We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fair Play
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge
7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place, very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed one night to celebrate our parents anniversary. What a neat place!! We went wine tasting during the day, took a nap, enjoyed "pizza night" and then hit the hot tub. Diana is so sweet and makes the BEST green eggs and ham. The whole place is remodeled but has such a cozy feel. All of the staff was super friendly. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just returned from our second visit in 2 years to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge. Such a fun, great place with great view of the vineyard. Diana, Brian and their daughters make this place a true gem. The price is amazing, the wine is fantastic and the friday pizza night can't be missed. Love that they also have a lap pool for those of us who feel the need for some exercise while on vacation. New owner, but hopefully she will continue to let Fitzpatrick be what it is..great bargain, unbeatable breakfast (try the "green eggs" with sherry and creamed spinach, Diana's specialty) overall, comfortable, homey and fun. We will be back again. :)

Room Tip: We are partial to the Irish room..amazing view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As if the ride up the foothills to Fitzpatric Winery isn't beautiful enough, you wind up a small paved road, turn a corner and there she is ... an amazing lodge style B&B. We are greeted by the hosts and invited to a complimentary beverage (wine or otherwise). We get checked in to a beautiful and well appointed 'theme' room called the India room (rooms have been completely renovated). We get settled in and step out onto the balcony which overlooks the 3 or so valleys full of amazing vineyards. We arrived on a Friday which is Pizza and Blues night durning summer months. Our other friends all join us at a reserved table for 8 ... and the festivities begin. The food, wines, service, views etc...more than we ever expected. What an classy, yet casual, peaceful, serine location. We only made one mistake ... that is; we only booked for 1 night and wished we had book the entire weekend.

If you are looking for a getaway that is unbelievably breathtaking ... Fitzpatrick Winery is IT!! We will be back.

Room Tip: No tip because there is no bad view! Every room has a view from one window or another or the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge for two nights while in Fair Play for a wedding. What a find! As other reviewers have said, everything was superb, from the gracious hospitality to the lovely rooms and the delicious breakfasts. We were in the Winemaker's Suite and loved the spaciousness of the room and the elegant bathroom. We especially enjoyed getting to know innkeeper Diane and tasting the wines. So many little touches, from snacks to the help-yourself refrigerator. Sitting on the deck at night, under the stars, was heavenly. Looking out over the vineyards in the daytime was so peaceful. Wish we lived closer, or we'd be back regularly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are "regulars" at Fitzpatrick's . The best bargain in the area with breakfast to die for. The view is superb and the family atmosphere keeps us coming back. The recent upgrades make the rooms even more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our second time staying at Fitzpatrick's. We took friends this time and stayed two nights. Our next time we are going to stay over on their Friday Pizza Night, I hear it' the best and it's busy so book early. It is truly breathtaking and peaceful. Diana cooks up a the best breakfast, not just basic food, she goes above and beyond. I had the Green Eggs and Ham, Yumm. If they don't grown their produce, she gets it at the local farmer's market so the food is fresh and home grown. I love to sit out on the deck and look out at vistas and take our morning walk in the vineyard. If I needed a place to reflect this would be the place, tucked into the hill. We enjoyed being able to talk with Brian and Diana about the winery and how things are done, and just conversation, very worldly couple.

Just know that it is cozy, it's a log cabin so think earthy, it is not sophicated. Both times we had different rooms each one did not have a shower but some do. We were okay with that for a couple of days. Log cabins and claw foot bathtubs go hand in hand, but if you need a shower make sure you get the room that has one. Rooms are large and spacious, I would recommend a room looking out the back over the vistas, but any of the rooms will have a nice view, and all are peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

after spending the previous night up the road at Barkleys, this place was a god send! Comfortable, clean rooms with a great deck overlooking the beautiful foothills and grape vines. The hosts were very nice and the price was very reasonable...$99 per night and included a great breakfast. Highly recommend staying here if you are spending a few days visiting the wine country and going to the numerous wineries for tastings. This place is also a winery so you can enjoy a great glass of wine that is complementary.

Room Tip: The only reason I did not give the cleanliness a excellent rating because the carpet is over 20 year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge

Address: 7740 Fair Play Road, Fair Play, CA 95684
Location: United States > California > Fair Play
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Fair Play

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fitzpatrick Winery and Lodge to your Saves list