We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   172 Rue du Val Renand, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week stay in Les Carroz , our only complaint was that we had to leave. We have stayed at Les Fermes in summer 2006 and loved it. We always wanted to return and we were not disappointed. The facilities are superb, an indoor pool, jacuzzi,steam rooms , sauna etc.

If you are into the outdoors and walking this is the location for you.We had one of the large units which was ideal for six , with three seperate rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    88
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
150
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice appartment suite with a lot of services, in the center of a beautifull village. Shops are nearby theresidence. The Spa is a bit expensive. The swimming pool is enough large. The flats are cosy and not too tiny. And the bus station is in front of the reception which is very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lakes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a week here, and would like to share the good and not so good points. In terms of location, we found Les Fermes du Soleil really good - right in the centre of the village. The ski bus stops right outside and only takes 5mins to get to the telecabine. The ski lockers are also very handy.

The facilities were ok. The pool, sauna, relaxation room were all very nice, but the rules around children in the Jacuzzi are not enforced and we had to put up with screaming kids and ball games.

The reception/lounge area was simply odd. There are sofas around the fire, but you can't relax there over a drink! There is a dreadful drinks machine where you can pay 2 Euros for a coffee in a plastic cup. A glass of vin chaud by the fire was what we were expecting. The pictures on the P&V website make it all look a lot better than it is in reality.

Our apartment, for four people, was very small and only fit for two people really. The seating was very uncomfortable after a day on the slopes. We didn't have a great view - over a small car park and a wall, but could see a bit of a mountain. We asked to be moved but they were quite unhelpful and simply said they were full, but I wasn't convinced.

The apartment was not particularly clean - dishwasher filthy, ashtray full of cigarette ends outside on the balcony table, cobwebs in all rooms.

Overall this is a reasonable place, but not in terms of value for money. We stayed in an apartment 50 yards up the road last year, which was twice the size, had amazing views and yet cost less.

