We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Perivolos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Miramare Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santo Miramare Resort to your Saves list
Santo Miramare Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perivolos Emboriou, Perivolos 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Perivolos
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Perivolos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My partner & I stayed here during the first week of July.
The Hotel
The hotel has 3 different sized swimming pools and a small spa. It also has a sauna, a gym, a conference room, a table tennis table, a pool table, an outside chess table and a pool bar. It is in a very peaceful location. Wi-fi is free to use.
The Service
The service throughout the resort but particularly in the restaurant was exceptional. All the staff, including the baggage carriers & maids was very amiable, approachable and helpful. The only small gripe we had was with the barman at the pool bar late one evening when we asked for a drink he had not heard of before and he seemed to take it as a personal insult. He became very defensive and confrontational and claimed the ingredients for this drink could only be found in the UK. Considering the first time I discovered this drink was in Cyprus & I have since had it all over Europe I knew this to be absolute rubbish.
The Room
Upon booking our holiday with Thomson we requested a high floor room with sea view. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a ground floor room. When I complained at reception we were told this was because we requested a sea view room and did not pay extra for one but this option was never available to us. Nevertheless, the room we had was spacious and conveniently located right next to the pool and inbetween reception and the restaurant and being sunken fairly private. The room’s air conditioning and safety deposit box were both free to use. As stated previously by some reviewers the beds are quite hard but as someone who has recently had a serious back problem I found them fine to sleep on. Incidentally, the hotel is only 3 storeys high (no buildings are allowed to be any higher in Santorini) so I am not sure how much of a sea view you would get even if you were able to pay extra for one.
The Restaurant
The Restaurant provides a buffet style service for breakfast and dinner (lunch can only be taken at the pool bar). For breakfast, this consisted of your standard selection of hot and cold foods though I must admit as a cereal lover I was not partial to the choice of cereals on offer. We only frequented dinner at the restaurant on two occasions and whilst the quality and quantity was adequate (the meat soup was delicious but some of the food was only luke warm ) we were happy we had chose to go bed & breakfast as this enabled us to sample other restaurants in the town. Dinner at the restaurant cost 15 Euros pp which was fairly reasonable for what was effectively a three course meal. Drinks were extra.
The Beach
Whilst Santorini is not renowned for its beaches, the beach at the back of the resort across a narrow and fairly quiet road is regarded as the best on the island. It is a long stretch of black volcanic sand and pebble. The sunbeds on this part of the beach are exclusively for hotel guests only though this is not monitored and the beach is not private as stated by Thomson and many locals use it. There is also a steady flow of traders selling massages but if you decline they move on without hassling you any further. Sun towels are provided by the hotel and can be changed every 2 days. Due to the pebbles on the beach, my partner wore sea shoes when going for a swim but many swimmers didn’t seem to mind and went barefoot.
The Excursions
