We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luberon at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos des Lavandes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lacoste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos des Lavandes
Chemin de de St Hilaire | Rte de Menerbes, 84480 Lacoste, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lacoste B&B and Inns
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Luberon at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We've stayed before in the Provence , but this is the best B&B yet.
Good rooms , very well decorated, good beds and a nice bathroom.
It's lovely to wake up in the morning and sit outside on the terrace and smell the lavender.
And then go for a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    51
    4
    9
    12
See reviews for
12
160
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Do not stay here! In over 30 years of travel in many countries and continents we have never been so rudely and so badly treated as we were at Le Clos des Lavandes. Avoid at all costs. It may sound clichéd but I wish we had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before we booked – if we had we would never have booked this accommodation – so many other visitors cannot be wrong.

We booked 3 nights’ accommodation via the owners’ website and paid the one night deposit as requested in the middle of May. We arrived at the property on 5th July after a long hot day travelling and were met by Mr Bordier.

Initial contact was OK but this soon changed. Mr Bordier immediately asked for the balance of the payment for our stay, in cash. We had not realised that they required full payment, in cash, on arrival at the property and we did not have enough cash on us to make the payment. We offered him what cash we had with us, more than enough to cover one more night, and assured him we would get the balance when we went out for dinner later that evening. Mr Bordier refused; instead he just waved the booking form under our noses and continually and angrily jabbed at the section concerning payment on arrival. He did not show us to our room but simply left the reception giving no opportunity for further discussion. We were confused and shocked to be treated in this way and were taken aback by the change in Mr Bordier’s behaviour. We assumed he was cancelling our booking and were left with no option but to leave and look for alternative accommodation.

We subsequently learnt from the local tourist office that they refuse to register Le Clos des Lavandes and would not recommend it to visitors to the area.

If that initial experience was not bad enough, we have now been harassed by Mr Bordier since then with over 50 emails demanding the balance of the payment. He is now threatening us with legal action via Gites de France. I do not know what Mr Bordier expects but you cannot expect guests to make full payment for a stay they could not make because he refused them entry to the accommodation.

Mr Bordier’s behaviour has caused us considerable distress, inconvenience and expense. We have now raised a complaint about our treatment by Mr Bordier with Gites de France and wait with interest to see if they condone this type of behaviour by one of their members. I encourage other visitors who had similar bad experiences at Le Clos des Lavandes to do the same. We found Mr Bordier’s behaviour rude, inflexible and aggressive – certainly not the type of welcome you expect from a Gites de France, especially one with the label “Charmance La Chambre d’Hotes. He is in the wrong business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
84001, Propriétaire at Le Clos des Lavandes, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
This is what's known on Tripadvisor as a revenge review.
Your review is a real lie:
1) You know before to book that the balance must be paid in arrival
2) The local tourist office had NEVER refuse to register us. It’s our choice, if we don’t want to work with them. The publicity is expensive and it’s not possible to advertise everywhere.
3) When I have ask you the balance, you have give me ONLY a credit card when you know that we dont take it.
4) …
Why you have write this review?
- Just because you don't want to stay here the three nights booked. You have say me your daughter had rent a house in the around. You have change your plan. It’s the real reason you dont want to paid your stay booked in advance. You ought to be ashamed yourself!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

located off the Lacoste village, the chambre d'hote is quiet and full of scent of lavendar. The owner was very kind and helpful, the room was chic and lovely, a cute cat come to the door to welcome us, the garden is full of lavendar, and we can have a breakfast either at the terrasse or in the lounge from where you can overlook the garden. About 10min walk to the old village, and it was unforgettable to have a dinner looking at the Bonnieux villege just in front of you, shining under sunset. Wanted to stay longer..

Room Tip: room 'Glycin' was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This B&B is situated in a prime spot for exploring Provence. We know it well and we'll never be tired of it. The B&B is comfortable with a pretty garden. You can sit out on the veranda and have your breakfast, which is always a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyvaughan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Just back from a week in Provence where we stayed with Michel and Marie in Le clos des Lavandes. Breakfast was good, the room immaculately clean, and the garden full of herbs and lavender. Would agree that the signs on the road and in the parking area could be bigger though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

A little hard to find (I wasn't trusting my GPS yet) but such a lovely location. There were 3 couples in our group and we all liked the lovely garden, peaceful atmosphere and clean rooms after a long flight from the USA. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Use your GPS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great location - with the small medieval villages of Bonnieux, Lacoste, Manerbes, Oppede, and Roussellin (just to mention a few) within easy driving distance this accommodation proved to be an ideal location. Hosts are charming and they kept everything very clean and neat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Clos des Lavandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Lavandes

Address: Chemin de de St Hilaire | Rte de Menerbes, 84480 Lacoste, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Lacoste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lacoste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst the green Garrigue vegetation and fields outside Lacoste, you find an authentic Luberon stone mas (farmhouse) with lavenders. 5 charming rooms decorated in bright Provençal colors, each one with independent way in, bathroom, shower, toilets, hair-drier,mini bar,Lcd TV, ventilator, internet access by WIFI and private terrace .A wonderful terrace for a copious and full breakfast and a lovely garden. There is a private and closed carpark with automatic gate, available . Marie et Michel , natives of the Provence, are very welcoming hosts. Needless to say they know the area extremely well. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos des Lavandes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Clos des Lavandes to your Saves list