We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and holiday venue for a couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Miramare Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santo Miramare Resort to your Saves list
Santo Miramare Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perivolos Emboriou, Perivolos 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Perivolos
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and holiday venue for a couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Santo Miramare resort Santorini with my wife and we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is simple but clean and well presented. The staff are absolutley fabulous and cannot do enough for you. We booked through Thomson and had no issues with the actual holiday. The only negative comment I have was for a Thomson arranged sunset cruise with a four course meal. The resturuant was on an Island called Thirissia and it was called Captain Johns located in the harbour. All on the trip expected a nice fresh meal obviously! what we got was the toughest pork cutlet. very disappointing. The Hotel and Santorini are however fabulous. You will have a great time. PS do not go to Santorini if you are looking for a wild night life. It is very laid back. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room with a sea view. If you don't you might get a ground floor room. Just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    127
    38
    20
    8
See reviews for
88
166
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We're a couple (aged 27 and 25) who spent 2 weeks at the hotel at the end of June and had an excellent time. I don't know what some people are complaining about really but it seems some people will complain about anything. The hotel was very clean including the rooms and the pool area. We were first put on a ground floor room but asked to move straight away as it was dark and had no balcony. We were able to move the next day though so I'd recommend emailing beforehand to request a room on the first or second floor. The room we moved to on the second floor was excellent and we were very glad we asked to move. One thing that was annoying was that a lot of people put towels down on sun loungers when they weren't by the pool even though there are signs up saying this is prohibited. They must have been up early to do so just so they could get their precious little spot around the pool - quite sad really as there were still plenty of sun loungers for everyone.

The breakfast is a standard buffet and although nothing special, it has everything you'd want. The staff were always friendly and helpful too (don't know who is calling them rude as they weren't at all!). We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in an evening as there are so many places in Perivolos and Perissa. We couldn't understand why people ate there every night! The bar area is also quite small and although adequate for snacks during the day, I don't know why people would stay there in an evening. It would make the atmosphere of the bars and restaurants on the beachfront so much better if people ventured out more!

We were surprised at how quiet Perivolos was as there were plenty of bars and restaurants - but it seemed most people stayed in the hotel on an evening - what a waste! There is a beach party on a Sunday at nearby Jojos and Chillis which is well worth going to as it is full of the locals and lots of fun. Perissa is about 20-25 minutes walk away along the beachfront which has more bars and restaurants which were a bit busier. Tranquilo was one of our favourites. There are more English type bars along the Main Street in Perissa, which were full of English people. We only went there once as why would you want to sit in an English style bar when you're on holiday. It was quite tacky and the people seemed to be more common there. I'd recommend spending a night or two in Fira as it's much livelier and has plenty of bars, clubs and restaurants. If I went to Santorini again I think I'd stay for 1 week in Fira and 1 week in Perivolos or Perissa.

The trip to the caldera is really good as you get to walk across a volcano and swim in the Hot Springs. We also climbed the mountain to Kamari which we enjoyed but you need to be quite fit to do it! Take the boat from Perissa if you don't fancy climbing the mountain! Eating at the Pyrgos taverna is also recommended and offers great views of the sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor as they have their own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having never been to Santorini before we did not how far any resort was away from each other, so settled on the Santo Miramare. The hotel is just over the road from the beach, unfortunately black sand does not appeal to us so for those who like golden sandy beaches Santorini probably is not for you but i would recommend Santorini to anyone who enjoys spectacular photo opportunities and gorgeous sunsets. The resort of Perivolos is linked with the resort of Perissa which has a good selection of souvenir shops, restaurants and designer bars although if you want to use the pools you have to pay for beds and umbrellas. Back to the hotel, it is very well organised and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the resort as they it. We chose to upgrade to a seaview room but due to the low build and trees we saw very little of the sea but the room was large and well furnished.
We chose to only have breakfast which was buffet style but with the same choices each day so did become a bit boring. We did try the dinner buffet on two occasions after long days out great value at 15 euros but would again be very repetitve every day if on half board. It was good to get out and try the local restaurants, try not to be put off by the owners pestering you to try their restaurants every night.
The swimming pools were large and kept in good condition, there is also a gym, sauna and table tennis although we didnt use. Wifi is available in the reception and bar areas. the reception are able to organise most of your needs. If your'e feeling brave hire a quad bike as we did and explore the hidden parts of the island that the tour companies cant get to well worth 30 euros for the day with helmets provided. Also try the boat trip on board 'Jason' booked through the hotel ( cheaper than the holiday companies and you see more).

