We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples beware!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Paradiso Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Paradiso Village to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Paradiso Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Fratelli Rosselli 5, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Couples beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked our summer holiday here based on various sources, not just the Inghams brochure. Our experience did not meet our expectations on many counts. But there were many positive aspects as well. Particularly good is the hotel’s location near the railway station and the old town.
When we arrived, we received a nice welcome at reception from Giovanna, who was always friendly and helpful during our stay. We were very happy with our room, which was very clean and airy, with French windows and a lovely view out over the village centre and the beautiful lake. The bathroom was clean with shower and a bidet although the power of the shower was variable. The rooms are well air-conditioned.
The food was also excellent; there was always a great selection of antipasti, followed by soup if desired, first course consisting of a choice of pastas and risotto, second course with various meats and sides and then a pudding buffet with one of the choices being fresh fruit such as watermelon. We were looked after particularly well in the restaurant by Andrea and Paolo who were ever so friendly and efficient. Also of mention is Stani, one of the chefs, who was always jolly and passionate about his food. The house wines and beer were nice. There was the same offering at lunchtime unless you order a packed lunch the night before, which consisted of filled rolls, peach juice, bottled water, fruit and a croissant.
Unfortunately, that is where the praise ends. The hotel is not to be recommended for couples, contrary to the hotel's own brochure which indicates it is ideal for such guests. If you are a family with young children, it would be ideal.
The outdoor pool area was a big problem. The Inghams brochure clearly advertises a separate children's pool and the hotel brochure supports this notion, specifying a SEPARATE adult pool and a SEPARATE children's pool. This is very much NOT the case. Children were running around, jumping in and playing ball games in the adult pool all the time, with the lifeguard doing nothing about it. These were specifically forbidden by the rules laid out by the hotel so we saw little point to the hotel having written any rules. It was also difficult to get anywhere to sit by the pool as guests had been up early to reserve loungers, another thing forbidden by the hotel's 'rules'.
Another area of issue for us was the bar. The hotel brochure advertises a 'pleasant' bar area, but unless your idea of 'pleasant' is a loud children's disco in the open plan room adjoining the bar which includes such irritating songs as Agadoo and a Pizza Hut to name just two, all evening, every evening, the bar certainly does not fall into this category. Both the Inghams brochure and the hotel's own also advertise a 'Piano Bar', but their idea of such a thing is a giddy young woman sat on a high chair doing nothing more than karaoke. There was no 'piano' and it was not in a 'bar'.
We addressed numerous issues to the useless manageress of the hotel, Norma, who quite simply could not give two hoots. She was continually defiant and in no way sympathetic. Also if you are travelling with Inghams, don't expect the rep., Jeni, to be of any help at all and make sure you ask for the welcome drink which is mentioned under Inghams Plus in the brochure!
These were the major points over our stay and I must stress that we did indeed enjoy our holiday overall, but we will certainly not return to this hotel and could certainly not recommend it to other couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    84
    47
    27
    12
See reviews for
96
53
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here if you are a couple looking for a peaceful holiday, teaming with families with children who run around until late, food distinctly average and no where near four star quality, very very disappointed, screaming kids in alleged adult pool so no swimming at all whilst parents over indulge on the free booze, most staff friendly and helpful, only plus was seeing Anita who was a waitress at Antico Borgo last year which deserves a higher star rating compared to this, left unimpressed and out of pocket, not what it said in the brochure and will be complaining to Inghams

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this as a package deal with Inghams and overall was very pleased with the hotel and the location of Passignano sul Trasimeno. I stayed for 2 weeks from mid- to end of June 2013 and thought that the staff were excellent, always willing to help and "go the extra mile" (I am Coelic/Gluten-intolerant and not only did they provide many gluten-free dishes as standard but would prepare special pasta etc on request). Much of the food was served buffet style which provided lots of variety and choice and the standard was good.

The Inghams deal was "all-inclusive" which meant lunch or packed-lunch were included and also soft-drinks or wine/beer available from 1000-2200 hrs each day. Never having been all-inclusive before, I was a little wary that this might lead some clients to over-indulge or encourage kids to leave half-finished drinks lying around etc. However, I was pleasantly surprised to observe that all the guests respected the facilities and fellow clients, and this arrangement was a real bonus for holiday budgeting!

Passignano is well situated in terms of visiting nearby sites in Umbria and Tuscany...Inghams organised worthwhile trips to Siena (my favourite) & San Gimignano, Montepulciano & Pienza, and Cortona but Florence, Assisi and Perugia can all be easily accessed independently by train too. Also, there is a frequent ferry service to Isola Maggiore and other lakeside villages.The hotel provided free bike hire (there are easy lake-side cycle tracks) and for walkers there are lots of trails with splendid views (once you've made the 50 min climb to the ridge!).

