We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish and local vegetables - great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afros

Afros
Beach Road, Perivolos 84703, Greece
2286085223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Perivolos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Oslo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and local vegetables - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very friendly small place with high quality fresh fish in addition to other local specialities. Best greek cuisine experience on our 14 day stay - recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    40
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“No. 1 Restaurant in Pervilos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Don't let the decor which gives the impression of a fast food greek taverna put you off because this really is a top quality restaurant that proudly specialises in home produced vegetables and freshly caught fish which they will happily bring out to your table so you can view the catches of the day and select your choice.
When we were there we certainly felt we got that personal touch, the owner happily chatting with us and allowing us to sample some delicious local sea urchins with homemade bread and sauce before our main meal. Needless to say, our meal along with our wine and the service in general was all excellent and could not be faulted. If I return to Perivolos again this is the one restaurant I will make sure I revisit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warm food, very slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here a few days ago after reading reviews on TA, unfortunately we were disappointed. I ordered the Moussaka and the husband ordered the stuffed calamari. The restaurant was empty apart from one other couple, which I didn't mind but there was no excuse for inattentive service. Both of our meals arrived tepid at best. Not an enjoyable experience. We sat for at least 15 mind without a drink whilst trying to get the attention of the waiter. I would have thought that in these difficult economic times that the service would have been better. The food was overpriced and we will certainly not be returning. Sorry, a bit of a let down for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fresh crabs and risotto at Afros in Perivolos Beach Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

tonight I had the most amazing meal at Afros, the chef prepared for me 4 crabs with Risotto, wowowowowowo it was amazing incredible taste and so fresh, I also had the fried zucchini, they wer awesome as well.
Afros is a great beach restaurant on Perivolos beach, the service is friendly and it offers a great atmosphere. I go to their beach on a daily basis and love it. Tonight it was the best meal I have ever had in this amazing island. Congratulation to Xrhstos (the owner ) and the chef

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Very good place to eat, home cooked and home grown food. The menu isn't very clear on what you get, just ask the owner and he will tell you or recommend something for you. This is the best house wine on Santorini, and very reasonable. free wi too. It's short a very short stroll from the Santo Miramare hotel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afros also viewed

Perivolos, Santorini
Perivolos, Santorini
 
Serifos, Cyclades
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Afros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.