We pre-booked 3 excursions with Thomson and would recommend 2 of the 3 (Simply Santorini which includes Oia and Santorini’s Secrets, the Premier Island Tour which includes Akrotiri). It should be mentioned that the hotel offers very similar excursions at almost half the price. Unfortunately as we did not go of any of the hotel excursions we are unable to compare them. The third excursion, the Caldera Cruise we found slightly disappointing although the cruise itself was very pleasant. The Caldera is very scenic and beautiful but is best viewed from above rather than the sea. The walk to the volcano is a very arduous, steep and exhausting trek across various sized pebbles, stones and rock. You can see the five islands from the top but the volcano is basically 3 fairly large craters with some steam emitting from one of them and therefore feels a bit like an anti-climax and not really worth the effort. Incidentally, if you are interested in the Archaeological site at Akrotiri you should be aware that whilst it is well worth visiting most of the pieces found there are either in the National Museum at Athens or Thira.
The Local Transport
Buses are available from 3 stops near the hotel. The one directly outside the hotel is fairly infrequent though. The one we used was about a 10 minute walk outside the back gate and turn left. From there you can catch a bus to Thira which is well worth a visit. You can also get buses from Thira to Oia , Akrotiri and Kamari. Try getting the express bus though because this takes under 30 minutes to get to Thira whereas the normal one can take almost an hour. Taxi’s are ridiculously expensive. For instance, you can walk from the hotel to Ancient Thira but a taxi would cost 30 Euros.
The Town and Restaurants
Perivolos is a very quiet town with around a dozen bars and restaurants but you can walk up to Perissa which is much more livelier. Of the restaurants we visited in Perivolos the best was Afros (rated No.2 on Trip Advsior) which specialises in home produced vegetables and fresh fish which you can view and select yourself. Don’t be put off by the decor though which gives the impression of a very basic fast food cafe. We visited Popeye’s (rated No. 1 on Trip Advisor) twice with very contrasting opinions. The first time the food and service was excellent and lived up its top spot rating. On the second occasion at the weekend when they were much busier the food and service was simply awful. Sea Side (rated No.3) can be viewed in 2 ways, either over priced and slightly pretentious (the menu came in the form of a large paperback booklet which included a profile of the chef and recipes for some of the meals on offer!) or top quality gourmet food at an affordable price – I will leave it to you to decide.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view book a room facing the swimming pools but as the hotel is only three storeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    127
    38
    20
    8
See reviews for
88
166
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Santo Miramare resort Santorini with my wife and we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is simple but clean and well presented. The staff are absolutley fabulous and cannot do enough for you. We booked through Thomson and had no issues with the actual holiday. The only negative comment I have was for a Thomson arranged sunset cruise with a four course meal. The resturuant was on an Island called Thirissia and it was called Captain Johns located in the harbour. All on the trip expected a nice fresh meal obviously! what we got was the toughest pork cutlet. very disappointing. The Hotel and Santorini are however fabulous. You will have a great time. PS do not go to Santorini if you are looking for a wild night life. It is very laid back. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room with a sea view. If you don't you might get a ground floor room. Just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We're a couple (aged 27 and 25) who spent 2 weeks at the hotel at the end of June and had an excellent time. I don't know what some people are complaining about really but it seems some people will complain about anything. The hotel was very clean including the rooms and the pool area. We were first put on a ground floor room but asked to move straight away as it was dark and had no balcony. We were able to move the next day though so I'd recommend emailing beforehand to request a room on the first or second floor. The room we moved to on the second floor was excellent and we were very glad we asked to move. One thing that was annoying was that a lot of people put towels down on sun loungers when they weren't by the pool even though there are signs up saying this is prohibited. They must have been up early to do so just so they could get their precious little spot around the pool - quite sad really as there were still plenty of sun loungers for everyone.

