We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chalet and skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Le Palane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Le Palane
Save
You added Chalet Le Palane to your Saves list
2100 Route de Flaine, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic chalet and skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent a quite excellent week's skiing in Les Carroz in March this year - and an even more excellent stay in Chalet Le Palane! Sean, Lexi and Mark were the perfect hosts, cooked up an absolute storm (I really couldn't stop myself from just one more spoonful...) and made sure everything ran beautifully smoothly. I've stayed in many chalets across the French ski resorts but this was by far the most homely, welcoming and relaxing. I won't hesitate in coming back next year or recommending anyone else to do so!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had a fantastic time staying at Chalet Le Palane. It was everything we could have hoped for and more..
We arrived on the early morning flight from Geneva and the short transfer time of 50 minutes from airport to resort meant that we were skiing by 1pm. Our hosts Mark and Sean quickly helped us sort out our rental gear from the nearby Garage du Ski and then drove us to the ski lifts.
The chalet was warm and comfortable and had a relaxed atmosphere where you instantly felt at home. Our double room was clean and spacious and had a balcony with stunning views. There was endless hot water for baths and showers.
Nothing seemed to much trouble for our hosts, Mark, Sean and Lexi. We had delicious cake and tea served to us when we returned from the slopes, the lemon drizzle being our particular favourite. The evening meals were all freshly prepared and were top restaurant quality, 3 courses and plenty of red or white wine.
There is a free ski bus stop just outside the chalet. The bus ride is 5 minutes into town and the ski lifts. The town has a selection of bars, restaurants and shops and has a lovely laid back feeling.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this chalet to anyone looking for the ideal place to stay. It was perfect in every way - and I am very fussy so its praise indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Well, what can I say. We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Chalet Le Palane.
It was ace and all that we had hoped for. Usually we stay in a hotel (on a package deal) and this was our first venture into a chalet holiday and it definitely wins hands down.
Our hosts Mark, Sean and Lexi could not do enough for us, from the first friendly welcome we knew we were onto a winner. They helped us sort lessons, transfers and ski hire and we were even able to ski that very afternoon. If we had been on the usual package deal we would have still been on the transfer bus!! The chalet itself is great, we had a large double room with great balcony, comfortable beds and a brilliant corner bath to relax in after a hard days skiing. The food was amazing starting with delicous cakes served in the afternoon, followed by a fantastic 3 course meal that would rival many a fancy restaurant. All washed down with tasty local wines. We had many a great evening, sitting round the large dining room table in delightful company.
If you are looking for a fantastic place to stay, where you will be thoroughly looked after then believe the reviews and look no further. We will be back!! Thank you Mark, Sean and Lexi you were ace.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Have just spent five blissful days at Chalet le Palane with a group of friends, which we can now extend to include our hosts Sean, Mark and Lexi.

The accommodation was excellent and had everything that our group needed including a very relaxed atmosphere- perfect for us as we had left the children behind! The food was all freshly prepared and skillfully crafted- there was a general request for many of the recipes that were served up, including an excellent chocolate brownie, carrot cake, and the Savoyard favourite, Tartiflette. They were also happy to cater for a fussy eater.

Beds were comfy and very welcome after a hard day on the slopes. Sean, Mark and Lexi were super hosts, with nothing seemingly too much trouble. They are happy to blend in to the background and let you get on with your own thing if that's what you want but we all got on so well that they happily joined us for meals and the evening, at our request!

The chalet and hosts worked really well for our group of adults but I would not hesitate to recommend the chalet for families and hope that we will be able to relive the experience in the not too distant future!!

Cheers guys.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

A home away from home... We arrived the day before our other 6 friends and received a very warm welcome, amazing food and a lift to the ski hire place so we could ski the very next morning.
The chalet is warm and cozy with a laid back atmosphere, endless hot water and loads of games! Mark and Sean were perfect hosts and we were lucky enough to benefit from Lexi's company and lemon drizzle cake.
The food is amazing, all home cooked from first principles and with love.
You can ski close to the chalet but if there is not much snow, the bus is only a 2min walk away, and Mark even walked us to the bus stop!!
Grand massif ski resort is enormous and the runs are great.. we'll be back( with even madder party games)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front ( double rooms) have a balcony and an awesome view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We are 3 middle aged men who like to snowboard with a bit of comfort,we've previously stayed at 4 star Austrian Hotels.and this 4 bedroom chalet was just as good. Plenty of hot water in the morning and night in large powerful showers, in clean bathrooms. The chalet has great views down the valley and is 1-2 mins walk to the ski bus.We found it easier to walk up the road 6 mins to pick up the piste which runs down to the main telecabin
The board/ski room has boot driers and radiators to dry your gear, the living area had a v large sofa around a log fire and English freeview tv for those all important footy matches..Meals as others have mentioned are so good you want to come back for cookery lessons ( check out the traditional italian and french cookbooks which are not just for decoration ).
This traditional chalet's icing on the cake are the Sean and Mark who look after your needs from sorting out hire ,passes, to memorable dinners.The bedrooms are spacious with plenty of storage for your clothes, watch out for the wooden beams, it is traditional after all .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just got back from Chalet Le Palane and had a thoroughly wonderful holiday. Two 40 something, year young men and our two 16 year old daughters.
All the pre organisation emails from Sean were prompt, concise and informative.
We arrived at Geneva late morning and with a prompt transfer 50 mins max from a previously recommended company (although I thought expensive at 75 Euros each return) we were at the Chalet for early afternoon.
Met our hosts Sean and Mark who drove us off to grab ski’s and boots from a very competitive Garage du Ski. (2 adults cost 189 Euros for intermediate/advance) Then ski passes and on the slopes by 2pm brilliant.
There is something for everyone on the slopes and very few queues, even in half term.
First time on Grand Massif and it has great snow and many miles of piste.
We were able to ski back to the chalet every evening but the last bit is cross country so may not be for everyone. A regular free bus service can take you to and from the slopes/centre should you wish.
The chalet is in an ideal location about 15 walk into town, very roomy and clean. Great views from balconies. Mark and Sean were great hosts, they have known each other from school. Very obliging for lifts and Sean came out with us a couple of days on his board. The food was wholesome and plentiful and just what you needed after a long hard days ski and the wine flowed. They really were very good hosts and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend for family or groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Le Palane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Palane

Address: 2100 Route de Flaine, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Le Palane, a comfortable alpine home away from home, with great cooking, a relaxed atmosphere and access to some of the most reliable snow in the Alps. The Grand Massif is France's 4th largest ski area with 265km of piste. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Palane France/Haute-Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Le Palane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.