We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above And Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Vittaveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Vittaveli to your Saves list
Jumeirah Vittaveli
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Sensataions
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above And Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at Jumeirah Vitaveli, and we loved it.

We appreciated the short transfer time by speed boat from Male Airport to the Vittaveli Island. After a long flight, it only took us 20 more minutes to our final arrival.
Having arrived at this breathtaking place, we were warmly welcomed by the general manager in person and a bottle of champagne in our villa. Mr. Huemer, the GM, was very keen in our well-being during our whole stay, he is a real gentleman and a genial host.

We decided to stay at the beach villa on purpose. Its giant private pool and direct beach access convinced us.

Service and Staff is very farseeing, always wearing a smile on their face. Special thanks to Adam, Firag and Sheyam.

The Watersport Center is excellent.. Free canoeing, windsurfing and snorkeling facilities. We enjoyed snorkeling at the House Reef and also took windsurfing lessons. One day, as the weather was unsatisfying, we visited the Gym. It is opened 24 hours, has all kind of cardio machines and weightlifting facilities.

We mostly dined at MU- Beach Bar and Grill. Nice ambience and staff, excellent grilled fish and steak.

There is still work going on. The Presidental Villa is not finished yet. We only found out by accident, during a walk around the island. But the construction didn't affect us at all, no noise, no machines.

Conclusion: Warm, brilliant hosts focus on very few guests, making them feel as if they are staying with good friends, providing a state-of-mind that opens them to new discoveries and new levels of peace.

We'll definitely come back!

J & W

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitMajumder, Resident Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear J & W

While going through our TripAdvisor reviews we realized that we have not responded to a few of the early ones. I am therefore taking this opportunity to do so.

Thank you for your time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed yours stay with us.
In your review you have mentioned that you will look forward to coming back. Likewise, we will very much look forward to welcoming you back. Do let me know about your plans and it will be our pleasure to make the arrangements. You may contact me at amit.majumder@jumeirah.com

Yours sincerely

Amit Majumder
Resident Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    62
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
139
165
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suresnes, France
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
647 helpful votes 647 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We booked a 10-night stay at Jumeirah Vittaveli, checking-in January 27. This was our 9th trip to Maldives, previous vacations included Constance Halaveli, Four Seasons Landaa Giravaaru, One&Only Reethi Rah twice, Taj Exotica, among others. Not to brag about it, just to say we have a fair experience of high end resorts in Maldives, and that we can benchmark a newcomer on the market place.

We had very high expectations, after the web site pictures, and the TA reviews. Damn sure we had ; this is a hell of a costly vacation, but then, we know about it.

We were the first out of the aircraft, and among the first to get our luggage, so we exited in the outside hall early -as early as we could after a 2 hour delay in Abu Dhabi. The Jumeirah staff was there, and wisked us to the waiting speedboat. Off we were, basically 5 minutes after walking through customs.

Welcome at the jetty by staff and a dancing group of musicians. Quick tour of the island on a buggy, and in-room check-in. Welcome amenity of a bottle of champagne (not a known brand) and fruit basket.