My room was fine but some couples/families might consider wardrobe space a little limited. The swimming pools were lovely and the surrounding gardens offered beauty, charm and shade. When I visited (in June) the pool was never too crowded, but I suspect it may get busy once the children are on holiday from school?

So, overall I thoroughly enjoyed both my holiday in Passignano and the Hotel Villa Paradiso, for whom the manageress deserves special mention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilvoorde
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed for 1 week in July and overall it was OK. The rooms was ok but not very tidy. The food was good, there was a lot of choice. Animation for kids OK. The hotel is very well situated to visit Sienna, Perugia, Montepulciano, Firenze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited for two weeks from end of August. We probably went a little too early as school children were still there and the first week was rather noisy/busy. Not all children are well behaved and did run around in the dining room and around the seating outside of an evening.

The food was average, but we are fussy and everyone else seemed to be piling their plates high. You can order packed lunch if you are going out. Hotel is very clean and rooms were adequate. Staff are all very nice, friendly and helpful. The Inghams rep Dany is very pleasant and will go the extra mile for her guests.

The area is great for visiting the Tuscancy and Umbrian areas. The local trains are super and you can get about to a great many towns on your own should you wish to do so. The trips organised by Dany for Inghams are very interesting. We really enjoyed Sienna and Cortona visits with Inghams.

All in all a nice setting for getting out and about and having a quiet holiday in a typical Italian area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked 3 rooms through booking.com which were 1 x triple room and 2 x 4 beds as at the time of booking they did not have 4 double rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we found the 2 x 4 person rooms consisted of 1 double room and a sofa bed that extended into a bunk bed of metal where 2 adults of over 100 kg were supposed to be sleeping. The false information is that these are family rooms for 2 adults and 2 children and not for 4 adults.To go to the top of the bunk bed you had to go up a steel ladder that wobbles and the lower bed nearly touches the floor. We complained that we had booked rooms for 4 adults and the bunk bed is not a bed for 2 adults for people over 50 years old. We were provided with another 2 rooms with double beds however they refused to refund us the difference we had already paid on booking.com for 4 adults in each room. Therefore these rooms costed us double the price. What a rip off. they said they were not responsible. They are responsible as they are giving false information on their website by saying that these bedrooms are sufficient for 4 adults. When i asked to speak to the manager they refused to bring him or her forward to discuss the problem. this is not a hotel you can depend for a pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you book for more than 2 persons are sufficient as they are renting these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolettaBarberi, Assistenza Clienti at Hotel Villa Paradiso Village, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We would like to apologize about the discomfort you have suffered during your stay however, we would like to clarify some points as regards the situation.
In the website where you booked the rooms, is clearly specified that the quadruple room is furnished with one double bed and one bunk bed with a standard size. At the check in you claimed about the accommodation and We have proposed you to change the 2 quadruple rooms (each for 4 people), that you’ve originally booked, into 2 quadruple room (occupancy 2 people per room) and 2 double room (occupancy 2 people per room) with a small supplement for the 2 double rooms in addition. The supplement for the double rooms was immediately communicated by our hotel staff and you accepted our proposal.
We also confirm that our information are complete and truthful because the quadruple room was correctly described with one double bed and one bunk bed. However, We are really sorry that you didn’t appreciate the hotel, but We have done our best to resolve the situation.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay overall. The staff were pleasant and helpful - no not all of them could speak English (why should they - we were in Italy!) but they would try to help and/or get someone else. The hotel is a family hotel so yes if you want a quiet stay this is not the best choice though all the children were well behaved and the activities were well organised. There are not enough sunbeds or outdoor tables for the number of guests though the staff do their utmost to ensure that thoughtless guests don't monopolise these by reserving them with towels etc while busy doing something else. The buffet meals had plenty of choice and everything was well cooked and well presented. We had either lunch at our reserved table or a packed lunch though this may be part of the Inghams package. Two of us are vegetarians and we had no problem finding things to eat at the buffet tables though obviously vegetarians always have some lack of choice. The free bar was a bit of a bonus and we found the coffee from the machine very palatable for machine coffee. Perhaps our only negative comment here would be that there were no sugar free drinks in the soft drinks containers but there was still or sparkling water. The free red and white wine was of course house wine but was of a reasonable quality. Cleaning of rooms was very good and the rooms were of a decent size. The town was pleasant and was a good base from which to use the very good local transport to see places like Assisi and Florence. Overall the hotel was good value for money and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Paradiso Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paradiso Village

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 5, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Paradiso Village 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Paradiso Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Paradiso Village Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Paradiso Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.