We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again......!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grill du Gron

Grill du Gron
Route des Moulins, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
04 50 18 62 12
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Back again......!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visit Les Carroz regularly, summer and winter, and ALWAYS return to the Grill du Gron for the exceptional steaks!! Philippe presents the steaks for approval before cooking them on the open grill - he is quite a showman!! The restaurant is small (so booking is recommended) but has a great ambience and you are assured of a warm welcome! We will be back again.... and again....!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    32
    10
    1
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great steaks in great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had looked at tripadvisor and booked this little restaurant well inn advance. Great lillte rook with family atmosphere and a huge fireplace functioning as a grill. We selected to large bone-in steaks for two persons and was not dissappointed. Highly recommended and we hope to be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Marvellous meat, unusual setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We went, having read reviews expecting a meat feast and a special experience and that is what we got. We were five men on a skiing holiday wanting a steak night and Grill du Gron delivered. The food was fantastic, the room is very small and dominated by the open grill where the chef cooks your meal. We had cote du boef for five and it came perfectly cooked. Plenty of the house red and the meal felt like good value. The high stools are not great otherwise well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have returned to this Restaurant many times over the last few years. It has a wonderful atmosphere and we have always found the food to be of a high standard. The service is friendly and welcoming and I would never hesitate to recommend it. You do need to book during the high season.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a review I do not want to do. I love this place and without fail go here every time I visit the town. The high seats are not too comfortable but that's the only down side.
No point in telling you how unique this place is but when you have chosen your meat to see it being placed on the grill on the open fire is just amazing.
Please don't go here as I want to always be able to get a seat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill du Gron also viewed

Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 

Been to Grill du Gron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill du Gron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.