We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Vittaveli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Vittaveli to your Saves list
Jumeirah Vittaveli
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Sensataions
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel and felt compelled to write a review as we are loving this place so much.

The property is stunning, feel like I am in paradise. The villas are out of this world, huge and state of the art and just so well planned out. You can take a dip in your plunge pool and within 10 steps you are on what feels like your own private beach.

The turquoise waters are just so beautiful and amazing for snorkeling. But what has really set this placed apart has been the service. From the start where the general manager welcomed us as we came off the boat, Shah who has been assigned to look after has been exceptional and has fulfilled every single request that we have made, the food has been delicious and again Radley, Saleem and the entire team have been so accommodating going out of their way to ensure the children and us being vegetarian have still been spoilt for choice.

Larry and the team at the kids club have been very friendly and active with the kids. Our elder daughter thoroughly enjoyed herself.

This has been a holiday to remember and we are already planning when to return and would not consider staying anywhere else except this resort.

Already dreading leaving!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitMajumder, Resident Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Darshana P

Really appreciate your taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. Usually our guests write a review once they have left the resort. You are amongst the few who take the time during their holidays. Thank you once again.

You have very charmingly summarized the resort experience in a few words. Thank you for your generous comments about the team especially Shah, Radley, Saleem, Larry, the entire Kids club team and of course, the Chefs. I am sure this will further motivate them to continue exceeding guest expectations.

We are expanding the choice of entertainment for the resort and adding more activities for the Kids club. You will see all these new exciting changes on your next visit.

It was a pleasure meeting your family and you at the Management cocktails. The team at Jumeirah Vittaveli looks forward to welcoming you back and in the meantime if there is anything that we may assist you with, please do let us know.

Yours sincerely

Amit Majumder
Resident Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    62
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
139
165
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gstaad, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After our trip in March we decided to go again to the same island in october and had a great time. As we have a two year old daughter, she could't wait to go to the kids club again to see her 'friends' and have a wonderful time at this amazing kids club with Shalini and Larry! wonderful persons who really know how to take care of kids. The service provided also for us parents made us feel like kings from the arrival to departure. Despite the very wet weather, we felt pampered throuout the day and night, also thanks to Irshad. The service, the food, everyone was just very nice and helpful at any time. Thanks Jumeirah Vittaveli for giving us just great times on our holidays. We will be back for shure ! Thanks Graham for running this hotel so perfectly.

Room Tip: Sunset side very calm, but sunrise nicer to snorkel and a bit 'busier'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Thierry F,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Vittaveli in October. I will see that we say a proper thank you to our colleagues, Shalini, Larry at the kid’s club, Irshad and all the other colleagues who made your stay so special.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Vittaveli in the near future, I am sure that by your next visit, the team and I will have more new improvements that we will have implemented for our valued guests.

Warm regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unforgettable Wedding Anniversary. Everything was especial. The service provided let us feel like a king. The beach villa and water villa both where wonderful. You get more privacy on the beach villa. All the villas are having private pool. The water in the pool was a bit cold. But was really a paradise on earth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Soso R,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor on your recent visit to Vittaveli. I and the team are all delighted that you enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary at our resort. It is always gratifying to know that we have achieved what we set out to do – delight our guests and provide them with Magical Maldivian Moments. Do please come back and visit us again for your next Wedding Anniversary, and challenge us to improve on the last experience you enjoyed with us!

Warm Regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spend One week in Jumeirah Vittaveli and we can say that we were delighted by our stay despite a very wet weather.
We were staying in a sunset water villa and after few maintenance issues quickly and diligently resolved, we could enjoyed the service and hospitality of the whole staff, starting from Graham Kiy, the General Manager, Mr. Shah our host, Samantha and Liusha from Kids Club as well as an old connaissance the Restaurant Manager from a previous trip to Soneva Gili. All in all, thumb up to the whole staff as, without them, no Hotel stay could be enjoyable, whatever the environment.
But it does not hurt to have a very nice setting, which is the case of Vittaveli.
We took the water villa instead of beach villa because of larger footprint, as well as privacy. But we had the opportunity to see the beach villas and they are also quite nice with direct beach access. The water villas have direct water access with good snorkeling possibilities although the water is quite shallow at low tide. The sunrise villas beach have a quick access to the reef in the spa vicinity.
As far as food was concerned, the choices are good between the restaurants and the In room dining. Finesse Restaurant is perfect for fine dining "en tête à tête". We could not test the other alfresco options due to the weather.
We can recommend this place to honeymooners or family with children like us now.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mren,

Thank you for your post on Vittaveli, my team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite inclement weather. I will see that we say a proper thank you to Shah, Samantha, Liusha and Sajesh (Restaurant Manager) for making your stay enjoyable

I am glad that you enjoyed the snorkeling and restaurant offerings, I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, perhaps in sunnier weather conditions.

