We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of enormous charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corail Residence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Corail Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Corail Residence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Mabouya, Sainte-Luce 97228, Martinique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sainte-Luce
Bideford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hotel of enormous charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

At first sight there isn't anything too special about this hotel, except that it had a lovely view over the bay. However, from almost the first moment, the charm and friendliness of the staff captivates one, so that staying there becomes a delight. Julie (who speaks excellent English) and Pascal (who speaks not a word!) do everything in their power to make the stay enjoyable, and John Paul, an excellent chef, loves to discuss his meals. This 'sympathique' behaviour affects all who stay, and there is a smile on the faces of all the guest and and staff. So -- although the bedrooms are adequate and clean but nothing to write home about -- choose this hotel if you want a really relaxing and friendly holiday, and you will not forget it as a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are of similar value -- just ask for a view of the sea and the Diamond Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corail R, Gérant at Hotel Corail Residence, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear James, Dear Carol,

First of all, I thank you very much for this so kind message which touches us sincerely,
and I apologize for answering it only now! Sorry....
It's a delight to welcome you both! You're guests as one dream to have it every day!
Pascal took your message seriously and tries to learn English!! Wonderful! The Chief Jean-paul continues to create good small dishes! And all the team pursues the road in the same thrown!
We hope we can make the renovation of rooms before the next high season... We cross fingers! This point will come to perfect the small Jewel that is the Corail Residence.
I hope that we shall have the pleasure to see you again one day!!!
Take care and stay as you are!
Sunny greetings,
Thank you ;)


Sorry if I made mistaken...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    44
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A big problem with this hotel is finding it. You have to keep your eyes peeled for the direction signs, as it is down some very small side roads. Our room was clean and comfortable, but the shower was rather temperamental. Beautiful ocean view from our deck. The continental breakfast was good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corail R, Gérant at Hotel Corail Residence, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Dorothy,

I thank you for having taken time to give us your opinion onto your stay in our establishment Le Corail Résidence.
We took note of your remarks and we nudes try hard to settle these small concerns: already new signs were installed!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Coral Residence,
Sunny Greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What else do you need from an holiday? Great places and great people ! Does it always happen? Not always, unfortunately. It's like in life actually. You never know who you meet on your path. Well, Pascal and July the Hotel owners are exceptional: young, dynamic, gentle and professional. And the place, wonderful, in front of the caribean sea at just 200 m from a wonderful bay with still water all days of the week (and in Martinique finding still water is not that easy. Nothing more to say. Or better, a last but not least thing to say: Jean Paul, the chef is superb ! And the restaurant, quite and relaxing. We really had a great time there. Ciao!! Raffaele & Diletta

Room Tip: They are all good beacuse with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corail R, Gérant at Hotel Corail Residence, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment!
It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Hôtel Corail Résidence.
You're right when you said : "You never know who you meet on your path" but it was a wonderful pleasure to meet you!! We are very happy that we help you to enjoy your stay in Martinique and we really hope to see you once again here or somewhere else! Maybe in Italia!
Thanks too for your comment in Italian, sorry to not Answer to it in Italian....but My Italian Is very bad! Sorry!
Sunny greetings,
Julie and Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed in a studio with 'outdoor kitchen' with a superb view. We rented a car and we think that is a necessity to have a pleasant stay. The hotel location is quite remote from restaurants and supermarkets, so a car makes your stay much easier. The beach is public but in walking distance (5 minutes) and really quiet. The only suggestions we have (besides renting a car) is to bring your own towels, as housekeeping is every three days and you get only 4 towels as a couple. So bring your own beach towel (we bought it in the supermarket) and maybe some other towels for private use. During our stay we were attacked by mosquitos and some really tiny black flies, that made really itchy lumps. So we bought a mosquito net as well. But in general, we had a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

SUPERB - stayed 9 nights. Room very clean, nice view of sea and Diamant. We give it a 5 out of 5. This hotel is somewhat isolated and difficult to find but it's worth it. Quiet and secluded and a great staff. Somewhat limited in accessories which is typical of French hotels. Bring your own shampoo and wash clothes, etc. 240 voltage electricity. A very friendly orange cat which we tried to kidnap. Cricketts are noisy but enjoyable. If you like resort type atmosphere this isn't for you. It's not all inclusive but a real gem.

If you need directions to the hotel they are somewhat difficult and not even easy to follow on Google maps. From Fort de France (FDF) airport take the N5 south passed Lamentin, continue south toward Ducos, continuing south toward Three Rivers, and headed toward St. Luce. As you are about 6 km west of St. Luce you will see a large Windmill on the right side of the highway (known as the trunk road) named Three (Trois)Rivers Distillery. Continue about 1km on N5 until the turn circle and take an immediate right for about 2 blocks to a stop sign. Turn left and immediately back to the right. Follow the signs (difficult to see) until you reach the hotel.

And, by the way, St. Luce is a very enjoyable French setting with a few superb restaurants. Enjoy

Tim and Debbie Tilsworth
Fairbanks, Alaska

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and were quite pleased with Karibea Corail. We booked one of the smaller rooms which was adequate for two. All rooms have a great water and Le Diamant view. We really enjoyed the pool and our balcony, which had a small kitchen. Our room was clean and the air conditioning was excellent. We only took the breakfast offered by the hotel our first morning and then found a grocery store. The breakfast offered was good - just too much for our budget. We encountered a variety of staff members during our stay and all were willing to help, as much as they could in English. It really is essential to have some French vocabulary on Martinique.

There is not much near the hotel, as far as shopping or restaurants goes. We hired a car so it was easy to get into St. Luce or Trois Ilet. We did walk to Anse Mabouya, the closest beach to the hotel. It was okay but there are much nicer beaches nearby if you have a car.

In all, we would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for what you get for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

If you want to stay near St. Luce, this hotel is the perfect choice. All rooms have a water view. Most if not all have a beautiful view of Le Diamond. Anse Mabouya is within walking distance via a little trail. There are no facilities on this beach. The hotel staff was very friendly. The rooms were simple but clean. The cleaning staff comes only once every few days, so you need to pick up after yourself! The pool was quiet. Some large families arrived toward the end of our stay so the pool was somewhat overrun with children, but when there are so many beaches to sit on...who cares! (It's about a 25 minute drive to Grand Anse des Saline.) The grounds were well cared for. We really enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and eating area. Breakfast is served every morning for 11 Euros a person. But a short drive into St. Luce will present other options for dining. St. Luce was one of my favorite towns on the island. Such fun casual eateries. Make sure to enjoy the market along the water open every morning. This hotel is a great value. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corail Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corail Residence

Address: Anse Mabouya, Sainte-Luce 97228, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Sainte-Luce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sainte-Luce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Corail Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CORAIL HOTEL RESIDENCE overlooks the Caribbean sea above a magnificient white sand beach, the Anse Mabouya. The Residence is located in a very quiet environment with a splendid view of the sea and the famous Diamond Rock. The south of martinique is well known for its beautiful beaches and numerous water activities.The CORAIL Hotel Residence comprises 26 units distributed over two buildings. All the studios are equipped with: individual regulated air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Corail Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibea Corail Residence Sainte Luce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corail Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.