We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Le Palane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Le Palane
Save
You added Chalet Le Palane to your Saves list
2100 Route de Flaine, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at Chalet Le Palane with 7 friends last month, and i didn't want to leave! The picturesque chalet was ideal for our needs, which included constant hot water despite the full house. There was a free bus service to the slopes throughout the day and we were greeted home each afternoon with a different homemade cake (thank you Lexi!). Sean's cooking was amazing and after a 3 course meal each night it was hard to see how we'd be able to ski by the end of the week.
I'm sure there are many lovely places to stay in the Alps, but the wonderful hosts at Chalet Le Palane make this place extra special. There wasn't anything that was too much trouble - from helping us to arrange the ski/snowboarding hire and ski lessons to airport transfers.Sean and Lexi's knowledge of the Grand Massif is thorough and they even joined us on our penultimate afternoon for a 'family day' on the slopes when all 10 of us met up (snowboarders and skiers of all abilities alike) and Lexi made sure the novices weren't left behind!
If anyone is looking for a place to stay - this has got to be top of your list for comfort, relaxation, amazing views and the most laid back welcoming hosts ever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well, you'll not go hungry!
Sean cooks up a storm with some serious thought and love going into fantastic hearty food, and Lexi's cakes aren't to be scoffed at either!

A group of us stayed in February 2013 and loved the relaxed atmosphere at Chalet Le Palane which has great facilities: nice bedrooms, great boot room, and a big lounge with an open fire to relax in front of at the end of the day. Also seemingly endless hot water; even with big group of us staying.
The ski bus into Les Carroz leaves from just down the road for the lifts to the slopes. There's a wide range of slopes suitable for all levels of ability (some of us had good lessons from the ESI school) and its just ridiculously beautiful up in the mountains.

Sean and Lexi are marvellous hosts, nothing was too much trouble - from organising airport transfers to taking us into town to organise the ski and snowboarding kit not to mention rustling up great food at the end of every day.

All in all this was a great experience and thoroughly good for the soul. I massively recommend it.

Room Tip: Great views from the balcony of the front bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Not long back from my first ever skiing trip and what a way to begin. Chalet Le Palane has stunning views and is so cosy and comfortable. Everything was perfect- from the comfy bed to hot showers to logs on the fire. Sean and Lexi are probably two of the nicest people you could ever meet. The three course dinners every evening were superb and there was a home baked cake every day when we returned from the slopes. Lexi deserves an award for her patience with this novice skier on her first trip down a blue run!!!! Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Seven friends and I stayed with Sean and Lexi at the characterful Chalet Le Palane in January 2013. I have to say from start to finish they were amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble, the little extras really made the difference, like from arranging for the ski hire shop to stay open late on our day of arrival, running us to a fro to collect ski kit to giving us a lift up the valley to enable us to ski to the Le Carroz gondola station. The guys even joined us for a day skiing and boarding!!! As for the food, our a group has diverse tastes, but quite frankly Sean's cooking skills are out of this world and the entire group were blown away by the quality and quantity of food available. Lexi's freshly baked cake to accompany post ski tea/coffee were simply gorgeous. We are trying to arrange another trip this year, we simply couldn't find anything negative to say. The chalet is comfy and traditional with amazing views. Richard McC

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Another excellent stay in this friendly, comfortable, laid back chalet. Fantastic food as always, clean, comfortable warm rooms and limitless hot water but as everyone says, it's not really about the chalet, it's about the hosts. I can't think of what more to add tht the other reviewers haven't. Sean and Lexi manage to combine being almost horizontally laid back with exceptional organisational abilities so everything just runs smoothly and you can come away and eat, drink, and ski without a care in the world.

The only disadvantage is that it's a 10 minute bus ride to the slopes (bus stop 100m away, or half that if you yomp through the neighbour's garden to get to it!) but at least half of the time you can cadge a lift with Sean or Lexi as they are heading to or from town.

And once you are home there's no need to go out again - conviviality, good humour, excellent food and then the chance to rifle through Sean's itunes collection over another bottle of red...what more could one want?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Seven of us had a fantastic week at Chalet le Palane over New Year 2012/2013. Sean and Lexi gave us a great welcome (including lots of pre-arrival email exchanges). The chalet is a very good size compared to others we have stayed in with great views into the valley. The food was particularly special, with Sean and Lexi putting a huge amount of effort in, including a New Year's Eve banquet (with champagne) and a birthday cake for one of our party. There was continuous hot water and a huge log fire to curl up in front of while battling on the wii. As we were there early in the season with the lifts closing at 4 the bus service to the chalet was a bit limited. Other than that the skiing at les carroz and the linked resorts was great. We were particularly impressed with the chalet discount for ski hire which made that bill the best value for money we've seen. We would highly recommend Sean and Lexi!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First time to this chalet for me, but with friends who sang it's praises from 2012.
It didn't disappoint! Relaxed atmosphere, clean comfortable rooms, plenty of hot water and, as mentioned in other reviews, fantastic food of a high quality.
Great hosts Sean & Lexi did everything to make our holiday easier, even helping us out with ski / board hire in advance (from the very reasonably priced Garage du Ski down the road). They also dropped us off at the ski lifts a couple of mornings.
This is not a ski-in, ski-out chalet, but the free ski-bus stops about 50m down the road and delivers you to the main Gondola in Les Carroz (5-10 mins). Probably better for groups of friends in that respect rather than families with small children.
If you have your own car you can easily get to the Les Molliets chair lift by following the road up the hill from the chalet for 5 minutes. Queues seemed fairly non-existent there (no gondola) but you still access the same pistes as from Les Carroz.
Overall, a great find, but don't tell everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Le Palane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Palane

Address: 2100 Route de Flaine, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Le Palane, a comfortable alpine home away from home, with great cooking, a relaxed atmosphere and access to some of the most reliable snow in the Alps. The Grand Massif is France's 4th largest ski area with 265km of piste. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Palane France/Haute-Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Le Palane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.