an old building you can hear the wooden floor creaking at night as people walk by which sometimes get's in the way of getting to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on this website.

We are delighted that you found the Asperion Hillside to be competitive in price and good value for money; and that you found your room to be of a good size and the bed very comfortable.

We take great pride in offering a healthy and well balanced menu with something for everyone and are always willing to accommodate guests who have special requests and dietary requirements.

It pleases us greatly that you enjoyed our beautiful garden and found the Asperion Hillside to be a relaxing and peaceful environment for your stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Asperion Hillside should you ever have the occasion to stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Considering the obvious efforts to make the place nice, I would have liked to say something good about the hotel.

However, our room (n°10):
Was rather small;
Overlooked a busy road with a lot of noise until late evening;
Had tainted glass windows, not allowing to see anything outside when closed;
Had a dirty carpet (stained);
Was strongly smelling of something like a desinfectant;

For all this nearly 100 pounds B&B. Maybe other rooms, overlooking the garden (which is nice) are worth the price, but not that one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the road and in any case room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

We are of course disappointed that you feel let down by the room you were booked in to. We are sorry that you felt your room was on the small side; you will appreciate that this is a restored old building, and hence the size of some of our rooms may be found restrictive. They have however been designed to make the most efficient use of the space available.

Regretfully we are not always able accommodate guests in rear-facing rooms due to our high occupancy rate over the University commencement period. The front facing rooms have windows that are frosted in order to preserve the privacy of the guests; regretfully this does restrict the view.

We are still in the process of upgrading some of our rooms and hope to complete this in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A small b&b rather than a hotel, we had a very small room with a small dated bathroom, but the cleanliness, view of the garden and quietness were excellent. A particular highlight was the 'honesty' bar, a well-stocked residents' lounge. Dinner and breakfast were average but fine, and the two staff we saw during our stay worked tirelessly to make everyone's stay successful.
We were a bit put off by the guest book in the room which had a price list for fines if you broke something, and a rule that no food or drink was to be brought onto the premises or there would be a charge. The mini Green & Blacks chocolate bars did help with this though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com

We are delighted that you found the Asperion Hillside to be clean, quiet and took pleasure in the views of the garden. The honesty bar and lounge area provide a comfortable home from home feeling for our guests. We take great pride in being able to provide our guests with the best possible experience throughout their stay.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of your room; you will appreciate that this is a restored old building, and hence the size of some of our rooms may be found restrictive. Our double rooms all have double beds due to their size. However, they have been designed to make the most efficient use of the space available.

We will be upgrading the bathrooms in our double rooms in the near future and hope that should you stay with us again we will be able to meet your expectations on that occasion.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asperion Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion Hillside Hotel

Address: Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RF , England (Formerly Hillside Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion Hillside Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asperion Hillside is an independently-owned and operated four-star, multi-award winning guest house that is part of the Asperion brand. The Asperion has built a reputation on providing organic and fair trade produce and is passionate about global environmental issues. Our ethos is to be a "socially responsible, more than for profit, hospitality business." At the Asperion Hillside, our aim is to provide a friendly "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Asperion Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Guildford
Asperion Hillside Hotel Worplesdon, Guildford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asperion Hillside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.