We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first tavern traditional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afros

Afros
Beach Road, Perivolos 84703, Greece
2286085223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 restaurants in Perivolos
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
athens grecee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The first tavern traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The perfect snack and the perfect kitchen, is what makes you want to enjoy, the beautiful beaches and the traditional food ..
if not try unsighted ..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    80
    27
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“food & beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

nice place on the beach- special sea food tastes by christos!
dont order..just tell him to bring what he thinks is the best!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must-do restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you're going to Perissa beach you have to stop at Afros. Like everyone says - the fish is all freshly caught and hanging just outside the restaurant. We had a lovely time, the man who served us was very friendly and let us take our time (but also brought the food out quickly once we had ordered). The food is amazing, and such a good price. He even offered us free ouzo for after our meal. We had never heard of the place and just happened to stop in but turned out to be a secret gem. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

lovely food, freshly cooked good local dishes, great service
We enjoyed several meals here, the owner and staff were very friendly, we learnt a lot about the island. A holiday bonus

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fairly good food, bill was incorrect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food was fairly good (mostly good dishes, with a couple of misses such as the very dry bifteki). It was delivered promptly and the server was quite polite.

The bill was incorrect. I pointed out the mistake, and the server was quite apologetic (he said the cashier misunderstood his scribbles), and returned with a new bill, which had another mistake. Once again, the server was apologetic, and arrived with a correct bill. Mistakes happen, I guess, but do look over your bill.

The setting by the beach is lovely.

The downside of this restaurant (and most such outdoor restaurants in Greece) is that smoking is allowed and even a slight breeze carries the smoke from one table to the next. It really sucks to be eating while inhaling crap. But that's not the fault of this restaurant -- Greece is to be enjoyed for what it is: a beautiful country with some third-world customs. Since smoking indoors is prohibited and (most) restaurants respect the law, consider that option if you are sensitive to smoke.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afros also viewed

Perivolos, Santorini
Perivolos, Santorini
 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Afros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.