We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total lack of customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vignola Assisi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vignola Assisi to your Saves list
Hotel Vignola Assisi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Bernardino da Siena, 23, 06088 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total lack of customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I am really surprised about other comments about the "friendly hosts". These were the most unwelcoming people I have ever met in all my trips. Their lack of understanding of how to run a hotel is beyond belief. The front door is often locked during the day and nobody is manning the desk. The owners live on the first floor and think that they can manage the place by "staying at home". The check-in is at 2 pm but we got there at 12 from the airport, under the rain with two small kids. We thought we would leave the bags and go for lunch and check in later. The front door was locked, nobody answering the buzzer: in the end I had to ring them on my mobile to have them to come down. The lady welcomed us with a grunt and we got told off straight away: "Don't you know that the check-in is at 2pm?"...
The breakfast is cheap and sad and the owner constantly points out "one croissant per guest"!
The family room was OK for a two-star: spacious and clean. The owners felt necessary to stress the local tourist board regulation about the frequency of change of towels and linen, so several little signs were attached everywhere reminding you that, if you left towels on the floor, or needed clean ones more often than every two days you would get charged for it.
On our last day we needed to leave the bags in deposit after the checkout as we had a mid afternoon flight and we wanted to do more sightseeing. We had to explain the in and outs of our plans, the fact the we did not have a car etc for them to reluctantly accept to look after our bags. I just said we will be back, say, around 2 to get them. We got there at 2.30pm, front door locked, no one answering the bell. In the end the lady came out of the balcony just hissing "Ah, the bags". Coming down she just added "You are late". Maybe I disturbed her majesty during her afternoon nap....
In summary, good location (but it is full of alternative hotels) and reasonable room. In the other hand, my worst customer experience in many years of travelling.

Room Tip: Try a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

on the positive side....Hotel Vignola was clean and warm, well located and very inexpensive. Our host also gave us an excellent suggestion about where to dine.

The other side... The promised wi fi was not in the room as promised, but only in the lobby. Hot showers were very nice, but not always hot. Breakfast offerings were packaged lo quality breads & very poor coffee.
Worst of all... there were three of us, independent sorts. We could only have one room key... and there was no one at the desk most times, so we could not leave a key there for each other. Also, it was like pulling teeth to get a map out of our "reluctant hosts".

Room Tip: I dont know. We were'nt shown other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel just a short drive from the centre of Assisi. Our room was clean,warm and extremely comfortable (March 2013). The young man who welcomed us was friendly and helpful though he did not speak English. The hotel delivered good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It was the perfect small hotel in the center of town - close to the train station and Santa Maria Degli Angeli. The landscaping was lush and welcoming and the decor was quaint, homey and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. We really enjoyed ourserlves!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This hotel is not near Assisi proper, about a 15-20 minute drive up the hill. Our room was in the basement which seemed bad at first. However, since it was very hot during our visit I think we had one of the cooler rooms. No air conditioning is available, just a tiny fan. The owner is a surly older Italian woman, she watched her staff like a hawk. Only one employee spoke ANY English, she was a gem but was not always around. Breakfast was adequate and the room was spotless. The shower is tiny and they were very stingy with soap and shampoo. One day we returned about 2:00 PM to the hotel, couldn't rise anyone to get in, apparently the owner was taking her afternoon nap. Even the maid could not get in. So I would not really call this a hotel, maybe more on the order of a hostel. There were a couple of decent restaurants within walking distance. I would not recommend this hotel if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

This is a beautiful small hotel in the very centre of Santa Maria Degli Angeli. Very close to the very interesting Town of Assisi. Ideal location for the airport for flights from the UK.The Hotel is spotlessly clean and very friendly. Has the advantage of a very helpful english receptionist. Will definitely use this hotel again when I'm in the area. A very quiet and restfull hotel after a days work.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vignola Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vignola Assisi

Address: San Bernardino da Siena, 23, 06088 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vignola Assisi 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, hospitable, comfortable, and well kept, is run personally by the owner. The structure is handicapped-accessible. Private parking area. Recently built, the hotel is about 2 km from Assisi and is connected by regular bus service. The Hotel Vignola is set in a tranquil atmosphere, surrounded by a large garden, and situated in an ideal position for visiting Umbria and reaching its main art towns such as: Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio, Spoleto, Cascia, Norcia, Todi, Orvieto, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vignola Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vignola Assisi Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vignola Assisi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.