We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cenacolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cenacolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Patrono d'Italia 70, 06088 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The best hotel I stayed in Italy. The room was amazing, super clean and modern. The staff was very kind. And food was delicious. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitly go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    126
    37
    9
    13
See reviews for
62
134
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Igualada, Spain
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel is not in Assisi, but this is not a problem if you have a car, as it is a 5' drive to Assisi. It seems a new hotel, and it was not expensive (€60 for a double room, maybe february rates?). The best surprise was that we found bacon and scrambled eggs in the breakfast buffet, and that's not common in Italy. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

When I was looking for a hotel to stay in Assisi this one was not in my list because 1 thing: This is not located in Assisi, this is about 2 or 3 miles away (5 minutes car driving). After a more detailed look I choose this one (thanks God, I'll explain below). The hotel is the nicest I've stayed in Italy 'till now: nice Staff, nice and modern room, good price, good breakfast, free internet, calm, quiet and brand new -- seems like they just built it.

About the location: For the ones that does not know the place (just like me) we use to think that it is a plus to stay directly on the city of Assisi, this is very wrong. Assisi is a medieval city with small and very tiny streets among a lot of hills and very few (almost none) place to park in the middle of the city. All the hotels over there are really small and adapted to fit the buildings from 800 years ago (the whole city cannot be touched because this is a unesco world patrimonial). When arriving at the city, you can park at the entrance of it, just near the San Francesco Basilica for 10 Euros a day (or get a cab for around 6 euros) and start walking from there. There are lots of places to visit and 98% of them is just at walking distance. The only time I needed the car again was to go to the church of San Damiano (the original church of San Francesco) which is located a couple miles away from the city.

Pros: brand new, modern rooms, nice staff, good breakfast, free internet.

Cons: found none.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

10 min walk from train station & easy 15 ish min by bus to main Assisi town on the hill.
Hotel is clean, modern and spacious with good sized bathroom. Nice little inner courtyard & plenty of car parking if you're driving (which we weren't).
Breakfast was the best we'd had in our stay in Italy but felt the head guy at breakfast was always watching when we went up for seconds!!
Girls on reception we encountered were lovely but the guy was a little cold.
Check out the church on the other side of the train tracks, well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this hotel not knowing that Santa Maria degli Angeli was such an important place for pilgrims (off course we could have known just looking at the name). But it wasn't a bad thing! The hotel is an old monastery completely renovated to high standards you expect nowadays from a 4* hotel. Room was of normal size and bathroom had an rain shower. You can see the hotel is still quite new, because of the nice design. Breakfast overall was nice, but on Sunday morning all the family that had stayed over from the wedding that night before, caused there was not so much left after they started eating. Later on the waiters luckily brought nice cakes & bread. Overall a nice stay in a lovely area with Assisi just "around the corner".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel is nicely designed with the exterior brick in keeping with the surrounding area and new/modern interiors without being too modern. The large courtyard in the center of the hotel is an inviting and nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. This hotel is a good option if you have a car since it is easily accessible and offers plenty of parking. It can be difficult to find hotels in Assisi or Perugia with easy access by car since they are hilltop towns and some areas in town are for pedestrians only.
The room at the hotel was impeccably clean, with a comfy bed & good size bathroom. Breakfast was generous with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee,etc.

The only small problem was that I had to keep asking the reception staff to turn on the AC in my room. There is a control in the room but the main power seems to be controlled by the front desk so the AC kept blowing hot air until I informed the reception desk and they then switched it on; I had to ask on 3 separate occasions. Also, the computer in the lobby offering free internet is very slow so couldnt even use it and the reception staff said they couldnt do anything about the connection.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here as a mid-point stop between Rome and Venice, and absolutely fell in love with the hotel which is at the bottom of the hill from Assisi, a charming little town I didn't want to leave! The hotel breakfast was superb, staff extremely accomodating, free internet, gorgeous courtyard area. I imagine it was low season because there were not alot of guests, to the point it felt a little creepy at times. We drove up the hill to the quaint town of Assisi where the locals were all very authentic, the roads steep and cobbled, but quite the fantastic Umbrian views and many beautiful churches to explore. The room at the hotel was impeccably clean, the bathroom felt luxurious and grand. We loved every second of it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Address: Viale Patrono d'Italia 70, 06088 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is a structure created from the accurate and careful renovation of an old Franciscan convent, located in Santa Maria degli Angeli, a short distance from the Porziuncola of St. Francis.The wonderful atmosphere of the place, a beautiful view of Assisi, the wide green spaces that call for reflection and the functionality and efficiency of the Hotel Cenacolo guarantee a perfect stay, suitable to the needs of all target customers (men, tourists, businessmen, families, groups, meetings). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli
Hotel Cenacolo Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cenacolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.