We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Nestled Away in the El Dorado Hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fair Play
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge
7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684   |  
Hotel amenities
Chico, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gem Nestled Away in the El Dorado Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had the good fortune to spend an evening at the Fitzpatrick Lodge last weekend (12/22/12) as part of a visit with some friends. What a remarkable place! Everything was perfect, from the service to the amenities.

The recently remodeled rooms were wonderfully romantic, each having a gas-burning, faus wood stove, comfortable bed, and excellent furnishings. We stayed in the "China Room." It had just the right touch of Chinese-themed decor, without it being overdone. It was warm and elegant, and the view from the windows and deck were breath taking.

Much the same can be said of the rest of the lodge. Being a B&B, there are only a few rooms, but all the ones we got to peek in were of similar quality and exceptional taste. We also spent quite a bit of time in the main area, enjoying the comfortable furniture and the well stoked fire. In the morning, Diana was a gracious hostess and chef, serving us a late and leisurely breakfast that was remarkable in and of itself.

Everyone was friendly and warm, while maintaining a high level of professionalism. And the Fitzpatrick Winery's wines were good - better than those found at many other El Dorado wineries we visited that same trip. Perhaps my only complaint is that it is a bit of a jaunt to get to Fitzpatrick's from the region's main arteries. While it is a bit of a drive along winding country roads, it is worth the effort. Next time we go, we are planning to stay for a couple of nights, with plenty of time spent on the Lodge's grounds so we can make the most of this most excellent B&B.

- Rodney

Room Tip: It is my understanding that all the rooms have decks with remarkable views. You just need to decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the way from Lake Tahoe to Yosemite we got stuck in that wonderful wine region El Colorad-Applehill-Summerset-Fair Play. A lovely region and a must see for all California tourists.

Finding a nice and decent Hotel turned out to be a little bit more difficult for us. However, by coincidence we found Fitzpatrick.

Driving there was already an pleasant experience. We arrived around five, when the sun colored the hills around that lovely place. Diane, the owner, welcomed us at the place and showed us around.
It is just a perfect spot in the region. From the large terrace you have a stunning view over the region. And when the sun goes down in the west, moon rises in the east. An incredible experience.
They offer cold snacks like cheese, sausages,.... and their wonderful wine. On Fridays they offer Pizza backed in a oven on the terrace, to bad we missed that.
Rooms where just fantastic, each having its own motto. Just check out their website to get convinced.
Seems like Diane herself was writing the review? Well i just fell in love with this place, its heaven on earth!

Room Tip: The suite is just a little more expensive than the other rooms, but its so much bigger and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

India room. Wine tasting. Full moon. Sunrise. Incredible view. Great freshly made breakfast. Warm welcome. 25 yard pool. Hot tub on the deck with great view. Large and tastefully decorated rooms with excellent views all around the house.


Still blown away...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed one night to celebrate our parents anniversary. What a neat place!! We went wine tasting during the day, took a nap, enjoyed "pizza night" and then hit the hot tub. Diana is so sweet and makes the BEST green eggs and ham. The whole place is remodeled but has such a cozy feel. All of the staff was super friendly. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just returned from our second visit in 2 years to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge. Such a fun, great place with great view of the vineyard. Diana, Brian and their daughters make this place a true gem. The price is amazing, the wine is fantastic and the friday pizza night can't be missed. Love that they also have a lap pool for those of us who feel the need for some exercise while on vacation. New owner, but hopefully she will continue to let Fitzpatrick be what it is..great bargain, unbeatable breakfast (try the "green eggs" with sherry and creamed spinach, Diana's specialty) overall, comfortable, homey and fun. We will be back again. :)

Room Tip: We are partial to the Irish room..amazing view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As if the ride up the foothills to Fitzpatric Winery isn't beautiful enough, you wind up a small paved road, turn a corner and there she is ... an amazing lodge style B&B. We are greeted by the hosts and invited to a complimentary beverage (wine or otherwise). We get checked in to a beautiful and well appointed 'theme' room called the India room (rooms have been completely renovated). We get settled in and step out onto the balcony which overlooks the 3 or so valleys full of amazing vineyards. We arrived on a Friday which is Pizza and Blues night durning summer months. Our other friends all join us at a reserved table for 8 ... and the festivities begin. The food, wines, service, views etc...more than we ever expected. What an classy, yet casual, peaceful, serine location. We only made one mistake ... that is; we only booked for 1 night and wished we had book the entire weekend.

If you are looking for a getaway that is unbelievably breathtaking ... Fitzpatrick Winery is IT!! We will be back.

Room Tip: No tip because there is no bad view! Every room has a view from one window or another or the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge for two nights while in Fair Play for a wedding. What a find! As other reviewers have said, everything was superb, from the gracious hospitality to the lovely rooms and the delicious breakfasts. We were in the Winemaker's Suite and loved the spaciousness of the room and the elegant bathroom. We especially enjoyed getting to know innkeeper Diane and tasting the wines. So many little touches, from snacks to the help-yourself refrigerator. Sitting on the deck at night, under the stars, was heavenly. Looking out over the vineyards in the daytime was so peaceful. Wish we lived closer, or we'd be back regularly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

Address: 7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684
Location: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Fair Play

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge to your Saves list