We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pousada for kiters with Spanish flair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco

Save Saved
You added Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco
Rua dos Dourados | Avenida dos Coqueiros, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara 61619-530, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Cumbuco B&B and Inns
Chur, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pousada for kiters with Spanish flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was so surprised to be welcomed in Spanish - the owners are superfriendly and helpful. Thx Enrique and Kelly!
The pousada Furifan is located directly on the beach and in 10min do you walk to Cumbucos center.
There is enough space for your kites to be stored.
Don't hesitate and book that pousada - you'll like it!

Room Tip: If you'd like a room with ocean view - take one with the balcony, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    30
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
40
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lihue
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The ocean is everything. So great beachfront feeling.
Enrique is too successful. Maybe working too hard now.
Perfect location for kiting. Away from central.
Lovely breakfast, great espresso. Kelly makes the best caipirinhas.
I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is very popular. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked Furaifun as our honeymoon destination. We went for Kitesurfing and relaxing only and we had absolutely no regrets. From what we could see on our 2 week stay was it was the best located and laid out Pousada on the whole beach!
Unfortunately I suffered with a bad stomach BEFORE I arrived and this continued for the first 3-4 days. The staff and owner were sympathetic and were attentive to me in my ill state.
Then, on the first day, we managed to pop the leading edge of our 7 metre kite..... Although annoying, it was not a problem, the owner, Enrique gave us a lift to the kite repair shop straight away who repaired it for very little money for the following day!
In response to the review below. I would like to say that perhaps you were not suited to this hotel:
Yes, the accomodation is basic but perfectly good. It's clean and the bed was very comfy. And I should know as I spent most of my time in the room on the first few days.
Some of the staff may at first come across as cranky but we embraced trying to learn Portugese and we had a good laugh with them. There were enough staff who spoke English and those who didnt enjoyed the challenge of understanding what you wanted.... Not only that, when you are in another country, you cannot expect people to speak English perfectly!
The breakfast is a bit hit and miss but there was always enough and the staff would bring out more if needed.
If you were not completely satisfied with other aspects of the Pousada then the beach lounge area made up for absolutely everything else!!!! It seemed to be the only good set up on the beach. A compressor to blow up kites, a grassed area to dry them after a quality session and comfy beds and sofas to sit and watch your new friends kitesurfing! Brilliant.

From what we saw, the experience seemed authentically brazillian. Relaxed and fun! Cheers guys, we'd love to come back but I think Boracay is next!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbuco, CE
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The only good thing about Furaifun is the setting of the lounge bar. If you are looking for a sunset drink, the lounge has nice cozy places where you can relax with a Caprinha or cold beer. For anything else, the place totally oversells itself and I would not bother coming.

The food in 'the restaurant' is expensive and of poor quality. For example, the salads are not rich and the croquettas are just made of flour and water with no taste whatsoever. The preparation of the dishes is also highly inconsistent: the tortillas came out differently each day -either the potato was uncooked, the dish was too salty or they forgot to pour in sufficient eggs. Moreover, it happened twice that we had ordered a dish, only to be told 45 minutes later that it was unavailable. This is especially uncool if you have spent 2 hours in the water kiteboarding and you are craving for food.

Continuing on the food and drinks topic: not only were many dishes from the menu unavailable, it happened multiple times that the bar was out of Caprinhas. Quite strange, considering that the town centre is only 15 minutes (walking distance) away from the pousada. Nothing should really be out of stock ever, as the staff can pop in to town easily to settle the issue. This also happened with our breakfast, every day there was some other issue: no eggs, no bread, no staff, too late. One day we actually had to wake up the owner, so that he could prepare breakfast for us (for some reason all the staff members had not showed up for work). There was never an apology made for any of the above.

As for the sleeping part, the rooms with sea view are basic (which is okay) but overpriced. The rooms in the garden are ridiculously overpriced and you can get much better value for your money in the rest of Cumbuco. The insect, mosquito level is high, so do bring a mosquito net. When we were staying there, the rooms were quite outdated and slightly dirty; however, they are doing some reconstruction at the moment, so you might be better off. Something else that I found rather unromantic, is that our double bed was made up of two single beds. As with no-show for breakfast, it also happened more than once that the staff had skipped our room for cleaning.

