We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of "patchwork" Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cenacolo to your Saves list
Hotel Cenacolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Patrono d'Italia 70, 06088 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Rogersville, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely view of "patchwork" Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice clean hotel. No free wi-fi unfortuantely. Breakfast was very basic continental breakfast. Nice location for exploring Assisi. A clock in the room would be quite helpful. We would definitely return to the Hotel Ora Cenacola if we return to this area of Italia!

Room Tip: Ours was a very nice,quiet garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    128
    40
    8
    13
See reviews for
68
145
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zuerich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Cenacolo San Francesco is a recommended place if you want to have a conference gathering and focus on your topic. It is modern, functional, and staff is excellent and helpful in all respects. Only for dinner, I'll go to a restaurant nearby, or in the Assisi town. Breakfast and lunch was good, and coffee served for free (I mean the real coffee, not the brown stuff usually served at breakfast). The courtyard was very nice for breaks and breakout sessions; the meeting rooms functional. WiFi was free, as expected for a business place, but very slow. there were amazingly many groups visiting Assisi stopping by; however you never had to wait. Despite they're quite new, it's well organized.

Also noteworthy: It's very near to the station from where trains go to Rome, Firenze, Perugia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here early September the position of the hotel was very good it was close to the centre and all amenities. The room was a little tired looking but was clean. We had a balcony but the patio window did not open. We had breakfast which was good but we ordered another coffee and they charged us for them.t
This hotel is close to the airport.

But a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Close to Perugia airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in Italy with a group. We had 13 rooms, and loved our stay at this hotel!!!! The fact that it used to be a monastery was great for us, as the group was on a religious pilgrimage! We could celebrate Mass in our own hotel, not in any room, but in a beautiful chapel!!!! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was GREAT, the food was wonderful!!!!! On the day we arrived, some of the group wanted to go ahead into Assisi and they found it was just a short bus ride away! The staff were very helpful to me, as our bus driver did not speak English (or German - two languages I am fluent in), and I did not speak much Italian!!!! The ambiance of the hotel is so peaceful! I can highly recommend it! I own a travel agency in the Midwest and I will recommend this hotel - and I will be back next time I visit Assisi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is located a short bus ride away from Assisi. It was very clean and breakfast was good. However, it is very modern with minimal furnishing and a stark feeling. First time I have ever seen a church inside a hotel, though. The courtyard was very pretty, but was being used for a convention function while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice, clean, new modern hotel. Had tea and breakfast there, both times very good. Nice view to courtyard from room, airconditioning is really good as Assisi was very hot. Staff were nice and friendly. We're given welcome drink of champagne and nibbles. Had to pay for wifi, even though they advertise it as free. They changed 5 euros for the night for wifi. Would stay again, but maybe they should give free wifi like 99% of the worlds hotels do.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rooms were minimal but clean and comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Good base for visiting Assisi, which was amazing. First time we have seen fireflies in hotel car park!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Address: Viale Patrono d'Italia 70, 06088 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is a structure created from the accurate and careful renovation of an old Franciscan convent, located in Santa Maria degli Angeli, a short distance from the Porziuncola of St. Francis.The wonderful atmosphere of the place, a beautiful view of Assisi, the wide green spaces that call for reflection and the functionality and efficiency of the Hotel Cenacolo guarantee a perfect stay, suitable to the needs of all target customers (men, tourists, businessmen, families, groups, meetings). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli
Hotel Cenacolo Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cenacolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.