Room Tip: Dont bother asking for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Santo Miramare Hotel in Perivolous for a week from 24th June to 2nd July 2013. I had picked this hotel due to its impressive settings, size for the 40 plus guests for my daughter's wedding.
I found all my dealings with the Manager and staff very positive and the responses to all my communications before we arrived was always very professional and speedy.
On arrival although there was a slight blip with a case of couple of rooms been double booked, the manager soon sorted it to our satisfaction and as the days progressed the staff were all so friendly, helpful and courteous. There was nothing that we asked of them too much, from getting decorations for the conference room for one of the pre wedding ceremonies to helping when my brother took ill and we needed to seek medical help.

All the guests just loved their stay there and we highly recommend this hotel and the wonderful staff. We miss them all very much.
Varsha.

Room Tip: Most rooms have fabulous pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this charming hotel for a week and had a fantastic stay. We were given a room (121) which is located in the ground floor which is ever slightly below ground level. On arrival check in was swift and efficient and staff were all courteous and polite. Our room was clean and spacious and the presence of both a fridge and air con was welcome. The hotel itself is very well maintained,the pools and gardens in particular were kept to a high standard. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis,the buffet on offer in the morning was perfectly acceptable and offers options for those who like their cooked breakfasts to those who prefer their muesli and yoghurt. There are numerous tavernas, restaurants and bars in the vicinity and we had no complaints about any of them. The beach is across the road from the hotel and once again was well kept and beds when we visited were always available. I would thoroughly recommend you visit both Fira and Oia simply stunning places with numerous places to eat, drink and enjoy the spectacular sunsets. You can take air conditioned buses that run approximately every 20 minutes and costs 2.20 euro per person each way. Santorini is a beautiful island and I would certainly come back. As a base for exploring the island Santo Miramare is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at this hotel, the place was in a nice location on the southern coast of santorini, a well laid out and relatively quiet hotel.The food was pretty average but we did only book bed and breakfast,the rooms are rather small but functional, however we had to change rooms two days into our holiday as we asked for a balcony and got a terrace due to a mistake on the hotels part but this was quickly and politely rectified. The pool area is very clean and tidy and there is a pool bar close by serving some gorgeous drinks, The hotels private beach is just across the minor road at the back of the hotel and if you wish the staff will bring drinks straight to your free sunbed. we found all the staff helpful and considerate and the hotel manager on the reception will dispense helpful advice to you if you need to ask about anything to make your stay even more enjoyable. Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Aircon,towels,refrigerator and a safe are provided in all rooms but the ground floor rooms tend to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Website photographs misleading, having juust returned on the 2nd july 2013 I was very disappointed with this hotel, the food for breakfast/evening meal are luke warm buffets and are the same every day, I booked what was supposed to be a junior suite, whch was a standard room with a sea view.My main gripe is that there is only a pool bar to sit and have a drink in the evening o.k. for lunch but I expect somewhere nicer for the evening using the same wet chairs that have used throughout the day, however on the plus side it is extremely clean and the staff are all very nice.
Julie (Shepperton)

Room Tip: Just book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santo Miramare Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Miramare Resort

Address: Perivolos Emboriou, Perivolos 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perivolos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perivolos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perivolos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Perivolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Miramare Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santo Miramare is a fine luxury resort next to the black sandy beach of Perivolos. The absolute destination for families, group of friends, honeymooners or anyone who desires a highly standard accommodation in a traditionally built resort that offers everything the world famous island of Santorini is promising for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santo Miramare Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Miramare Hotel Perivolos
Hotel Santo Miramare
Santo Miramare Resort Santorini/Perivolos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Miramare Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.