You should keep in mind that you will be basically staying in a bar, which means music is playing 24/7 (usually hyper tense jazz). If you are on a holiday and you are planning to spend a week or two there, this might be okay for you. But if you are planning a long term stay, you should definitely keep this in mind. It can drive you nuts after a while, especially if you are trying to work.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the other reviewers who say that the staff is inattentive. I found them to be very cranky and impossible to squeeze a smile out of them. Note that nobody speaks English. Most disappointing was that the owner himself behaves stressed and unprofessionally and seemed to be lacking the experience to run this kind of business. In the end, this was the reason that we decided to leave the place prematurely.

Scandalizing cherry on top was that we were charged 159RS ($70,-) for 2 small laundries (see picture). As you can see on the bill, this was later corrected; however, it was not at all without a fight. To give you an idea of the rip-off, we are paying now 12RS ($5,-) for a full bag of clothes.

The kiteboarding is excellent, the beach is beautiful and the sunsets are amazing - but this is true for every where in Combucu. So, I suggest you skip Furaifun altogether and find yourself a place where you can enjoy those three things fully including a friendly chat and smile from now and then.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FURAIFUN, Owner at Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Darling, I would love explain your case ...

but we are full of people,
the restaurant full of people enjoying, the tasty food
surrounded by loyal customers, and other new customers
customers who enjoy its magical new suites
enjoying the sunset, in the magical lounge

and really I have no time to lose
I have many wonderful people around me to attend

I'm glad that you found a good price to wash your clothes

att Enrique Almenara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had an amazing time while being in Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco. We felt like being in paradise during 3 weeks of our stay. Not only there is a fantastic atmosphere created by the owner and his staff but also the location of the Pousada is just perfect. It is right on the beach.
We were practising kitesurfing every day as the conditions for it over there are more than great. Moreover, every evening we were watching beautiful sunsets while lying on very comfortable couches which Pousada has set up in its front yard and drinking delicious caipirinhas. We will definitely come back soon!

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Amazing and unbelievable my stay at Pousada Furaifun in Cumbuco.

Just a pretty place to relax and enjoy its privileges of being in the seafront opens to the fine white sand. A special and familiar atmosphere lived there where you can fell like at home thanks to its really helpful and nice owners and professional staff.
Good service in general and nice cocktails at lounge bar. Exquisite and plentiful variety of dishes, well-equipped bedrooms with all facilities and extra-large beds.
I highly recommend its Caipirinhas with and relaxing music in the sunset or night while seating in the chilled out area, perfectly decorated with ornaments and comfortable sofas.
A plus for you if you practice kite, its wind is nowhere else in the world.

Easy to get entry but difficult to leave at the end.

Room Tip: If you can afford get a bedroom with views to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent Kite-Hotel Beach Front.
i have been in this pousada several times to relax and kite sure. the location is excellent and the owner also a great guy very help ful in many manners and occasion.
the wooms are spaciouse and silent ideal to rest in peace.
the kite location also is great you can literaly wake up, have breakfast inflate your kite and kitersurf right in fron of the hotel yard!

Room Tip: Otimo hotel para relax e kitesurf!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FURAIFUN, Owner at Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your vacations and Thank you so much for writing a review to let travelers know what great service and value we provide to our guests.

It is a great honor and privilege, if you will choose to visit us again in your next vacation.

You're being part of this great Family Furaifun Cumbuco

Best regards
Enrique Almenara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco

Address: Rua dos Dourados | Avenida dos Coqueiros, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara 61619-530, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia > Cumbuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cumbuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to FuraiFun Cumbuco We are located on the Cumbuco beach, Furaifun was built in 2009.​Since then surfers and tourists from all over the world have come to Furaifun seeking the perfect mix of tranquillity and adrenaline that our pousada and kitesurfing offer.Furaifun offers storage for Kitesurf and Windsurf equipment as well having a resident kitesurf school .Constant, strong, onshore winds make the Cumbuco beach the ideal place for water sports.All of our Suites & Rooms , were constructed using local materials.Some of our Suites are located on the beach with an amazing view of the ocean, whereas the others are tucked away in the charm of the coconut trees.Our Lounge Beach & Restaurant Onna Beach offers many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner.After enjoying a meal in our restaurant there is nothing better to do than to lie down to our Lounge Beach Beds, relax, and wait for the magnificent sunset.FuraiFun is perfect for those looking to rest and be in touch with nature,but also to those seeking adrenaline and fun.​Are you ready for an unforgettable experience in one of the worlds most beautiful and sought out beaches? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Furaifun Cumbuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.