We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitesurfers hangout!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duro Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Duro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Duro Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Beatriz Correia 64 | Praia de Cumbuco, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara 61619-115, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Kitesurfers hangout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Super cosy nice small hotel with nice bar and lounge area where many people come to. Nice place to launch your kite and meet people.
Hotel is very small and if you are in the hotel you can get annoyed that many of the lounge chairs are occupied by non hotel guests but it's the centre of the kite action in Cumbuco so staying in the hotel means you are in the middle of the action.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    40
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just spent 10 days at Duro beach hotel. 8M everyday, some times a little overpowered and I am not a little guy.

Beach was perfect, food was spectacular (best chicken fingers on the planet), rooms were great, staff second to none. Oh, and the massages - I had 4 if that tells you how good they were!

I already booked next year and I came home today!!!

Best pousada/hotel in cumbuco!

Room Tip: After a long day of kiteboarding, ground floor is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is on the best spot, literally ON the beach. best rooms, porches with sea view, great food and a lot of happy people. the kite school at the Duro is the best school in brazil. Dani is hilarious and very professional and when you are there, ask for william to teach you. we were there last year and definitely going back again this year.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms with huge porches in the right side when you are in front of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Located right at the beach, in a designated area for kitesurfing, the Duro Beach hotel offers comfort and ease for those wanting to enjoy this sport. Lockers are available for safely storing your kites. The hotel is comfortable enough to allow non-kiters to enjoy just as much: a proper swimming pool, lounge area, palm fringed restaurant area and good-sized, modern rooms with terrace.
I was disappointed to find the bar wasn't open during the evening. Luckily however, there are other places nearby where you can enjoy a cocktail or cold beer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I too spent one night at a pousada near by but moved the next morning to Duro Beach. "Close to the beach" and "and on the beach" make a world of difference! At Duro beach, at the top floor, with the constant wind day and night, you don't need to turn on the air-conditioning and there are no mosquitoes! If you are not kitesurfing right in front of the hotel, you can just relax in the garden having a drink or a snack and watching the other kitesurfers...until its your turn again! First kite session at 7am, breakfast (top!), relax, kite again...until sunset! The beach is clean, with fine white sand, just large enough to set up your kite. I have been at the other beach hotels and, more than being further away from the center, there the beach is not so clean and there are buggies driving through. Bottom line: Durobeach is THE kite beach hotel in Cumbuco!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The grounds and the location are great.
The service and the breakfast are atrocious. It appears that the kitchen basically is trying avoid serving breakfast. The choice is the poorest I've seen anywhere in Brazil and I've stayed in places that are way cheaper that offer a lot more. When they run out of something at breakfast (juice, eggs etc), they don't refill even if some guests are still to come. That leads to a race between guests and the early bird gets the worm while others are to eat whatever is leftover. The waiters are nice but the kitchen is downright passive aggressive. I asked for two fried eggs and it i had to ask three times and waited 45 minutes ( this is not an exaggeration). The waiter was apologetic and he went back to the kitchen numerous times but the lady in there seemed to ignore him. This is a small hotel with very few guests and it took her 45 minutes to get me some eggs? Not acceptable.

The deluxe room is fine but pretty sparse with poor pillows and a bad shower. Completely fine in a cheap Pousada, not ok in one of the top hotels in this town.

Next time, I will stay at the other places that are essentially the same, but are priced accordingly.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

To whome it may concern, ive stayed for longer period in durobeach for the thirth time! and every time i come back to this place its surprizing me over and over how they keep up coming up with new little details! the staff is great allways smiling most of them speaks English ! the crowd is the better crowd of people who staying in cumbuco plus its the number one spot in town since all the kiters from the other pousadas and hotels hanging out there infront of the beach ! drinking some sucos(fresch juices) or caiprinas! nice atmoshphere on sundays when they have in the afternoon top dj playing some lounge music ! the walk to town is 2 min you go out of the hotel and you right there one little street 50meter not even! at night its very quit so good to sleep and recover from the day kiting! all the rooms have oceanview and there is nice breeze,plus they have AC as well ! what more can i say its defently worth the money compare to other hotels and pousadas!!!! where you have to walk 20 min to get into town or more up and down its alot of time ! calculated that every day then i prefer to stay in the perfect spot! pump up my kite infront of my room and off you are for nice session! thanks again to all durobeach staff to make my vacation unforgetable stay in Cumbuco! will defently come back and try to stay even longer! see you next year*

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duro Beach Hotel

Address: Rua Beatriz Correia 64 | Praia de Cumbuco, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara 61619-115, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia > Cumbuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duro Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Duro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duro Beach Hotel Cumbuco, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.