We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with Wine and Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fair Play
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge
Save
You added Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge to your Saves list
7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun with Wine and Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love the Fitzpatrick winery and lodge! The views are marvelous, the hospitality is unmatched. Diana is a gracious host and a fantastic cook. We have come back year after year for visits and wine festivals. The deck offeres a relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the sunset. I just got word that they are cancelling their pizza nights on Friday which used to include music. This will be a big downfall. I know our groups would come for this on Friday's during festivals and other weekends throughout the summer. The pizza was only ok but the music and relaxing on the deck were exceptional. Too bad to see that go.
The rooms are always perfect, clean and really nicely done. The only drawbacks to some of the rooms is not having a stand up shower, some of the rooms only have the claw foot bathtubs and a shower head wrapped around the fauced, but there is not a real shower so you have to bathe and then rinse off with the shower head, not bad just a little more work for the AM shower before wine tasting!
The morning breakfasts are always hot and made to goumet standards!
We always enjoy staying here! Definately a must if you want a nice get away from reality! Their Sierra dreams rose is a great wine for sipping on a hot summer day!
We will see this B&B this weekend on our festival travels!

Room Tip: Rooms are all very nice, be aware that some do not have a stand up shower option, and the upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renotravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the most beautiful rustic bed and breakfast tucked in the Sierra Foothills in Eldorado County wine country. It has recently been sold, but the original owners/winemakers are still running it. The new owners renovated all of the rooms/bathrooms so all now have stand-up showers. The view out over the valley is spectacular. All of their wines are organic, and for a special treat from Memorial Day through October Brian fires up his wood-fired pizza oven every Friday night for Friday night pizza and live music. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had the good fortune to spend an evening at the Fitzpatrick Lodge last weekend (12/22/12) as part of a visit with some friends. What a remarkable place! Everything was perfect, from the service to the amenities.

The recently remodeled rooms were wonderfully romantic, each having a gas-burning, faus wood stove, comfortable bed, and excellent furnishings. We stayed in the "China Room." It had just the right touch of Chinese-themed decor, without it being overdone. It was warm and elegant, and the view from the windows and deck were breath taking.

Much the same can be said of the rest of the lodge. Being a B&B, there are only a few rooms, but all the ones we got to peek in were of similar quality and exceptional taste. We also spent quite a bit of time in the main area, enjoying the comfortable furniture and the well stoked fire. In the morning, Diana was a gracious hostess and chef, serving us a late and leisurely breakfast that was remarkable in and of itself.

Everyone was friendly and warm, while maintaining a high level of professionalism. And the Fitzpatrick Winery's wines were good - better than those found at many other El Dorado wineries we visited that same trip. Perhaps my only complaint is that it is a bit of a jaunt to get to Fitzpatrick's from the region's main arteries. While it is a bit of a drive along winding country roads, it is worth the effort. Next time we go, we are planning to stay for a couple of nights, with plenty of time spent on the Lodge's grounds so we can make the most of this most excellent B&B.

- Rodney

Room Tip: It is my understanding that all the rooms have decks with remarkable views. You just need to decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the way from Lake Tahoe to Yosemite we got stuck in that wonderful wine region El Colorad-Applehill-Summerset-Fair Play. A lovely region and a must see for all California tourists.

Finding a nice and decent Hotel turned out to be a little bit more difficult for us. However, by coincidence we found Fitzpatrick.

Driving there was already an pleasant experience. We arrived around five, when the sun colored the hills around that lovely place. Diane, the owner, welcomed us at the place and showed us around.
It is just a perfect spot in the region. From the large terrace you have a stunning view over the region. And when the sun goes down in the west, moon rises in the east. An incredible experience.
They offer cold snacks like cheese, sausages,.... and their wonderful wine. On Fridays they offer Pizza backed in a oven on the terrace, to bad we missed that.
Rooms where just fantastic, each having its own motto. Just check out their website to get convinced.
Seems like Diane herself was writing the review? Well i just fell in love with this place, its heaven on earth!

Room Tip: The suite is just a little more expensive than the other rooms, but its so much bigger and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72Clemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

India room. Wine tasting. Full moon. Sunrise. Incredible view. Great freshly made breakfast. Warm welcome. 25 yard pool. Hot tub on the deck with great view. Large and tastefully decorated rooms with excellent views all around the house.


Still blown away...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thexpert80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed one night to celebrate our parents anniversary. What a neat place!! We went wine tasting during the day, took a nap, enjoyed "pizza night" and then hit the hot tub. Diana is so sweet and makes the BEST green eggs and ham. The whole place is remodeled but has such a cozy feel. All of the staff was super friendly. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just returned from our second visit in 2 years to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge. Such a fun, great place with great view of the vineyard. Diana, Brian and their daughters make this place a true gem. The price is amazing, the wine is fantastic and the friday pizza night can't be missed. Love that they also have a lap pool for those of us who feel the need for some exercise while on vacation. New owner, but hopefully she will continue to let Fitzpatrick be what it is..great bargain, unbeatable breakfast (try the "green eggs" with sherry and creamed spinach, Diana's specialty) overall, comfortable, homey and fun. We will be back again. :)

Room Tip: We are partial to the Irish room..amazing view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaeger-Lowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

Address: 7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684
Location: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fair Play
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing