We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Miramare Resort

Save Saved
You added Santo Miramare Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santo Miramare Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perivolos Emboriou | Santorini, Perivolos 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Perivolos
norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great hotel, with friendly staff. Close to the beach and to resturants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    108
    31
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
145
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I chose this hotel as we were traveling with my step-son (35) and his wife and wanted beaches with activities. The location is great, but the hotel is wanting. We booked 6 months in advance for beach facing rooms and when we arrived, were given street-facing rooms with the laundry lines below our hallway with the smell of bleach! desk personal had to be pressed to give us different rooms as a temp for overnight with promise of beach facing rooms the next day, which was not available til mid-afternoon. Finally got located in rooms we booked 1 1/2 days later! Other review was correct-beware of basement rooms. Beds are aged mattresses on wood frame and grounds could use some landscaping as turning to weeds. Food is fair but pools are beautiful. Beyond the gates is the beach with black sand and very comfortable lounges with natural umbrellas. Up and down are mini clubs and restaurants which are fun. For food, I recommend "The Best" run by Cristo, about 1/4 to 1/2 mile on the left of the hotel on the beach road. I had difficultly walking one night and Cristo offered a ride back to hotel. His food is very "Greek" and very good. We can attest to this as my partner is Greek. Rent a car and travel to the two main towns, Fira and Oia, and marvel at the landscape and the beauty. Words cannot describe this beautiful island. There is so much to do and see here, so go and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Our adventures in Greece included pensions and boutique hotels in towns, so we chose Santo Miramare on Santorini, because it was a more secluded resort. We were not disappointed. Our room and the grounds were very clean, and the staff was always prompt and helpful. We liked the close proximity to the private beach (and we highly recommend diving shoes!) and the quiet atmosphere of the hotel.

Santo Miramare is a bit far from the main towns of Santorini, but the hotel has a deal with a local rental car company. So when we wanted to do a little road trip around the island and check out Fira and Oia, a member of staff called for a car for us. We had our rental car in about 10 minutes.

The food at breakfast (which is included in the price of the room) and dinner (15 euro for a buffet) was all right. It wasn't the quality that we found in some of the restaurants in Fira or Oia, but then, it was a huge buffet with lots of different options, so of course it's not going to be the same as a restaurant. We always easily found something we liked for breakfast and at the one dinner we had there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Just returned from 12 days in Santo Miramare. Excellent hotel would recommend. Email the hotel direct to book though. We did. Demitris is lovely the manager. Its so much cheaper and used Easyjet to fly there. We paid half of what first choice wanted! Three floors high. Spotlessly clean everywhere including the grounds. On Perivilos/Perissa border. Set in its own grounds definately one best hotels in Santorini. Family stayed in Kamari at Venus and Kamari hotels which were built up and crowded.
Location on prom with beach. Black sandy beach water was a little cold but its early season. Lovely pools with nice toddler pool. Bout 20 mins walk down prom from main Perissa resort, but bars restaurants all along the walk. Yanis the waiter is fab, so happy cant do enough for you. Open air restaurant and also and inside if you wish. Food very good. Good breakfast, def recommend going half board. Its sooo expensive to eat out meals in the resort now with the Euro. Food good, fish, meats salads etc every night. Good choice.
Hotel pool bar is night bar too. Bit expensive. We used to just buy our own from supermarket and relax.
Plenty sunbeds. Cant say much more just lovely hotel slighly away from the hustle and bustle.
Small supermarket up road is bit expensive. Co op supermarket runs free pick up from hotel to shop and back which is good only 5 mins away.
Dont hire cars from hotel they are very expensive. Hire shop near Co op supermarket is soo much cheaper and runs excellent trips at a fraction of what the tour operators want. Most people use quad bikes to get about.
All buses go from Thira the capital, then from Thira to Kamari etc. like coaches and only 1.40 euros each!
Water taxi runs from Perissa by the mountain end to Kamari at 4euros per adult. Very good and quick. Kids free on all transport.
Dont bother with Oia. Its top end of the island and just a dirty old town with shops. Thira is beautiful much nicer and cleaner than Thira.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at this resort for almost two weeks during "low season" and had a great experience. The weather was still nice and the island was not crowded. A few shops and restaurants had closed for the season but there still were enough places open to experience a good variety. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and other shops and we were happy to have stayed in this area as opposed to Fira or Oia, as we were looking for relaxation rather than convenience. The breakfast at the resort featured a very wide variety of foods. The rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The title says it all. This place is right on the beach and provides beach chairs and wait service on the beach, which was great.