Villas are not far from each other ; yet they are very private, and you can't hear/see anything from your neighbours.
VILLA : We were assigned Beach Villa 30, on the sunset side. It sits 10 meters away from your stretch of beach, like any other, but is especially private, shielded with shrubs from the occasional passer by. Honestly said, the villa is nothing short of spectacular. Entrance to private garden through double doors on the side. Main entrance in the middle of the length. Extensive use of timber, in the ceilings, on the floor, in the furniture, imported from Indonesia or so we were told. The feel is highly qualitative. Plenty of natural light from 3 sides of the main room. The pictures do not make it justice.
Beautiful open-air bathroom, of which I am not a big fan personnally. The execution is faultless, extremely tasteful ; it includes high end fixtures, timber flooring, toilet in a separate room slightly air conditionned and marble clad (not polished, very nice), one huge shower with the same marble, one large bath tub in the open, which we did not use, another shower in the open. Large supplies of toiletries, although they are not from Penhaligon's, as pictured on the web site, but a mix from Gilchrist & Soames and Antica Pharmacista (same company), a tad more mainstream.
The highlight of the villa is the private infinity swimming pool, probably the largest we have experienced ourselves in the Maldives (not a mere plunge pool, like in other places). 1,2 meter deep, it is L shaped, and wraps around the villa, taking one third of the smallest length (7 meters) , and all of the built length (20 meters). Beautiful dark tiles, and you can access down steps either from the front of the villa or from the bathroom. You can really dive in there, with reasonable care for depth, and swim. It is gorgeous, all I can say about it. We loved it. At the front also sits a large sala, which we basically did not use, and 2 loungers on the beach, along with a large square umbrella.
Electricity is somewhat complicated to work out; it is advertised as being customizabe, which it is not. There are a number of pre set master switches, providing of number of moods, including in areas you can't see while operating them. On top of it, there are individual switches. We complained once that some parts did not work, then twice, then three times : we found out after three days that they did work, only through one master switch only, whose ambiance we did not like, but no one cared to explain about it, and I looked like an idiot -not that anybody even hinted about it. Nice touches include a night light under the bed, setting on as soon as you step on the floor.
Air conditionning is not efficient. We like it cold at night. It hardly reached 20° in the morning ; we asked for improvements, and even though they tried, the system is probably undersized for the cubic volume in the room, and the overall atmosphere ; one night we even went to bed with 26°, after blowing for several hours, and suddenly it started cooling down.
The bedding is, well, nothing short of out of this world. Probably the best we have ever had, and boy, have we slept around ... !

HOUSEKEEPING does a good job, once they understand what you expect from them. A simple request of toiletries in both shower stalls took 2 days to get straight. Another simple one of 4 bath towels at all times took 3 days ; then sometimes we got more, sometimes we got a mix of beach towels. Good thing is they always turned up as soon as we were out for breakfast or diving, and NEVER did we return to an unattended bedroom. Generous supplies of water and Nespresso capsules.

PATRONS : when we turned up, we found ourselves kind of overwhelmed in a crowd of people right out of the PRC, and my guess would be mainland China, not Hong Kong. What their job could be I still wonder ; with the price tags here, they cannot be fishmongers, although they certainly looked, sounded and behaved like they were right out of the fish market. There was a display of untravelled behavour, with too much of too new money, including not speaking a single word of english, chainsmoking at any moment, yelling at each other across the restaurant, kids carrying screaming toys while running around, raiding the buffet like they had never seen one (and that might well have been the case), spitting on the bach. This left us deeply worrying about the rest of the stay, only cheered up by the Maldivian staff, who assured they would be leaving soon, and God, did they look relieved, too. And indeed they left, leaving the floor to a mixed crowd of behaved people from Europe (German, Swiss, UK) and the Middle East (Bahrain, Dubai).

RESTAURANTS : overall the food is good, tasty, well prepared and cooked. My biggest regret is that the menus are not differentiated enough, apart from different levels of sophistication.
MU on the beach serves basic fares of BBQed surf and turf. Samsara, the main restaurant serves more elaborates fares. Fenesse serves haute cuisine. But all are basically European by inspiration. We would have hoped for one definitely asian oriented, and one with a middle east flare (even more so with a hotel operated by a Dubai company). They all shared an extravagant pricing policy. Saying that they were all vastly overpriced would not even be close to an understatement. Our first dinner in the main restaurant saw my jaw drop. Next evening in Finesse, the price tags gave me vertigo. This is when everything was available, which was rarely the case ; someone should work out the supply chain, we have never seen such a poor execution before.
To be perfectly clear, we know what to expect in that kind of place. We will not complain about a $8 Coke or a $10 bottle of Evian. This is 'normal'. What I resent, is a 50 to 70% difference over O&O Reethi Rah (admittedly one of the best / most expensive resorts worldwide) last year. I feel cheeted, and trapped. This is beyond comprehension, and has no justification whatsoever. Lobster is $170 + service + tax + side ! Caprese salad $30++, anyone ? Raise your hands for Baby Chicken +++ at $60. Ribeye, even Wagyu, $125+++ . Caesar salad with prawns is a $36++ starter. 3 ricotta raviolis at $40. This might be the consequence of a strategic decision : being the most expensive food in the Maldives. Then we should know before. More likely someone took a raincheck on the homework, and forgot to benchmark competition. Oups !

