We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Chalet & Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Deux Freres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Deux Freres
Save
You added Chalet Deux Freres to your Saves list
96 Route De Grangettes, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Herts, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb Chalet & Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family group enjoyed a superb 5-day break at Skiology's excellent Chalet Deux Freres in the stunningly pretty, quiet, very French Les Carroz resort this Feburary. Deux Freres, perfectly located just 5 mins walk from the main Kedeuze gondola, was spotless, warm, comfortable and well-equipped. Great hospitality, and food/wine of excellent quality, were provided by our friendly, articulate chalet host, Sandy. Skiology's arrangements, for our Geneva transfers (<1 hour), ski-passes, and Skiset hire, worked well for a smooth trip that maximised our skiing.. Deep, fresh snow just before, and during our visit meantsuperb skiing across the beautiful tree-lined Les Carroz pistes, and the Massif pass connected ski villages of Morillion, Samoens, Sixt, with Flaine above. Most pistes and lifts were often near-empty without queing, except on a bright Sunday. Mountain restaurants/cafes were outstanding/good value, and the village a delight.
Owners Steph and Dom, friendly/helpful. throughout, have a great formula here. Really excellent!

Room Tip: Bedrooms all of decent size, differ only in bath/shower access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, Manager at Chalet Deux Freres, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it has made my week! Hope to see you again soon. Dom and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Seven days of heaven and our party are were not there to ski or snowboard. Just got back (Sunday 13th January)... what a fantastic week. Chalet Deux Freres is perfectly situated in the village for access to ski lifts, the centre of the village with its shops, bars restaurants bakeries etc. The Chelet is first class with a great cozy atmosphere. The hosts Sophie and Sandy were very professional, providing us with delicious meals, clean tidy enviroment, advice and support. These young people are high caliber individuals in their own right, so this mixed with Skiology's high level of professionalism gives a wow factor. Steph and Dom have created a business that commands respect, this was so obviously reflected in the way the local people and businesses treated us. We have not had a winter holiday like this before but we very much hope to be back..... this time with skis and snowboards. Don't be misled by this comment, we non skiers went to all the pistes and saw all the sights so do not be put off. WELL DONE SKIOLOGY. From Ian and Suzanne

Room Tip: Front of chalet with views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet Deux Freres, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Aw thanks Mr H. Really glad to hear you had a good time especially as a non-skier, well soon to be skier. Sophie and Sandy are absolute stars. Sorry that I did not get to see you this time. Thanks again for supporting what we do. Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day ski break in Les Carroz. Our stay in the Chalet Deux Freres made the trip extra special. Dom and Steph ( ably assisted by Gid ) were superb hosts - every request and query was facilitated and dealt with in a positive way. The chalet was comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. Breakfasts were great, with Gid's porridge my fuel for the day, and the evening meals were prepared with amazing attention to detail and to a very high standard.
Steph and Dom have a passion for their business which is very obvious.
The chalet is a short walk to the cable car and there are quick ways to almost ski home

Room Tip: Request en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Little to add to previous reviews - high standard of service from owners who have a commitment to excellence. Catering very good, varied, fresh/local ingredients, imaginatively cooked.
Dom, Steph & Gid could not have done more to help out during a 3 day ski break - in fact went well beyond what I would normally expect. Less than 5 minute walk to lifts, similar into small (busy) village centre.
Interesting ski area(s) ; 3/4 days possibly enough for active skiers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day skiing break staying in chalet deux freres in les Carroz. Dom, Steph and Gideon were wonderful hosts, providing great food and ski hire, passes etc. looking after our every need in a most unobtrusive way. It definitely deserves the 5 stars previous reviewers have given.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Having stayed here last year in a group of 9 women, I was keen to return. The chalet was better than my memory! We were 12 this year, and the 3 extra fitted in without any problem. The food was delicious and plentiful, the chalet warm and comfortable, the hosts relaxed and friendly, and the skiing superb. Great break!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Having just returned from a weeks holiday skiing in Les Carroz, Chalet Deux Frere was the perfect chalet with a very short walk to the bottom of the ski lift taking you to the Grand Massif. Snow conditions were perfect, as was the hospitality received by Dom, Steph and Gid. Gid was also our transfer driver who picked us up from the airport, we felt incredibly safe with him. The food was outstanding with three courses and as much wine as you wanted, every meal became a favourite! Having a very comfortable and hard to beat bed at home, is one of our worries when going on holiday however there was no need to worry with Skiology, the beds were very comfortable and with luxury cotton bedding making them all that more inviting. Each morning the clinking of your cup of tea, coffee or hot chocolate being placed outside your bedroom door would wake you up, encouraing you to get up for breakfast which wasnt a struggle as a variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread and preserves, boiled eggs, porridge and another different hot option each day such as pancakes or french toast were yummy, a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Deux Freres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Deux Freres

Address: 96 Route De Grangettes, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built when only the best plots were available. 200M from the telecabine. The closest catered chalet in Les Carroz to the telecabine and just a short walk from the centre of the village. Deux Freres has guests coming back time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Deux Freres France/Haute-Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Deux Freres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.