The breakfast is a standard buffet and although nothing special, it has everything you'd want. The staff were always friendly and helpful too (don't know who is calling them rude as they weren't at all!). We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in an evening as there are so many places in Perivolos and Perissa. We couldn't understand why people ate there every night! The bar area is also quite small and although adequate for snacks during the day, I don't know why people would stay there in an evening. It would make the atmosphere of the bars and restaurants on the beachfront so much better if people ventured out more!

We were surprised at how quiet Perivolos was as there were plenty of bars and restaurants - but it seemed most people stayed in the hotel on an evening - what a waste! There is a beach party on a Sunday at nearby Jojos and Chillis which is well worth going to as it is full of the locals and lots of fun. Perissa is about 20-25 minutes walk away along the beachfront which has more bars and restaurants which were a bit busier. Tranquilo was one of our favourites. There are more English type bars along the Main Street in Perissa, which were full of English people. We only went there once as why would you want to sit in an English style bar when you're on holiday. It was quite tacky and the people seemed to be more common there. I'd recommend spending a night or two in Fira as it's much livelier and has plenty of bars, clubs and restaurants. If I went to Santorini again I think I'd stay for 1 week in Fira and 1 week in Perivolos or Perissa.

The trip to the caldera is really good as you get to walk across a volcano and swim in the Hot Springs. We also climbed the mountain to Kamari which we enjoyed but you need to be quite fit to do it! Take the boat from Perissa if you don't fancy climbing the mountain! Eating at the Pyrgos taverna is also recommended and offers great views of the sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor as they have their own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having never been to Santorini before we did not how far any resort was away from each other, so settled on the Santo Miramare. The hotel is just over the road from the beach, unfortunately black sand does not appeal to us so for those who like golden sandy beaches Santorini probably is not for you but i would recommend Santorini to anyone who enjoys spectacular photo opportunities and gorgeous sunsets. The resort of Perivolos is linked with the resort of Perissa which has a good selection of souvenir shops, restaurants and designer bars although if you want to use the pools you have to pay for beds and umbrellas. Back to the hotel, it is very well organised and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the resort as they it. We chose to upgrade to a seaview room but due to the low build and trees we saw very little of the sea but the room was large and well furnished.
We chose to only have breakfast which was buffet style but with the same choices each day so did become a bit boring. We did try the dinner buffet on two occasions after long days out great value at 15 euros but would again be very repetitve every day if on half board. It was good to get out and try the local restaurants, try not to be put off by the owners pestering you to try their restaurants every night.
The swimming pools were large and kept in good condition, there is also a gym, sauna and table tennis although we didnt use. Wifi is available in the reception and bar areas. the reception are able to organise most of your needs. If your'e feeling brave hire a quad bike as we did and explore the hidden parts of the island that the tour companies cant get to well worth 30 euros for the day with helmets provided. Also try the boat trip on board 'Jason' booked through the hotel ( cheaper than the holiday companies and you see more).

Room Tip: Dont bother asking for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Santo Miramare Hotel in Perivolous for a week from 24th June to 2nd July 2013. I had picked this hotel due to its impressive settings, size for the 40 plus guests for my daughter's wedding.
I found all my dealings with the Manager and staff very positive and the responses to all my communications before we arrived was always very professional and speedy.
On arrival although there was a slight blip with a case of couple of rooms been double booked, the manager soon sorted it to our satisfaction and as the days progressed the staff were all so friendly, helpful and courteous. There was nothing that we asked of them too much, from getting decorations for the conference room for one of the pre wedding ceremonies to helping when my brother took ill and we needed to seek medical help.

All the guests just loved their stay there and we highly recommend this hotel and the wonderful staff. We miss them all very much.
Varsha.

Room Tip: Most rooms have fabulous pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this charming hotel for a week and had a fantastic stay. We were given a room (121) which is located in the ground floor which is ever slightly below ground level. On arrival check in was swift and efficient and staff were all courteous and polite. Our room was clean and spacious and the presence of both a fridge and air con was welcome. The hotel itself is very well maintained,the pools and gardens in particular were kept to a high standard. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis,the buffet on offer in the morning was perfectly acceptable and offers options for those who like their cooked breakfasts to those who prefer their muesli and yoghurt. There are numerous tavernas, restaurants and bars in the vicinity and we had no complaints about any of them. The beach is across the road from the hotel and once again was well kept and beds when we visited were always available. I would thoroughly recommend you visit both Fira and Oia simply stunning places with numerous places to eat, drink and enjoy the spectacular sunsets. You can take air conditioned buses that run approximately every 20 minutes and costs 2.20 euro per person each way. Santorini is a beautiful island and I would certainly come back. As a base for exploring the island Santo Miramare is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at this hotel, the place was in a nice location on the southern coast of santorini, a well laid out and relatively quiet hotel.The food was pretty average but we did only book bed and breakfast,the rooms are rather small but functional, however we had to change rooms two days into our holiday as we asked for a balcony and got a terrace due to a mistake on the hotels part but this was quickly and politely rectified. The pool area is very clean and tidy and there is a pool bar close by serving some gorgeous drinks, The hotels private beach is just across the minor road at the back of the hotel and if you wish the staff will bring drinks straight to your free sunbed. we found all the staff helpful and considerate and the hotel manager on the reception will dispense helpful advice to you if you need to ask about anything to make your stay even more enjoyable. Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Aircon,towels,refrigerator and a safe are provided in all rooms but the ground floor rooms tend to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santo Miramare Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Miramare Resort

Address: Perivolos Emboriou, Perivolos 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perivolos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perivolos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Perivolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Miramare Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santo Miramare is a fine luxury resort next to the black sandy beach of Perivolos. The absolute destination for families, group of friends, honeymooners or anyone who desires a highly standard accommodation in a traditionally built resort that offers everything the world famous island of Santorini is promising for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Santo Miramare Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Miramare Hotel Perivolos
Hotel Santo Miramare
Santo Miramare Resort Santorini/Perivolos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Miramare Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.