We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep deprived.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Worplesdon Place

Save Saved
You added Worplesdon Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Worplesdon Place
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Worplesdon
england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sleep deprived.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Made 2 bookings and paid in advance for June. 1st booking for 7 nights - 2nd for 4 nights.
Hotel tired and very dated. Room overlooking patio area, which is used by staff during their break periods. Very noisy at night! Mentioned noise to reception on day 2. Night 2 - noisy yet again. Mentioned this again to reception on day 3. Very noisy on night 3 - had to shout out of window to staff to tell them we were trying to sleep! Spoke to reception on day 4, and told receptionist that we would like to claim under the 'good night' scheme. She apologised and said she would sort this for us.
Go back to day 2.......emailed and phoned by hotel, to tell us that the hotel would be closing, and would no longer be a Premier Inn, therefore they needed to cancel booking for 2nd booking of 4 nights! They would,book is into another Premier Inn of our choice. Mmmmm...as on business in Guildford, needed to stay local, so they have transferred booking to The Parkway, in Guildford. Lucky us.... They are even going to honour the rate we had already paid in advance! Have not had any feedback on refund for noisy nights.
Booked into The Oak at Petersfield for 1 night....see that review... Will also place review after stay at The Parkway next week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    16
    16
    15
See reviews for
35
27
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although the young lady on Reception was pleasant and helpful this is no way compensated for the very grubby state of this hotel... absolutely filthy carpets in the corridor to our room, overwhelming smells from the adjacent restaurant kitchen, noisey fan in the bathroom, noise from the adjacent room and from children running alon the corridor at 3am. The beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in and the view of the garden from our room was spoilt by the broken fence and picnic tables strewn across the lawn and the plastic catering bucket discarded in the bushes. Because the walls are paper thin, our noisy neighbours could be heard until after 3am and then again just before As we left the following morning the same polite Receptionist asked how our stay had been and when I said it had been dreadful she offered to refund us. Of course I graciously accepted! Oh, I forgot to mention that the rooms in this hotel are all upstairs and there isn't a lift - you have to go up one flight of stairs then down a few, across a landing then up a few more before going down the final few steps to the corridor off which the rooms are located. What a nightmare when you have heavy cases with you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worplesdon hotels

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

However pleasant the desk, some places just rub you the wrong way. The Premier Inn in Guildford is one such place.

At the cost, being served soap out of dispensers and toilet paper by the square is just wrong. As is doing everything in the bathroom accompanied by the deafening roar of a fan. No ironing board or iron (borrow at desk), no laundry services (that I noticed at least), no nothing really. Being on a long business trip, choosing this place as a base was in retrospect a mistake.

On the upside I thought I would get more ambient noises from the road but it was fairly quiet. The restaurant was alright but while the 'big/warm' breakfast part was made to order (nice) the kitchen failed in execution (not so nice); can't tell if it was the cook or the materials.

Located at the outskirts, the town center was a short walk away mainly through residential areas.

To reiterate for that ££ I would have expected more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at worplesdon place a couple of weeks ago and the staff are fantastic- the building is a bit worn but the staff more than made up for it. I was checked in by kayleigh who was chatty and friendly and couldnt' do enough for me! definitely be back!

Restarant was great too- delicious and good prices

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just the one night at the Worplesden Place, and had no complaints. The bed was comfortable, and breakfast up to the usual Premier Inn standard - the restaurant manager was very efficient in ensuring we were served as quickly as possible in spite of a large influx of guests at the same time. The hotel is looking a little tired though, not surprising for an old property, but a refresh is needed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night over a weekend, nice and quiet rooms even though they face a road. Comfortable beds and a great breakfast.
Exactly what you need for a quick stop overnight. No real personality there though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Interseting place, not the normal modern Premier Inn layout but instead based on an old building. A bit too much noise from adjacent rooms which I don't really mind but some guests would be annoyed by. Building layout is a bit strange but not an issue. Has all the features you would expect from a Premier Inn and the staff seem really nice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worplesdon Place

Address: Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Worplesdon Place 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel in the beautiful rural village of Worplesdon, just 5 miles from Guildford town centre. Set in a 19th Century manor house the Worplesdon Place combines traditional features with modern facilities.Our grill style restaurant is set in the main old building with period features and views out onto the terrace. We are open for food every day from 8am for breakfast through to 9:30pm for evening meals.Our modern spacious bar is on the ground floor and opens up into the extensive beer garden which features a lake and its own resident family of black swans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Worplesdon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worplesdon Place Guildford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worplesdon Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.