We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable, a MUST if you are in this region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin du Mesnil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin du Mesnil
Save
You added Le Moulin du Mesnil to your Saves list
31 Chemin du Moulin du Mesnil, 41400 Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Memorable, a MUST if you are in this region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this beautiful, tranquil private property for three blissful nights. The location is ideal. Our room was quite charming and private. Yvonne could not have been more pleasant, helpful, hospitable and kind. The property was stunning, lovely, and charming. The attention to details, from the fresh flowers, to the extravagant breakfasts and the beautiful linens was unparalleled. Yvonne even accompanied us to a few antique shops on our final day there. I highly recommend this tranquil location, with beautiful gardens, as a nice hub for seeing this region. No need to search elsewhere....this is it!! I hope to go back one day in the near future. Thank you Yvonne for such a memorable stay. We already miss being there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Propriétaire at Le Moulin du Mesnil, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your daughter Betzy. I hope you are both well, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. I hope Betzy is enjoying the rest of her holiday in Europe, you must be getting inpatient to have her home again.
Thank you for your advice on how to make my terrace look good I shall send you some photos when it's finished.
Warm regards from Yvonne at The Moulin du Mesnil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
86
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed one night at Le Moulin du Mesnil in March 2014 and enjoyed it very much. Le Moulin du Mesnil is a beautiful property with modern fittings in the heart of the Loire Valley. The rooms were clean and came with a much appreciated kettle and complimentary tea. We received a very warm welcome from Yvonne, the host, and felt very much at home during our short stay. She prepared a delicious breakfast spread for us, including the option of having hot eggs (not something usually provided in French B&Bs) and freshly squeezed orange juice. Yvonne is also a very engaging host and talking to her makes you feel at ease instantly. We highly recommend staying at Le Moulin du Mesnil.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Yvonne's was truly memorable and one we will treasure. She was the consummate host. The breakfasts she prepared were absolutely delicious and above expectation, and presented with style. Her advice on places of interest were extremely helpful also. Actually, it really felt that we were staying with a favourite relative or a good friend.
We would highly recommend anyone to stay with Yvonne if you are in the Loire Valley and intend to return soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Le Moulin du Mesnil in late November of 2013, and had a wonderful time. The room was so perfect after a long flight from the U.S. - really, REALLY comfortable bed; nice sitting area with a lovely tea setup; clean, well-stocked bathroom; etc. - the little touches and attention to detail made the difference. The house itself is a well-restored 300 year old farmhouse (if I recall correctly) with tons of character. However, it has been updated with modern comforts, including in-floor heating! Yvonne, the owner, was most definitely one of the best B&B hosts we have ever met. Very friendly and helpful, funny and engaging, and so welcoming. She even showed us around the market while we were in town so we would know where to buy the best produce and cheese! You will not regret booking a night here-we wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks,Yvonne! - Andrea and Brian

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have vacationed all over the world, but we have never written an on-line review before.
Then again, we have never stayed at such a wonderful, wonderful place before.
LE MOULIN DU MESNIL blesses the very heart of the Loire Valley, with world-famous chateaux within minutes in every direction. Having said that, once we arrived at LE MOULIN, we didn’t venture out to see a chateau on the first day, or the second day, or the third.
On those first three days we just lost ourselves in the magical surroundings of LE MOULIN.
• Sleeping in late in our two floor cottage with a bay window bedroom to watch the stars at night and the canopy of trees by day.
• Enjoying mouthwatering breakfasts in the manor house with Yvonne, the greatest hostess ever.
• Walking the secluded gardens and grounds and feeling almost one with the rock walls, ancient beams, and climbing vines.
• Sipping wine and reading on our terrace overlooking the millstream, the spillway and the ducks.
You will never find more perfection for the price.
You may even find the deeply peaceful side of yourself that you never knew you had.
No extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay here. We knew from the moment we first arrived that we had picked the perfect place to spend part of our honeymoon. Yvonne is a kind and gracious host who will go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. We stayed in the Guest Room, which is beautiful, with a big window overlooking the wooded setting. The bathroom is very big and nice, complete with a towel warmer. Bed is very comfy and cozy. Fresh cut flowers from her garden in our room and bathroom were a lovely touch. Each morning she puts on a gorgeous breakfast made entirely from scratch and pays great attention to detail. We especially enjoyed he homemade jams! There are loads of things to do in the surrounding cities and Yvonne will help you plan each day out and will even call restaurants ahead of time to let them know your coming. We enjoyed visiting Leonardo Da Vinci's home and Chateu Cheninceau. We will definitely come back and stay at Le Moulin du Mesnil, we enjoyed it so much and were so thankful to find this little piece of heaven in the Loire Valley!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our stay at Le Moulin du Mesnil was the highlight of our trip and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Loire Valley. The grounds were beautiful and picturesque -- we found it a perfect retreat after the hustle and bustle of Paris.

Yvonne was an amazing host, with a true love of meeting and getting to know people, and she really went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. (My favorite example: not only did she tell us about the wonderful market in town, she told us exactly which stalls had the best food, including one with secret roast chickens stashed behind the counter only for people who know to ask!) Yvonne also provided some fantastic recommendations for dinner, steering us away from touristy spots towards places that locals would frequent.

The breakfasts were delicious, with my favorite part being her homemade jams. Our train left very early in the morning, and Yvonne again went the extra mile and set up a coffee pot in our room and breakfast "to go" for us the night before.

The room was perfect -- the bathroom was roomy with an excellent shower and the beds were spacious and so comfortable. I especially enjoyed curling up in the reading nook in our room to enjoy a book by the open window.

I would highly recommend Le Moulin du Mesnil to anyone -- you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Moulin du Mesnil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Mesnil

Address: 31 Chemin du Moulin du Mesnil, 41400 Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Mesnil France/Loire Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin du Mesnil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.