We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Country-side Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Constanza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Constanza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Constanza
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Colonia Kennedy, 7 | Frente Al Aeropuerto, Constanza, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Constanza B&B and Inns
Jackson Heights, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Great Country-side Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rancho Constanza is a great place to stay at if you ever decide to take a visit to Constanza. Don't expect a 5 start experience here though. The rooms have a very simple setup to them with nothing luxurious about them. This is for people who want to experience the country and feel connected with mother nature. The scenes around there are beautiful, great mountain views, beautiful gardens, and fresh fruits and veggies all around! I would highly recommend a stay here for any type of trip weather it is a family get away or a romantic outing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Easter perfect family vacation, is what I can say about my last vacation. Me and my family wanted to go to a place where we can be able to do something different and be all together.
This place is amazing! the incredible view of the valley from the parking lot and the main terrace take your breath away. The staff welcome smile is out of this world. As soon as you entered the lobby, there's someone taking care of your luggage, the smiling receptionist inform you about the up-coming activities and room location.
The big salon that works as Dining room, main Living room and play room, Bar, etc. with the nice and big fireplace is perfect at all time, during the night sitting in front of the fireplace and listening at the local singer who was enlivening the night after a very active day was a note so delicate and pleasant!
The manager Walkiria, makes you feel at home and look at all times to pamper you.
There's activities for all ages, my daughter is 11 and she was so happy, that she doesn't wants to leave.
Constanza is a city full of history and it weather is the most extraordinary one. during the day we had temperatures between16 and 11 Celcius degree (at the valley), but at night this temperatures goes down even to 9 or 6, but at Valle Nuevo ( one of the most higher mountain located in the Antilles, this is the third after Pico Duarte and La pelona) temperatures was normally between 9 and 5 during the day and at night it can goes down even to minus 0 degrees. But don't worry about taking a shower hot water really works.
If you go there you can't miss Aguas blancas waterfalls!
The amazing plantation of strawberries, potatoes, Onions, garlics, etc, the most beautiful flowers plantation together with the people and Rancho Constanza made my vacation unforgettable.
The food at this place is number one, the chef prepare such a delicious receipts that you can stop eating.
The patio bonfire time at night is something really nice,they have also villas for rent which are perfect for big family. This Ranch has nice gardens where you can seat and just enjoy the landscape.
For this who need to be connected with the world all the time, good news there's free wifi in the main areas. (lobby, terrace, dinning room).
Rooms are big enough and the rustic desing shows and speak about the place name "Ranch". it is really a ranch, with horses, etc. For the littlest ones there's a big playground, Club House with footballing, ping pong table, basketball court etc.
I can't wait to come back we will really do so, with friends and family! This place is the perfect escapade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rancho Constanza was perfect. Small, intimate, quiet apart from the local wildlife (dogs & cockerels), secure and comfortable. Built in a wooden alpine style in keeping with the forested & agricultural environment. We wanted to get away to a cooler climate, away from our tropical coastal home.

Service was excellent. Rosanna and Natalia, sisters who shared the front of house, reception and table serving duties were great hosts. Nothing was too much for them to make our (3-night) stay as enjoyable and relaxed as possible. Our thanks also to Urbaez, a multi talented staff member, who also showed us around the garden.

I was ill, possibly altitude (4,220ft/1,300m) sickness, when we arrived earlier than the advertised check-in time, and our room wasn't quite ready. So R let me rest in another whilst our reserved room was being made ready. She also let us sort out the check in process when I felt better the next day. Later we discovered that we were the only mid-week guests in hotel, so they may have upgraded us from a standard bedroom to a suite. There was portable water, floral decs and biscuits. Nothing was too much. Our suite had a comfortable bed, table and chairs in one room, an en-suite bathroom, and a sitting room area with coffee table, fridge, sink.

We had the breakfast & dinner options during our stay. Food was freshly cooked, plentiful and tasty. Much of it, especially the vegetables and some fruit, was supplied by local Constanza producers…the hotel even have their own organic fruit garden (go on the free tour) where the fruit juices were made from. Breakfast was simple…cheese, ham, salami, eggs, bread, fruit, coffee, hot chocolate and juices. Dinner was grilled chicken or pork, vegetables, potato, yuca, salad and pasta dish.

This was not our first Constanza trip; we've stayed 2 other times in my many years living on this environmentally diverse island. We stayed at Rancho Guaraguao several years ago, and we went to see how that was doing. We were thinking about returning there, but the (recent) reviews were poor and so true…the quality of accommodation has definitely gone down!!!

Our other option was Alto Cerro. Again, we visited and inspected the facilities. Our lukewarm 'welcome' at reception was in complete contrast to Rancho Constanza…it was as if we had just stepped off a spaceship!!! The larger hotel's facilities are newer, and they have various options for sleeping…a hotel or many self-contained (1,2 & 3 bedroom) cabañas. A massive play, BBQ & social area for outdoor area (like a campsite's), restaurant and (poorly housed) animal area. Some friends, who were staying here at the same time as ourselves, liked the place, but it was so big that I can imagine that at busy Dominican vacation times, it could be quite crazy.

They have an 'inversor', a back-up electrical system, when the local power grid goes down daily. Ask staff at what time does the power turn off, so you can schedule hot water showers. If you ask for power, they'll turn it on if you need a shower or for other electrical needs.

Rancho Constanza is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of urban life!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Most people think of the DR as a place of sun and sand. In this small mountain valley it is agricultural pine trees that whisper in the night with windows open and no need for A/C. This property is located in a small colonia about 1 mile from the town proper (although the town is more of a village and has few support factors for tourists) such as moto conchos or taxis. The room I stayed in was very large, with wonderful windows that open into the garden. When there is hot water it is great, bt it is not full time The bed was comfortable and the facilities good. The meal plan was heavy on mango (mashed plantains). There is a small polleria down the roa that is next to the bar and Norma the owner is a joy. Very basic but safe and good. A change to get away form the heat and humidity, to be in the mountains, ride horses and see agricultural development in the DR. Definately worth the trip. Great staff

Room Tip: At peak periods a room facing away from the basketball court and parking area might be helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Constanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Constanza

Address: Colonia Kennedy, 7 | Frente Al Aeropuerto, Constanza, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Constanza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Constanza
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Constanza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Montana dedicado al turismo ecologico y educativo, lugar tranquilo y romantico donde el trato cordial y amable es la prioridad. Tenemos romanticas habitaciones de hotel y villas familiares, comida natural, tipica dominicana y actividades, tours, excursiones, area de juegos, asi como alquiler de Fourwheel y caballos. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Constanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rancho Constanza to your Saves list