Breakfast is OK on day one. Boring on day 2. And from then on a let down. Apart from a huge selection of dried fruits (big deal), F&B cannot be proud of the offer on display. Cold cuts are ridiculous (never saw salami, ham, bacon). No live cooking station for eggs : you can order, but it takes 10 to 20 minutes to turn up. Orange juice not available every day (out of oranges, can you believe that ?). Croissants sometimes. Hot dishes wait in boxes, but they are watery and band. No dim sum, no sushi, no middle east mezze. Fresh fruits OK, but never saw a mango, not to mention berries. To make a long story short, extremely limited selection, never changing : the worst buffet breakfast in 9 trips to Maldives, I am sorry to be positive about that.
Service in restaurants throughout is very good, especially for a resort which started business 5 weeks earlier. Nice and smiling as always, which should be a prerequisite, but extremely well trained, and this made a world of difference.

DIVING : we dived a lot. Great crew on the boat, brand new equipment, and excellent diving guides (Soji, Razy). We had excellent tailor made dives, especially considering how close to Male, and crowded the atoll is. Crowded is not exactly the right word, though ... We were only missing a plate of fruits and biscuits, along with hot drinks,, which are usual at the end of a dive anywhere. The crew had the initiative to slice coconuts for us ; additional reason to tip them, which we would have done anyway.

SPA : we did not do any. Probably no more in the mood to spend any further than we were obliged to.

CONs : being a very new resort, we expected some teething problem. The point is one you call somebody attention to them, you would expect them to be fixed. It happened, eventually. Communication seems to be the issue ; you talk to someone, and 30 minutes later if nothing had happened, you call the same number and speak to someone else, and have to explain all over again. At a junior level, the staff do not seem to communicate. And they do not seem to take a lot of initiative.
The magician name in such case is Ian Phillips, resident manager. You give him a word, and he takes care of it. But you have to speak to him personnally, otherwise, if you ask whomever you are talking to over the phone to let him know, well, he will never know. This is finally easy, as Ian seems to be roaming the island a great deal of time. When he realized we were getting upset by the lack of attention and follow up, he took it personally to follow up on us. He works wonders ...
- ... unlike the GM. Now, this a character. He wrote the welcome introduction in the in-room documentation, and probably thought he had done more than his share. He devotes his time in his very own villa, the only one with a palatial entrance, and no number on the gate. The only times he is to be seen, is walking his way at huge paces to the restaurants, wearing inadequate outfits (white bermuda suits, replete with puffed handkerchief in breast pocket, carrying loafers in his hand, think Kennedy caricature at Kennebunkport in the 60s). There, he makes a bee-line to his friends table, ignoring bluntly any guest, and barely waits to be seated before grabbing the wine-list, chainsmoking chinese style, bragging at the top of his lungs how he made it to the L.A. Times, and I am only quoting a tiny bit of his fascinating conversations, heard from our table on the beach at a 20-meter distance, on a windy evening. This guy is an insult to anyone working hard on the island, and probably did not grasp what anything was about the hospitality industry. This is the biggest CON of all.
- Some works were still going on on the island (Presidential Villa, Lagoon Villas), resulting in drilling and hammering noises, unacceptable at these price tags. Honesty has it, when I pointed them out, they stopped ; but they will have to resume at some point.
- Some items had not been delivered to the island yet : we never got any matches, the sleepers we had after requesting them were right out of the Dubai properties (fairy tale blue with gold embroidery). No dish soap in the bathroom. No stationary.
- The DVD reader we requested was the wrong zone, and took some time to be fixed. They had no idea about that.
- We had issues with the swimming pool, which took 1.5 days to be fixed.
- One bulb failed one day and was never replaced, eventhough someone came up to check it.
- Some furniture was not the one pictured in any documentation, clearly a temporary one (no rocking chair outside). No curtains outside on the lanai or in the bahroom ; the rails are there note the drapes.
- Flowers in the room on day 1 were never replenished. No flower in the bathroom, ever. Same for fruits.
- No turndown amenity : bookmark, weather forecasts, activity bulletin, poem, nothing. And for the turndown food, we had some only three nights out of ten. Two of which were fishballs with ketchup, and vegetable samosa with ketchup. Isn't this yummy ?
- No GM party (you bet) : we were invited one night to a cocktail party for the launch of the new restaurant, and that's where we met the resident manager.
- No cold towels anywhere when arriving in restaurants.
- In the public bathrooms, no towels ; only boxes of tissues.
These are small details obviously. But when you are shelling out south of 20.000€ for a vacation, you expect every detail to be perfect.
Special mention to Prita, who went out of his way to make the difference; eventhough he is probably not at the top of the hierarchy, he has a full understanding of what service means. One example : he would bring us at the beach a full print out of French papers, and not just once.

