We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sefton Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sefton Express to your Saves list
Sefton Express
Ronaldsway, Ballasalla IM9 2SE   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballasalla
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Second time I have stayed at this hotel - ideal for short breaks if travelling by air as only short walk from Airport. We stayed in the lovely room with new jaccuzi bath - a real treat. Also television with built in dvd player in room. Very clean and comfortable and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
34
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CHORLEY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Excellent value for money at this small travel lodge type hotel. Breakfast is continental but very varied and plenty of it. Rooms are not very big but adequate and to a good standard. Very clean and comfortable. Considering that this was far cheaper than many of the B&Bs available it was outstanding value for money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stayed in this hotel this week when my flight got cancelled. It's right across from the airport so was handy for my rescheduled flight the next morning. Rooms basic although there was only a small hand-towel in the room and no bath towels. Only 4 channels on the TV. Food was ok.

This hotel is fine if you're stuck at the airport overnight and it's not designed to be a tourist hotel, so I would only expect the basics. Room was clean and staff were friendly, and I got internet access (not sure if it was free as I had to request WiFi token from reception and airline picked up the bill, the in-room information said there would be a charge of five pounds for the internet).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed here as the hotel is located directly opposite the Isle of Man airport and we had an early morning flight.

The hotel is recently opened and the fittings in the rooms are in excellent condition. The rooms are fairly small and quite basic but adequate for an overnight stay - modelled on the budget chains in the UK. Little in the way of other facilites although there is a bar serving cans and bottles plus a limited choice of meals. These would be taken in the main reception area.

The nearest pubs are about a 15 minute walk away and details plus menus are available in reception.

The rate includes breakfast but we were surprised that this is not served until 07.00 which was too late for our flight - they did leave out some tea/coffee and cereals, fruit, etc. However, they are probably missing out on a local market for catching one of the early flight in the day.

  • Liked — Location next to the airport
  • Disliked — Breakfast not served until 07.00
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Pleasantly situated small hotel in southern part of the Isle of Man
Relatively newly built and still in pristine condition, suits travellers looking for simple, no frills, easy to use accommodation
Even though it is somewhat isolated its still easy to get around by public transport, and even possible to catch the quaint steam train service which passes quite close by.
I have stopped twice in the last twelve months, and my only complaint on both occasions has been lack of adequate heating in the rooms - made worse by slow responses to rectify problem
Otherwise rooms were of a good standard

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

The brand new 2 storey Sefton Express sits directly across from the airport at Ronaldsway and is an excellent and affordable alternative to hotels in the various towns on the island.

Rooms are fairly compact, but functional, with ensuite, small desk, safe, tea & coffee and flatscreen TV. The door to the ensuite cleverly closes into the room area to double the soundproofing from outside. There are no other facilities at the hotel, save a vending machine in the lobby.

At £50 per room a night including a small continental breakfast I think it's a great value stopover. The island's buses and (seasonal) steam railway stop relatively close to the hotel too. Castletown is around 15mins walk and well worth a look.

  • Liked — Convenience to airport
  • Disliked — Nothing to eat
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

I stayed 8 nights at the Sefton Express in April 2007. It is across the street from the airport and a bus stop and is a 'request' stop for the Manx Steam Railway. It is a very short walk to both the bus stop and the railway station. I used the bus/train services for my entire stay and had no difficulties. (If you visit IOM and don't hire a car, purchase an Explorer Ticket at the airport.)

Ths SE is probably designed as a short stay business hotel, but it met my needs as well. It was a place to clean-up and sleep between the sight-seeing ventures. The hotel is in a very quiet setting. Rooms are small but comfortable. It had opened only a few weeks before my visit, so my room was like new. I chose this hotel because the price was less than hotels inside Douglas; my budget was limited.

The management and staff were very kind and accommodating. They were extremely helpful with finding any travel information I needed throughout my stay. They even gave me hard copies of web-site information.

Their complimentary airport shuttle is shared with the Sefton Hotel in Douglas and only travels to Ballasalla as needed. My flight into IOM was delayed, so the shuttle was not available by the time I arrived. However, the Sefton Express management offered to reimburse a cab fare.

  • Liked — near airport
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sefton Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Express

Address: Ronaldsway, Ballasalla IM9 2SE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ballasalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballasalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the Isle of Man Airport and close to historic Castletown in the south of the Island, Sefton Express is a modern, well-appointed budget hotel sharing the Sefton Group’s commitment to the highest standards of customer service. A perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Isle of Man. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sefton Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Express Ballasalla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sefton Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.