The downside- our rate included breakfast and the food was average. The room was OK. It was clean and the balcony was nice, but it looked like it was furnished in 1979. Orange bed spread. Orange curtains. Brown laminate furniture. Don't get me wrong, everything was clean and in good condition, it was just not that attractive.

Be sure to rent a scooter or 4-wheeler because Perissa is a long way from everything else on Santorini. We rented from Moto-Mania and had a great experience. However, the locals drive like maniacs so be very careful driving around.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed at The Santo Miramare Resort from 18th August to 1st September for our Wedding which we had on the 28th August. We travelled with Thomas Cook and used their wedding co-ordinator Reebie.

When we got to the hotel and our room we were really pleased at the standard. We booked a Junior Suite which had a side sea view but wasn't as good as i would have liked, unfortunately the Junior Suites aren't that well placed. However it was a lovely room, had a lounge area, kitchenette and the bathroom was quite modern.
The reception was lovely and the man behind reception gave us a leaflet of trips (which were more expensive than elsewhere in Perissa) then we were taken to our rooms by a very friendly Porter.
Staff in general were very friendly and always said hello. Violetta who works at the pool bar is particularly good and is always smiling.

The pool and bar area are very nice. The pool is huge and there are plenty of sunbeds but it never felt like there were too many people there. There is also a smaller pool and then a childrens pool as well as a jacuzzi :-)

We never went to the restaurant but heard it was quite good value for money for eat as much as you like buffet 15 euros. The resort (Perivolos) itself was a bit strange, there were music bars playing loud dance music during the afternoon but then after your evening meal at night they were dead. So if you want somewhere to party at night Perissa (25 minute walk) has some karaoke bars and nightclubs/bars. There are some good restaurants nearby on the front; Meteora and The Best where the food is good and not too expensive.

We travelled with 27 guests altogether over the two weeks for our wedding in our second week. When we got onto our transfer we were handed a scroll tied up with ribbon with an appointment to see our wedding co-ordinator the next day. When we met her she told us what day and time our wedding was going to be and gave us a booklet about the wedding and extras you could book. You could find these slightly cheaper elsewhere but to save giving money to people who you cant guarantee will give a good service i thought best to go with Thomas Cook then i had someone to blame in the UK if it all went wrong. The flowers i were given which were part of my wedding package were lovely, a big bunch of orange and cream roses.

I had already been in contact with the Manager Dimitris about organising our reception as i was worried about having to find somewhere when we got there. So we met with him when we arrived and told him what food and drink we wanted and how we wanted the tables to be set out and he set to at organising it. We got married at The Santo Winery overlooking the Caldera which was stunning then we had a few glasses of wine and went back to the hotel. DImitris had set the area up with coloured organza round the top table to match BM dresses, bride and groom sign at our seats and tea light holders on the tables. The food was fantastic and everybody was full nearly after the starter. They were coming round with wine all the way through the meal. As a gift he had given us a bottle of sparkling wine and a huge cake which was yummy and we had a little ceremony which Greeks do where we cut the cake in a cross and fed eachother then crossed arms and drank the wine. Afterwards we had the speeches and had drinks at the bar.

The next day we had a huge breakfast in bed even though we were slightly hungover :-s Then enjoyed the rest of our holiday driving round the island. Fira is fantastic and im hoping to book for a week next year for our first anniversary.

I would definately recommend this hotel it was of a good standard, the staff were very helpful and friendly and they did a brilliant job of organising our wedding reception.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santo Miramare Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Miramare Resort

Address: Perivolos Emboriou | Santorini, Perivolos 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perivolos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Perivolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Miramare Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santo Miramare is a fine luxury resort next to the black sandy beach of Perivolos. The absolute destination for families, group of friends, honeymooners or anyone who desires a highly standard accommodation in a traditionally built resort that offers everything the world famous island of Santorini is promising for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Santo Miramare Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Miramare Hotel Perivolos
Hotel Santo Miramare
Santo Miramare Resort Santorini/Perivolos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Miramare Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.