Honesty has it, they more than adequately compensated for the sum of inconveniences. For the pool, they sent champagne and fruits and chocolates to the room. A substantial compensation was volunteered on the F&B invoice. They also comped the villa day use; it obviously made up for parts of it.

All in all, I am confident they will fix whatever comes up. This is a very good place, not an outstanding one, yet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitMajumder, Resident Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post the review on TripAdvisor following your stay. Please accept our apologies for the inadvertent delay in our response.

As you have stayed at the resort more than a year back, when the resort was in the soft opening stages, I am pleased to share with you that many of the the points you have highligted in the review, which did not make up for a perfect experience have been looked after in the year of operation. Many of these transformations are mentioned in the more recent reviews and also in the responses of Mr Graham Kiy and myself.

I am confident that on your next visit to Jumeirah Vittaveli, we will be able to exceed your expectations at all levels. Do let me know if you plan a visit and I will be pleased to make the arrangements for you. You may contact me at amit.majumder@jumeirah.com.

I look forward to hear from you and to eventually welcome you back to the resort.

Yours sincerely

Amit Majumder
Resident Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I had booked the hotel and was really excited about the first positive review I had read. There was then a very negative review posted and it made me start to think!!!

The start of the trip and arrival was not fantastic, however all was resolved on the first day after having a chat with Ian the Resident Manager. I would urge you to talk to Ian and his team should you have any challenges or issues as these guys cannot rectify situation otherwise. It is clear that the team is still very young and there is, without doubt some teething issues. The downside of our trip was lack of attention to detail on arrival, still some building work going on in the overwater villas which does go on late into the night. Also a misunderstanding within different teams from front office and food and beverage as to what is included in half board.

We were there for 5 nights and from the second night onwards it really started to live up to the expectations. We stayed in a lagoon villa over the water with a private plunge pool. It was really nice with extra touches such as the nespresso coffee machine, on demand free movies and a great view. Out of interest we also had a look at the beach villa and I think we would stay in one of them next time as the outside living space is greater and you have access to your own private beach. The service was great from the restaurants and the staff are very attentive. We ate in all three restaurants with our favourite being Mu, it only opened half way through the week. Great steaks and seafood cooked for you on the beach!!!! Having stayed at the Six Senses property last year I was expecting the wine prices to still be exuberant. Wine started from only $55 a bottle up to a staggering $5,000!!!! Of course we stayed at the lower end of the budget being Scottish. This was a nice bottle of wine though.

Make sure you make time for the spa as we have two days of treatments and it was not a case of you booked an hour and only got a 45 minute treatment. On both occasions the treatments went on for about 70 minutes (thank you for removing all of the knots from my back!)

The final great point is to make sure that you take advantage of the complimentary wash and press of your clothes on your last day. I really lovely the touch and it was great to get home today and not have to worry about suitcases full of laundry.

I measure a place by would I go back? The answer is yes though I would avoid the Chinese New Year weeks as the hotel was full of Chinese guests and I like to have a peaceful dinner without cigarette smoke blowing in my face!!! This is not the hotels issue, it is more of a cultural awareness for our new travelling friends from the East.

I don't think the Jumeriah website does this resort justice and I have attached some pics......

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family I would suggest a beach villa and ask the hotel to put a fence r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitMajumder, Resident Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Paul

While going through our TripAdvisor reviews we realized that we have not responded to a few of them. I am therefore taking this opportunity to do so. Thank you for your time to write a review.

In your review you have mentioned that you will look forward to coming back. Likewise, we will very much look forward to welcoming you back. You will certainly notice some spectacular new changes since your last visit, as the resort moves from strength to strength on a daily basis.

