We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility combined with quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kursaal Umbria to your Saves list
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Europa, 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Granada, Spain
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Tranquility combined with quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Loved this hotel's location. If you are a fisherman or tow your own boat around it could not be bettered. Our room had stylish decor, a very comfortable bed and was located on the 2nd Floor. The small balcony overlooking Lake Trasimeno was the icing on the cake when it came to unwinding and indulging in a home made gin and tonic whilst watching the sun disappear behind the green rolling Umbrian hills in the distance. The ample breakfast was certainly sufficient to see us through the day no problem.

The staff were all helpful and attentive. The restaurant offered fresh local ingredients in all their dishes and dinner we enjoyed on sadly one and evening there was to be highly recommended. A 3 course meat or fish selection was the choice my wife and myself decided to go for and both of us agreed that it was one of the highlight meals of our 15 day tour of central Italy. Pork loin carpaccio with celery, Pecorino cheese and broad bean ravioli with cherry tomatoes and basil, Roast suckling pig with rosemary potatoes was the servings for the meat menu. I opted for the Fried whiting,Potatoes gnocchi with smoked tench and finished with Lake caught perch fillets in Sangiovese sauce accompanied by a vegetable pie. At this was washed down at the highly efficient and knowledgeable maitre d' Bruno's suggestion, of a a local Magione produced red wine and it proved to be the ideal accompaniment. One very large portion dessert of a fruits of the forest meringue, drlzzled with fresh cream and ice cream on the side which had to be shared between us as it was all we could manage at this stage before finishing with the liquor coffee. Total price for a 1st class dining experience was €76 including 2 large bottle of water and IVA tax. We consider this to be great value for money and would recommend anyone in the vicinity of Lake Trasimeno to seek out this restaurant. Tables were limited on the evening we dined because of all the caravan owners dining there, that tells you something about self catering holidays if nothing else!

Room Tip: Request top floor lake view room. Book dinner in lake restaurant before you arrive if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an amazing surprise for us to receive your review...words cannot express our thanks! Our proposal is to do the best for our guests, and knowing that everything for you was perfect, make us very happy!
We really, really hope to meet you again in the future!

Meanwhile, we send you our best regards!
Bruno and all the Kursaal staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    73
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
177
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel, and Passignano, and could not have enjoyed our stay more. We thoroughly enjoyed our bright and spacious bedroom in the attic. The staff, especially Bruno, Carlo, Sara and Sharon were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate every evening in the restaurant, enjoying the food, wine tasting and view of the lake. The surrounding campsite seemed a little odd at first, but the warmth and comfort of the hotel and its staff quickly compensated. Hiking in the surrounding hills is excellent and the lakeside bike path is worth exploring. We really appreciated being picked up and dropped off at the train station (hotel is fair ways away), and to the start ok a hiking trail .... staff went above and beyond our expectations in this regard.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Responsabile reception at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for all your kind and gentle words! It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the Kursaal! We really hope to meet you again in the future!

With our best regards!
Sharon, Bruno and all the Kursaal Staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After 5 years with our camper on the campingsite with the spectacular view on the lake Trasimeno and the perfect sanitairy, we stayed for the first time in the hotel, because we have sold our camper. These 5 days were more then exceptional!!!!!
Room, food, every evening 4 courses choice between fish or meat, every evening different regional wines, breakfast, a very heartly service, view on the lake, and last but not least at a price in spring which is elsewhere in Europe not to achive with this quality. And the presence of a small nice village, which you can reach by car or by bike, or even in 20 minutes by foot along the lake.
In the neighbourhood are known historical cities such as Cortona, Perugia, Assisi, all within 1/2 our by car or by train [max 1 h].
And with nice weather you can make a trip with the boat on the lake.
Or just enjoy the terrace with the swimmingpool [open from half may] and the beautiful garden.
Thank you Bruno, Carlo and all the others!!!!!

Room Tip: most of the rooms have lake-view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Responsabile reception at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your review! It makes us happy to know that everything was perfect for you!

We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again next year!
Kind Regards!

Bruno, Carlo and all the Kursaal staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in Kursaal Hotel four days in April 2013 and enjoyed a lot.
Very good place for journey around Umbria and south Toscana. It’s situated not far from the autostrada, but the place is peaceful and picturesque.
We have absolutely no problem, everything was good. The Rooms was big enough, tidy and comfortable. Very friendly staff. They gave us some good advices about sightseeing. The restaurant Kursaal is very, very delicious!! Strictly recommended :)!
It was a perfect start our trip in Umbria and Toscana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This campingsite on the Hotel grounds was recommended to us and we decided to give it a try.
We stayed with our oldtimer caravan the first two weeks of september and had a nice location near the lake. The plots are big enough.
The plots near the lake are a lot smaller but you have a spectaculair view on the lake. With bad weather however you are not protected from storm or wind there.

The combination of campingsite and Hotel works well for us. It was like camping in a park with good facilities nearby. The restauarant was excellent although not cheap. Free WiFi around the hotel was a big Plus for us and certainly extended our stay.
Many Italian hotels or campings ask 2 Euro for one hour and 3 Euro for two hours WiFi use.
We select campingsites, restaurants etc on free WiFi.

Acros the street is a Pizzeria with great Pizza's, also for take away. When we ate there, lots of things were added to the bill, like using knife and fork and bread we did not ask for or touched.
Take away is the cheapest and again, it is very good food!

There is a beach, but we did not swim in the lake because of the many plants and the muddy bottom. We preferred the swimming pool where we could swim without the silly caps that are mandatory in many italian swimming pools. plenty of lounge chairs, benches and places to relax are available on the Hotel grounds.

The staff is very friendly and kind and appreciate it when you try your best to speak italian.
A small market is available for day to day items, a supermarket is not very far away in the village.
We visited Perugia (park below and take the elevators or escalators to the center on top of then hill) and a lot of small pittoresk villages. They are all great!

The frequently passing train did not bother us and the sound was not disturbing. We slept well.

Room Tip: Plots near the hotel are within the WiFi range. Plots near the water have great views but no prote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damme, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

If a hotel manager stands out in kindness and hospitality, and you can feel the same attitude in every staff member from the room maid to the restaurant waiter and the breakfast lady, then you know that your in a very well run place. Over many years we have stayed in hunderds of hotels. This place stands out in every aspect (in it's own class). Rooms are nice and clean, restaurant is very good, service (owner and all staff member) is outstanding!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Revisited this hotel in September. Just as good as before. Restaurant food even better especially if you like fish and sea food - nicely prepared to order and attractively presented by very helpful pleasant staff. Another very nice holiday with lots of places to visit nearby. Great location!
Bruno and his amazing team make sure every visitor have an excellent time.

Room Tip: Ideally you need a lake view to fully enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much to have choosen again our hotel! We are glad to know that everything was perfect for you...we hope to see you again next year! From me, Bruno, and from all the Kursaal Staff, our best regards for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kursaal Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Address: Via Europa, 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Umbria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kursaal is your opportunity for a pleasant holiday on the shores of Lake Trasimeno, surrounded by green hills, enjoying a warm welcome and delicious cuisine, a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque village of Passignano and close to the most important heritage cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Umbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kursaal Umbria Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kursaal Umbria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.