We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming family run hotel with lakeside view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kursaal Umbria to your Saves list
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Europa, 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming family run hotel with lakeside view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Kursaal for 3 nights in September to attend a wedding nearby. This is a 3* hotel so no luxury, but the rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was a little dated and could probably do with a refit but was perfectly adequate. As a party of 4 we had 2 rooms, a twin & a double on the first and second floors, both with small balconies with a side view of the lake. The rooms were spacious with plenty of storage and a safe. We did however have a problem with the air conditioning in one room, in that it didn’t work and was therefore exceptionally hot and stuffy…….even though we asked for it to be fixed it wasn’t.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the lakeside, surrounded by trees. Just be sure to coat yourself with lots of anti-mosquito spray, being so close to the water there are swarms of them! It is a very peaceful and relaxing setting. The hotel grounds also serve as a campsite but this was no problem at all and in no way spoilt our stay here as other reviews have suggested. There is a lovely clean pool (divided into 2 smaller pools one with a slide to enter….fun even in your mid twenties!) with plenty of sun loungers. There is also a jacuzzi though a charge of 2 EURO to use it, I was disappointed this was not complimentary to hotel guests.

Breakfast was good – standard continental selection of croissants, cereals, cake, bread, meats and cheeses, juices – all very fresh and tasty. We had lunch on our first day, food was delicious (can recommend the roast suckling pig) and enjoyed out on the terrace. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant on our last night, couldn’t believe how busy it was so glad we reserved a table. We opted for the menu of the day, offering a choice of typical local dishes, which was good value (20 – 25 EUR for 3 courses) and again the food was delicious.

The other charm of this hotel has to be it’s staff – they were all incredibly welcoming and friendly, a real family atmosphere.

We didn’t really explore the village of Passignano other than an afternoon trip to explore the ceramic shops and indulge ourselves with an ice cream, but it is a picturesque touristy town which some nice looking restaurants.

I would recommend Hotel Kursaal and would stay there again if I were visiting the area – certainly compared to some other hotels in the vicinity where other wedding guests were staying I think we made a good choice!

Room Tip: A view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    76
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
87
180
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in the hotel with 3 couples (60+) for 11 days and had a very good time!
The location is perfect, the hotel is charming and the staff is outstanding helpfull and friendly.
Our rooms had a fantastic view over the lake, we never slept better and the food was excellent. What more can a person want ?
At no time during our stay we were disturbed by the other guests.
We have traveled all over the world and been in very fancy hotels. But the charm and hospitality of Bruno and his whole team were exceptional. Thanks!!!
We sure can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Hotel is an old fashioned traditional Italian Hotel in the most amazing setting. It's grounds ar eused by campers but we did not find this to be a problem at all. The pool and facilities easily accommodated the guests.

The Hotel staff are lovely people who do all they can to make your stay as postive as possible. The restaurant offers good local food.

An amazing relaxing stay on the shores of Lake Trasemino.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eeklo belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

we did a tour in Italy and what should have been the highlight of our journey turned out to be the worst hotel of our 3week trip!! On the website everything seems so lovely and romantic with the beautiful lakeviews,,, but in reality you are on a campingsite with tents and caravans spoiling the garden and even in the restaurant and on the terrace and swimmingpoole you are surrounded by campingguests. For me this was very enoying and it spoiled my weekend on thelake! The owner should inform you that you are on a camping!!! We checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Kursaal in July 2011 for a friends wedding. The location was stunning, the rooms were clean and more than we expected. The staff were so helpful and polite, even when we missed breakfast having a lie in we were still given a croissant! Had a lovely stay in Italy and wound recommend Umbria and this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Hotel Kursaal is situated about a mile out of Passignano and is in a beautiful location on Lake Trasimeno. It is just a 10 minute stroll to the main town, which has lost of places to explore.

However, as others have noted, the website does mislead people. The hotel is situated in the middle of a busy camp site and all the facilities are available to campers.

The pool is lovely with lots sun loungers, although not heated and sadly the Jacuzzi was not working while we were there and when we enquired nobody seemed bothered. The pool was busy during our stay, mainly with campers using the facilities.

The restaurant is good – dinner was very nice, a good choice of Italian and European dishes. Breakfast was very nice - a wide selection of breads, yoghurts, meats, eggs and homemade pastries. The staff were helpful, polite and attentive.

The bedrooms are average, very average, and nicely furnished. Good sized bedroom and bathroom. However our ‘Lake View room’ which we paid a premium for was not a lake view – sadly all we saw were thick trees, little light and three caravans. I called down to reception to discuss this with them and was advised this was due to them being fully booked – but we were not offered a discount on our rate. Very disappointed as it wasn’t particularly good value for money.

In summary, I feel pretty disappointed by the experience and that the website is very misleading – hence the comments here. I will post photos when I have them so you can see the reality, defiantly not quite the same experience as the website would lead you to believe given the busy camp site.

I have to agree with the other review - if you're looking for a relaxing hotel on the shores of Lake Trasimeno... stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upwood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

congratulations to Bruno and his staff at this beautiful hotel.Everything was fantastic,the
food ,the service,the cleanliness.Special mention to Bruno,Carlo and Sarah who were
particularly charming and helpful.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kursaal Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Address: Via Europa, 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Umbria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kursaal is your opportunity for a pleasant holiday on the shores of Lake Trasimeno, surrounded by green hills, enjoying a warm welcome and delicious cuisine, a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque village of Passignano and close to the most important heritage cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Umbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kursaal Umbria Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kursaal Umbria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.