Do let me know about your plans and it will be our pleasure to make the arrangements. You may contact me at amit.majumder@jumeirah.com

Yours sincerely

Amit Majumder
Resident Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limass
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

As soon as we passed the customs in Male the holiday started. The resort representatives were waiting for us and from then on everything was taken care of. The ride with the speedboat fell more like a boat trip rather than a transfer. It was fast and comfortable. Upon arrival at the pier, the P.R. took us for a tour around the island in a buggy to show us where the all the facilities were located before taking us to our pristine beach villa with all the amenities one can dream off: beach loungers, daybed, swing, comfortable chairs and table on the decking, sofa, variable lightning to suit the mood, etc... We chose the buffet for dinner as it offered an excellent selection of delicious food. It was a paradise for snorkelling with no need to go far from the shore to see all sorts of colourful fish. The epitome of relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Annick A,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It may seem strange that you are only seeing a reply to your post now, however I have only fairly recently taken over the resort and am making sure that our backlog of comments are replied to.

I am very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us before and would like to suggest you come back again and see the further improvements that we have made to the resort’s facilities and services. We always like to hear guest’s feedback on the resort and to see guests returning to enjoy themselves a second and third time…

Please let me know if I may be able to assist you in any way with your return trip. My e mail address is graham.kiy@jumeirah.com and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Yes, it’s a long distance flight, but it’s definitely worth it. Arriving after about 30 minutes of Speedboat and we all really loved the welcome ceremony and immediately felt the warm and friendly atmosphere of the island. Our beach suite had everything one could expect from a luxury holiday resort in the tropics, and in fact more than that. Soon we realized we just could relax and enjoy a fantastic family vacation. Nice and attentive service, excellent food together with an absolutely amazing underwater world right outside our bedroom just waiting to be discovered. Even our ten years old daughter, who normally can be very hard to please, was deeply thrilled and spent hours snorkeling (don’t forget t-shirt and a lot of sun blocker). We saw thousands of reef fishes in all shapes and colours. All of us went on a dolphin safari and not only saw dolphins spinning in the air, but also experienced a magical sun-set. We had a wonderful time in the SPA, after the treatment we just relaxed and looked out at the turquoise water and feel the breeze. Both we and our children were met with smiles and joy during all our stay. For us this was a paradise vacation, that we hopefully will be able to do once again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It may seem strange that more than a year has passed since you wrote this review on Trip Advisor, and you are only getting a response now. I do apologize for that extremely long delay, but would like you to know that we very much care about each and every guest and their feedback, which is why I am writing to you now. I took over the running of the resort at the end of 2012 and have been steadily catching up on all the replies to Trip Advisor postings since then.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your last stay with us and can assure you we have gone from strength to strength in the last year and more. We do hope you will return to visit us once again and should you wish to do so, please contact your travel professional or myself, my e mail is graham.kiy@jumeirah.com

I would be delighted to assist you with your plans and make sure all arrangements are easy and smooth

Kind Regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife & I stayed just prior to Xmas and we have memories to treasure forever.

Jumeirah have created a Jewel in The Indian Ocean the Island is Paradise personified and the staff were wonderful.

Ian & Tina Phillips were on hand at all times with customer service being of paramount importance and Stefan The General Manager was a throwback to the halcyon days of Wimbledon in the 30's having a similar dress sense to the legendary Fred Perry.

I cannot recommend Jumeirah Vittaveli enough to anyone thinking of visiting as you will not be disappointed !!!

Room Tip: Watch out for the mozzies !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It may seem strange to you that your post from December 2011 is only now being answered, my apologies for a late reply. I took over at Vittaveli at the end of last year and realized that there were some unanswered TA reviews. I have made it my mission to see that each and every guest's post receives a reply. .

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you may consider to return at some stage in the future. There have been quite a few changes to the island since your last visit - the foliage is rich and lush and some new facilities and ideas have been added too. I am happy to say, though that most of our original Maldivian and expat colleagues are still here, eager to welcome you back whenever you are ready.

Should you wish to return and experience our hospitality again, do let me know. My e mail address is graham.kiy@jumeirah.com, please contact me for any assistance with your reservation that you may need

Kind Regards,

Graham Kiy
General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The incredible novel Jumeirah Vittaveli could never be described as home away from home. Unless of course you are use to uniquely personalised service, uninterrupted views of crystal clear waters, considered heartfelt care from staff at every possible touch point and a feeling of utter delight at having reached a consistent state of utter bliss and well being.

We were met at the airport by Jumeirah team members including Ian Phillips, Resident Manager . We were whisked away to our boat with personalised use of our names and large smiles. Our luggage was taken and replaced in our hands, instead, was a cool and refreshing coconut drink. Quite frankly I didn't care who was looking at us in the airport or how jealous they were, I literally felt like royalty. Little did I know that this was just the beginning.

