We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fair Play
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge
7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

10 of us had the entire lodge for the Fair Play Wine Festival. The lodge has 5 rooms, each decorated in a different theme. My husband and I had what was formerly known as the "wine-makers suite" but is now known as the "French Room" - I'll let you guess why! All the rooms were redesigned and upgraded and all now have great beds, fabulous bathrooms and air conditioning ( a must this past weekend!). There are four rooms upstairs, and one large room on the ground floor. There is a large sitting room downstairs and a smaller seating area with TV upstairs. The area for the B&B guests is private, so only the guests have access. The views are all spectacular! The new owners have put a lot of money into the lodge but thankfully, at least for now the previous owners, Diana and Brian, are still the hosts - I don't think it would be the same without them - they are truly the heart of Fitzpatrick's - and I hope they agree to stay on for long time! This was our 3rd time at Fitzpatrick's and they are a big part of the reason we kept coming back. Diana makes the best breakfast and Brian makes fabulous pizza, as well as the wine. Sadly, this past Friday night was the last time they will do Friday night pizza, per the new owners, which is rather unfortunate, since this was a really fun time and a great way to kick off the Fair Play Wine Festival. There were two things that I think should have been attended to before this big weekend: the pool (a lap pool) was absolutely filthy - certainly not fit for swimming and the jacuzzi only had half the jets working,( but the water was nice and hot. ) These two amenities should have been ready before the weekend especially since the weather was hot and a dip in the pool would have been refreshing - and this particular weekend is really the start of their summer season. I never did find out why the pool wasn't ready - maybe there was a good reason! Anyway, Fitzpatrick's is still probably the best place to stay when wine tasting in this area and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any of our friends, especially as long as Diana & Brian are still there. And the views are truly spectacular!!

Room Tip: The "French" room has fabulous views and a small balcony, as does the China Room, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love the Fitzpatrick winery and lodge! The views are marvelous, the hospitality is unmatched. Diana is a gracious host and a fantastic cook. We have come back year after year for visits and wine festivals. The deck offeres a relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the sunset. I just got word that they are cancelling their pizza nights on Friday which used to include music. This will be a big downfall. I know our groups would come for this on Friday's during festivals and other weekends throughout the summer. The pizza was only ok but the music and relaxing on the deck were exceptional. Too bad to see that go.
The rooms are always perfect, clean and really nicely done. The only drawbacks to some of the rooms is not having a stand up shower, some of the rooms only have the claw foot bathtubs and a shower head wrapped around the fauced, but there is not a real shower so you have to bathe and then rinse off with the shower head, not bad just a little more work for the AM shower before wine tasting!
The morning breakfasts are always hot and made to goumet standards!
We always enjoy staying here! Definately a must if you want a nice get away from reality! Their Sierra dreams rose is a great wine for sipping on a hot summer day!
We will see this B&B this weekend on our festival travels!

Room Tip: Rooms are all very nice, be aware that some do not have a stand up shower option, and the upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the most beautiful rustic bed and breakfast tucked in the Sierra Foothills in Eldorado County wine country. It has recently been sold, but the original owners/winemakers are still running it. The new owners renovated all of the rooms/bathrooms so all now have stand-up showers. The view out over the valley is spectacular. All of their wines are organic, and for a special treat from Memorial Day through October Brian fires up his wood-fired pizza oven every Friday night for Friday night pizza and live music. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had the good fortune to spend an evening at the Fitzpatrick Lodge last weekend (12/22/12) as part of a visit with some friends. What a remarkable place! Everything was perfect, from the service to the amenities.

The recently remodeled rooms were wonderfully romantic, each having a gas-burning, faus wood stove, comfortable bed, and excellent furnishings. We stayed in the "China Room." It had just the right touch of Chinese-themed decor, without it being overdone. It was warm and elegant, and the view from the windows and deck were breath taking.

Much the same can be said of the rest of the lodge. Being a B&B, there are only a few rooms, but all the ones we got to peek in were of similar quality and exceptional taste. We also spent quite a bit of time in the main area, enjoying the comfortable furniture and the well stoked fire. In the morning, Diana was a gracious hostess and chef, serving us a late and leisurely breakfast that was remarkable in and of itself.

Everyone was friendly and warm, while maintaining a high level of professionalism. And the Fitzpatrick Winery's wines were good - better than those found at many other El Dorado wineries we visited that same trip. Perhaps my only complaint is that it is a bit of a jaunt to get to Fitzpatrick's from the region's main arteries. While it is a bit of a drive along winding country roads, it is worth the effort. Next time we go, we are planning to stay for a couple of nights, with plenty of time spent on the Lodge's grounds so we can make the most of this most excellent B&B.

- Rodney

Room Tip: It is my understanding that all the rooms have decks with remarkable views. You just need to decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the way from Lake Tahoe to Yosemite we got stuck in that wonderful wine region El Colorad-Applehill-Summerset-Fair Play. A lovely region and a must see for all California tourists.

Finding a nice and decent Hotel turned out to be a little bit more difficult for us. However, by coincidence we found Fitzpatrick.

Driving there was already an pleasant experience. We arrived around five, when the sun colored the hills around that lovely place. Diane, the owner, welcomed us at the place and showed us around.
It is just a perfect spot in the region. From the large terrace you have a stunning view over the region. And when the sun goes down in the west, moon rises in the east. An incredible experience.
They offer cold snacks like cheese, sausages,.... and their wonderful wine. On Fridays they offer Pizza backed in a oven on the terrace, to bad we missed that.
Rooms where just fantastic, each having its own motto. Just check out their website to get convinced.
Seems like Diane herself was writing the review? Well i just fell in love with this place, its heaven on earth!

Room Tip: The suite is just a little more expensive than the other rooms, but its so much bigger and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

India room. Wine tasting. Full moon. Sunrise. Incredible view. Great freshly made breakfast. Warm welcome. 25 yard pool. Hot tub on the deck with great view. Large and tastefully decorated rooms with excellent views all around the house.


Still blown away...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed one night to celebrate our parents anniversary. What a neat place!! We went wine tasting during the day, took a nap, enjoyed "pizza night" and then hit the hot tub. Diana is so sweet and makes the BEST green eggs and ham. The whole place is remodeled but has such a cozy feel. All of the staff was super friendly. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

Address: 7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684
Location: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Fair Play

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge to your Saves list