Warm regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just come back from an amazing and relaxing week at Jumeirah Vittaveli.
It was a family getaway and we travelled with my husband and our 3 boys (8, 5 and 2 years old).
Everything from our arrival at the hotel till the farewell on the pier was perfect! The staff in this hotel couldn't be nicer and all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and happy (special thanks to Fershan out butler who was so nice and attentive to details).

The great surprise was that we got the villa as soon as we arrived (10am) when check-in is only at 2pm. On our last day also, we had a plane at 11pm and needed to leave the hotel at 8pm and they let us stay in the villa till 7:30pm when check-out is at noon.

Here is a list of what we enjoyed:
- Amazing beach villa, very spacious and private
- Kids club was great, the staff there super friendly and lots of activities for the children (thank you Larry, the boys won't forget you!)
- Very "children friendly" hotel and our boys made alot of friends
- 2 adults and 2 kids bikes for our villa. The boys were thrilled and wandering on their own around the island.
- Staff in all restaurants were very nice and helpful especially the team in Samsara (big thank you to al of you!!)
- Lovely reef and good dive spots
-Very nice welcome drinks on our first night and a GM always there making sure all the guests have what they need.
- Generally impeccable service in this hotel

To sum up, this is a beautiful place and we would really recommend going there with children. You will not want to leave and won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you decide to go for the beach villa, try and book the sunset beach villa, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Alexandra D,

The team at Vittaveli and I are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will see that Firshan, Larry, the Samsara team and other restaurant staff are all thanked for their contribution to your satisfaction with the resort. The bikes are a big it with our guests, especially those travelling with children and the house reef and dive spots are usually praised by clients visiting them.

I always impress on our colleagues the need to engage with guests and ensure that all their needs are met, as we want every single client visiting us to return feeling refreshed and with Warm Maldivian Memories to cherish

Thank you for your post and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vittaveli soon

Warm regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic rooms , especially the lagoon suites and the beach suites. Great service and pretty good food except for the breakfast, the spread during which is average.

Please do not make the mistake of visiting Maldives from May to July as the weather is just not suitable for any water sports, sunbathing, or sitting outside your room. The wind is gusty, and the rains are a menace. The lagoon suites can be accessed only by a boat and the choppy waters during these months make boarding and de boarding these boats quite a task.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear RohitB,

Thank you for your review of Vittaveli on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the Villas, especially the Lagoon Suites and Beach Suites which are very spacious and well-appointed indeed. We are working on all aspects of our Food and Beverage offering and certainly the Breakfast is always a point of focus for us. We will soon be receiving some new cooking equipment that will hellp us to further increase the variety of freshly cooked dishes on offer with more "action cooking" in front of guests

It is a pity that the weather did not work out very well for you – I recommend you try staying between November through to April, when generally speaking we enjoy clear blue skies and calmer waters

Do please let me know when you would like to return, we would very much like to welcome you back – my e mail address is graham.kiy@jumeirah.com . I would be delighted to assist you with your reservation

Warm regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were there back in Sept for 6 days together with my brother and his wife. But we arrived first as we flied over from different countries. We saw the staff waiting as soon as we walked out the arrival. Apart from us, there were other 7 people who are also going to Vittaveli, we waited for about 10 minutes then our boat arrived. The journey took 20-25 minutes and we arrived at the pier. There are staffs at the pier playing music to welcome us, and a photographer took picture of us at the pier.
Then we were transferred to the reception by a buggy where we did our check in. We were at the sunset water villa - Coral 8, villa itself is very nice, lots of space, a fair size private pool.
But the view facing the ocean is very beautiful apart from there were these lagoon villas in front of us, it is still beautiful though. Later found that my brother sunset villa has better view at turtle 4 where they do not see the lagoon villa. Also it is better to snorkel from their villa down as there are much more coral around turtle 1 to turtle 6.
There are 2 bicycles for every villa to use but I and my sister in law found it a bit too high for us to ride. The food at the 3 restaurant were good but not exceptional, if you stay more than few days, the choices of food would start to run out..... we called room services few times, they usually arrived within 30 mins but the burger were too cooked when we asked for medium ....
The service could be better as we have asked for a hair dryer but until we leave, we don't see it in our room. All staffs are friendly and helpful.
We did diving at the water sport centre, staffs there are very nice but the centre itself can be brighter, refurbishment needed.
Better arrangement can be made on our departure date as our flight was at 11:35pm, so after we checked out at 12pm, we were waited at the lounge area until 8:20pm...
A tour or activity can be suggested to guests who have a loner waiting time....
There are room for improvement in food quality and variety. And service can be improved too.
But we are happy with the hotel overall.