We were met on the stunning Vittaveli arrival jetty by a reception committee including the Area General Manager, Stefan Huemer. We were thoughtfully introduced to each of his team and personally taken to our Beach Villa (sunset side) where an abundance of comfort awaited us.

The villa was 184 square meters, with stunning wood features throughout and thick cream drapes covering every window. Completely beautiful. The private L shaped swimming pool ran alongside the villa finishing it's L shape along the front, with an unspoit view of the beach where crystal clear waters were teaming with wildlife. Then there was the outdoor rain shower, the circular bath tab with it's own private pathway leading through the garden to reach it, the state of the art technology and the walk in wardrobe. Simply spectacular!

This novel luxurious resort is private, impressive and utterly breathtaking. A personal highlight for me was working out in the gym overlooking a Maldivian Aquarium that was the coral reef beneath me. I lost count of the number of black tipped baby sharks swimming below.

Can it get more fabulous? Well yes it can. Because in true Jumeirah style what sets this magical place apart is it's people. Hello's and massive genuine smiles greeted us at every turn. Good conversation was held with us by the resort staff whilst they achieved attentive service. Wows of framed pictures being placed of us in our Villa on arrival made the experience unsurpassed. Yet it is more than that. It is literally the bubble of excitement that is running through every member of the Jumeirah team working on the Island. There is a real feeling of joy amongst them to create bespoke experiences at every opportunity. Every one seems completely united to create a seventh heaven just for you and life is too short to not want that again and again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham K, General Manager at Jumeirah Vittaveli, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It may seem strange to be reading a reply to a post you had written in December 2011, but I took over the resort at the end of last year and am steadily working my way through the as yet unanswered TA posts to make sure that each end every guest receives a reply.

I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Vittaveli and assure you the resort has gone from strength to strength since the opening. Although several faces on the management team are new, most of the Colleagues that were here at the opening of the resort are still with us and, as you pointed out, are the ones making a difference to each and every guest on a daily basis.

I hope you wish to return to Vittaveli soon and I will be very glad to help you do so - my e mail is graham.kiy@jumeirah.com and feel free to contact me at any time for assistance.

Kind Regards,

Graham Kiy

General Manager
Jumeirah Vittaveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jumeirah Vittaveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Vittaveli

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Bolifushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bolifushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Vittaveli 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an idyllic world where spectacular beauty fuses with blissful comfort. An unspoilt island resort beckons in the heart of the Indian Ocean. Lose yourself in a pure horizon, where the calm breeze whispers notes of serenity beside the iridescent water and vast stretches of pristine sand. A soothing palette of delightful textures and tones is embraced in the design of the spaciously apportioned villas and suites. Subtle Maldivian architectural expressions of traditional craftsmanshipreveal an assortment of remarkably luxurious environments where discerning guests are reminded of how every individual need is uniquely anticipated with the inimitable STAY DIFFERENT™ philosophy ofJumeirah Hotels & Resorts. Feel a sense of liberating freedom that such space affords.If you believe in exploring new dimensions with each holiday escape, this island chic resort unveils unforgettable memories and enduring satisfaction. Capture the timeless essence of opulence with bountiful rooms, honey coloured timber flooring and high ceilings. Both the stunning Beach Villas and Lagoon Villas cradled amidst pristine flora are surrounded with mesmerising views of sun-kissed beaches and azure skies, which can be admired as you shower in the copiously spaced open bathroom or from your idyllic private Beach Suite roof top. The Lagoon Suite, a haven of magnificence, perfectly positioned above the crystalline waters and offers panoramic views of the Indian Ocean. At Jumeirah Vittaveli, we value the craftsmanship inherent in developing fine cuisine for every palate. Based on an appreciation of individuality offered within the realm of a flavourful culinary journey and unique luxury service, our award-winning chefs maintain a culture of excellence in our three captivating restaurants. Relaxed al fresco dining by the sea, or cocktails and culinary sophistication in themedinteriors, guests enjoy a level of service and gastronomic ingenuity unrivalled amongst Maldivian island resorts. Each select restaurant has evolved with a genuine appreciation of what you cherish, with a fusionof what you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jumeirah International, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jumeirah Vittaveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Vittaveli Hotel South Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Vittaveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.