We won't return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place!! Only thing is the location isn't doorstep skiing, a short free bus ride takes you to the slopes so shouldn't be too much of a problem. Carrying skis and poles in ski boots up through the village is hell! Had a fab stay though x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from this residence, and there are good and bad points.
What did we think of the residence? We drove down, and it was an easy run from Eurotunnel. Traffic was bad, but we still arrived by 7.30pm ish. In our experience this is about the best time to arrive at P&V places; earlier than that and with the queues they come over all French and unhelpful. It was easy to find the residence, although the official directions wouldnhave taken you the wrong way up a one way street, so ignore them and follow the clear signs.
The receptionist was polite, but nothing more than that. We had to pay extra to use the safe (€21), which seems a shame. I phoned in advance to check parking; the lady told me that the price includes a parking space. Be aware that this is NOT the case. You need to book it in advance; it is covered and presumably secure but max clearance is 1.9m so no good if you have a 4x4 or a roof box (or both in our case!) It costs €60 for the week. There is a free open air car park 30 seconds walk away. Not secure of course, but we saw no signs of damage or theft all week.
No help to find the apartment - there are 5 (?6) chalets around a central area including a Spar and an ice rink. (Ice rink people are lovely, by the way; Spar is cheap, although the supply of croissants and pain au chocolat is variable). Pathways were, mostly, well salted, but even here in the Alps, you can't escape the ubiquitous French dog poos, just left to freeze in the middle of the paths.
I thought the apartment was actually very nice. I agree with other reviews that they are 'cosy' but have stayed in much smaller; we were 2 adults and 2 teen girls. There was a double bed with en suite sink and shower, and a twin room; separate toilet and main bathroom. I am 6'6" tall and weigh an amount that scales no longer calculate, but found that the bed was really comfortable, and the toilet door closed ok!! This hasn't always been the case with P&V.... My eldest daughter often finds hotel beds uncomfortable but she also couldn't fault the beds and pillows. There are lockers for the skis, but nowhere really to keep boots to dry, so they ended up cluttering the space in the 'lounge'.
The pool and spa is ok. €1 coin needed for lockers; rules about flip flops are not enforced; the jacuzzi was full of kids (it was half term week so no surprise, although disappointing - as all signs forbid children less than 15 on health risk grounds - to have small children snorkelling in there with you! Pool very pleasant, and although you have to mince through cold reception in swimming trunks the steam rooms and saunas were really nice.
So overall, nothing bad to say about the residences, except to say that a premium attitude to go with the premium price would be good.
So what about Les Carroz? You have to drive past the wonderful Portes du Soleil ski area of Les Gets and Morzine to get there, but not as far as Chamonix. It's easy to get up the mountain which is a plus. There are a few restaurants but when we tried we couldn't find a table anywhere as we hadn't booked, even at 6.45pm! We did book the wonderful Grill du Gron, and it was worth every penny.
I was disappointed by the reality after previous reviews described the good location of the residences. The walk to the ski lifts is a good 800m but would be all up a steep hill in the morning. The bus stops outside the residence, but then drives all around town picking up (not unreasonable, of course) but gets VERY crowded. The resort is totally dependent on these buses, and they are not nearly frequent enough in my book. If you miss one - in fairness the drivers did wait for people - then you are looking at another 20 mins on occasions.
On the first morning I had to queue flor 45 mins to get lift passes - do yourself a favour and get P&V to order it for you!
There is an escalator up to the lifts and then the 'whole' resort trying to get into the gondolas of a low capacity lift. There is an open chair there that we used instead, but it doesn't take you as high. I don't know what some previous reviewers are used to, but even on mornings where a bus arrived quickly, it can take up to ONE HOUR before you are actually skiing. I found that extremely frustrating. I took to walking back to the residence in the evening which was easy and just as quick as the circuitous and extremely claustrophobic bus.
The skiing in Les Carroz was very good; pretty runs set well for intermediate skiers. The pistes were not as well maintained as Three Valley areas. I don't think there is much to challenge anyone of an advanced tendency, but that's certainly not me! The wider pass is really necessary as we had skied pretty much everything in Les Carroz in a couple of days. The ski areas of Flaines to one side, and Sixt to the other are not well linked, and everything and everyone goes through one lift to Flaines and back, and a bus back from Sixt. The bowl around Flaines is great; there is a very long blue through the mountains for 14km from Flaines to Sixt (Les Cascades) which is well worth doing on a sunny day; there is then a bus back (big queues, be aware) to Samoens or Morillon to ski home.
Would I go again? If the residence were on the piste, then yes I would. The apartment was amongst the best I have used. But for me, this is about as far from ski in/ski out as its possible to get, and the buses are a deal breaker for me. Look at P&V Machu Pichu or Le Tikal in Val Thorens, and you'll see my point.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The resort of Les Carroz d'Arraches is a pretty, traditional village and great for families. The ski area is part of the Grande Massif, so plenty for everyone.
Booked a weeks stay during Christmas 2012 for 4 adults. The appartment was advertised as suitable for 4 people, however it turned out to be only suitable for 2 adults with 2 children! There was one main bedroom [barely adequate] and a second bedroom with 2 single beds. This 2nd room was so small that the beds protruded across the doorway restricting entrance/exit. [see picture] and we felt that this could be a hazard. There was little storage or hanging space for skiwear. We asked for a larger appartment but were told that there was nothing available and that in their opinion our appartment was suitable. Our disappointment increased when we visited the swimming pool.The disjointed layout of the pool, jacuzzi and fitness area meant that it was necessary to cross cold communal areas when passing from one area to another, plus you had the embarrassment of walking amongst fully clothed guests whilst only wearing swimwear. This would not have been so bad had we all been provided with dressing gowns but there were only 2 dressing gowns allocated to our appartment [another sign that the appt. was only intended for 2 adults], and P/V refused to issue any more. They also refused to give us towels for use within the pool area saying that we had to use the ones from the appartment. This was not our idea of "Premium" treatment!
We have been frequent P/V clients over the years and generally satisfied but in this instance their attitude was poor. Our view is that we would not return.

Room Tip: Don't rely on occupancy rating... choose a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Great intermediate resort. Very French, few Brits. Supermarket very close. Lots of good restaurants but expect to pay 25£ ph min. Little ice rink next door and nice pool, spa complex within residence. Watch height of vehicle if driving - they didn't mention the covered parking height restriction = 1.9m . Apartments are pretty and alpine style but TINY - we booked a 6 person for family of 4 and was still cosy. But no big deal if you're out skiing all day!

The lift is 20 min by bus. Buses very frequent and often stopped to pick us up so no hassle.

Do get the residence to get your ski pass in advance as the queue was 30 mins on Sunday morning.

Recommend for families with older kids who can carry their skis.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil

Address: 172 Rue du Val Renand, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic village resort in the heart of the Grand MassifA residence in the traditional architectural style, located in the centre of the lively villageA residence offering relaxation areas and ‘Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Pierre & Vacances, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes Du Soleil Hotel
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes Du Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil France/Haute-Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Fermes Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.