Room Tip: Sunset water villa Turtle villas have nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear AmyL

Thank you for your review of Vittaveli on Trip Advisor and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We arrange a welcome photograph on guest’s arrival which is then a souvenir of their stay and we hope yours give you many warm memories of our resort.

I am sorry you felt the choice of menu items was not wide enough, each menu in our three restaurants and bar does offer more than 50 dishes and we do try to provide dishes to suit every guest’s taste. In addition, we provide themed nights in various restaurants three times per week at least which is another way of providing variety for guests

I hope you will be returning soon in which case I would be glad to have our Food and Beverage team personalize some of your Dining experiences – with a table in the swimming pool, on a private beach and of course the dishes of your choice. We are soon welcoming new talent in the kitchen from various countries to provide even more authentic and ethnic cuisines to delight our guests

I agree with you that Turtle 1 – 6 are not only very good for snorkeling but also offer the best and uninterrupted views of the Indian Ocean – truly a castaway type experience. We are buying some new bikes which are slightly smaller than the existing sizes available so that all guests can be comfortably accommodated. I have noted your comments on how the Dive Centre decoration could be brighter and the degree of cooking of the burgers, and will go through that feedback with the respective teams to make some improvements

We do offer excursions to Male and local islands too for guests in the afternoon and I apologize if this was not explained to you. Apart from that, the resort features giant chess, petanque and eco-friendly golf balls to hit into the sea if you have already snorkeled and swam enough. For rainy days, board games are also available.

We will soon have two day use rooms at our Spa garden for guests checking out late for a small charge, equipped with a full bathroom, beds and TV.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vittaveli in the future and thank you again for your comments

Warm Regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jumeirah Vittaveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Vittaveli

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Bolifushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bolifushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Vittaveli 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an idyllic world where spectacular beauty fuses with blissful comfort. An unspoilt island resort beckons in the heart of the Indian Ocean. Lose yourself in a pure horizon, where the calm breeze whispers notes of serenity beside the iridescent water and vast stretches of pristine sand. A soothing palette of delightful textures and tones is embraced in the design of the spaciously apportioned villas and suites. Subtle Maldivian architectural expressions of traditional craftsmanshipreveal an assortment of remarkably luxurious environments where discerning guests are reminded of how every individual need is uniquely anticipated with the inimitable STAY DIFFERENT™ philosophy ofJumeirah Hotels & Resorts. Feel a sense of liberating freedom that such space affords.If you believe in exploring new dimensions with each holiday escape, this island chic resort unveils unforgettable memories and enduring satisfaction. Capture the timeless essence of opulence with bountiful rooms, honey coloured timber flooring and high ceilings. Both the stunning Beach Villas and Lagoon Villas cradled amidst pristine flora are surrounded with mesmerising views of sun-kissed beaches and azure skies, which can be admired as you shower in the copiously spaced open bathroom or from your idyllic private Beach Suite roof top. The Lagoon Suite, a haven of magnificence, perfectly positioned above the crystalline waters and offers panoramic views of the Indian Ocean. At Jumeirah Vittaveli, we value the craftsmanship inherent in developing fine cuisine for every palate. Based on an appreciation of individuality offered within the realm of a flavourful culinary journey and unique luxury service, our award-winning chefs maintain a culture of excellence in our three captivating restaurants. Relaxed al fresco dining by the sea, or cocktails and culinary sophistication in themedinteriors, guests enjoy a level of service and gastronomic ingenuity unrivalled amongst Maldivian island resorts. Each select restaurant has evolved with a genuine appreciation of what you cherish, with a fusionof what you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jumeirah International, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jumeirah Vittaveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Vittaveli Hotel South Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Vittaveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.