We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest View & Heavy on the Charm!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Belle Etoile

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Belle Etoile
Save
You added Hotel La Belle Etoile to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Bourg 24250, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Greatest View & Heavy on the Charm!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this great little hotel for 3 nites in May 2013. I specifically requested a double facing the river and that is exactly what I got - total Charm with a Capital C! We ate at the restaurant (make reservations by the day before-- at the very least) one night - it was superb. Our room had a huge bathroom with a large bathtub - always a plus with me. This hotel is on the street that parallels the river and cannot be in a better location. The employees were all very friendly and helpful - from the check in to the restaurant. Room was cleaned every day and minimal english on tv.

We had considered staying in Sarlat, which is much bigger than LaRoque-Gageac. We were so glad to have chosen this little town as it provided a brief respite from all the hubbub of a slightly bigger 'medieval town'.

This hotel is old world but somewhat renovated - no elevator. The locale is the biggest plus. Try to take a walk up the steps by the post office to check out the church higher up the 'cliff'. The caves are now closed so you won't be able to see them (Troglodyte Fort at La Roque Gageac). Parking is free - once you register with the hotel they will give you a paper for the dash so you can come and go for free. This is definitely a benefit as parking is at a premium in this little town.

We also rented a canoe for 3 hours and floated down the Dordogne - which we highly recommend if you have time. We booked with the company right across the street - approximately 38 euros. We floated down the river and they picked us up on the hour later.

We used this hotel as our base in order to visit Chateaunaud and Lascaux II Caves at Montignac.

Room Tip: request a room facing the river - well worth the extra expense if you can do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
89
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. The hotel is charming and comfortable, with everything you need. We loved the outlook over the Dordogne. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had dinner - the 31 euro menu- and it was remarkable value for an elegant, beautifully prepared set of dishes, served in a very pretty dining room. The dessert, the iced soufflé, was as good as anything we have had on our travels. La belle etoile is a great place to stay to explore this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a total of 6 nights at this hotel. Our room was a great value at 55 EUR per night. The room was large-ish, the bed comfortable, and the staff very professional. The walls are thin and we heard sounds from the ajacent room but it was not a problem for us.

From this location we visited Sartat, Les Eyzies, Beynac, Montignac, Lascaux II, and other small villages in the region. On a day trip from here we also saw St. Cirq Lapopie and Grotte du Pech Merle.

We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant one night--the staff in the restaurant is excellent and hard-working. We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning but for other days we opted for pastry and coffee at a local boulangerie down the street.

We would recommend this hotel and stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have now stayed here three times in four years. It was encouraging, after the first time, to be remembered by the staff, who are really friendly and helpful. Our room was unremarkable but large and comfortable and had everything we needed. It also had a lovely view of the river Dordogne. The restaurant is superb!! We enjoyed delicious food in elegant surroundings with excellent service. We live for a part of the year in France and so, happily, we can continue to visit Hotel La Belle Etoile at regular intervals. Glad to see the hotel now has 3 stars. I could enthuse some more but Michael D has said it all in his review!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is favourite. The hotel "begins" one floor up from the pavem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is just the best we have experienced in France outside Paris ( we are not speaking about the ultra expensive category ) and an amazing bargain and value in every way. The hotel is owned and managed by a husband and wife team. The hotel is located on the one main street and one parks in the large public lot. The hotel gives you a parking permit for the lot. The wife of the team meets you at the desk and manages the hotel proper. The service is quite good. The rooms, especially the suite, are large for a two star and all overlook the wonderful Dordogne River, and are quite nice, clean, larger than the usual two star, with good bathroom, etc. There is a perfect terrace area between the two sections of the hotel to have an afternoon cocktail or wine with cheese etc and watch the riverboats go by. The topper, however, is the restaurant. The ambience is one of a very expensive French restaurant, with nice tablecloth, paintings on the walls, and just an atmosphere of very high quality. The food was outstanding and at least when we were there the service by our young waiter was perfect. The husband owner is the chef, and one will sometimes meet him as he comes by to check on things for you. Then you get the check and find out this amazing French restaurant 4 course meal in a great atmosphere came to 30 euro ( sans the wine ) !! To conclude, I can only say that this is an absolute must for any traveler to the Dordogne and even for just one night and dinner it would be a real high point of any trip to France. The village of course is gorgeous and doing a canoe trip together plus the hotel experience makes for just a perfect 24 hr event in that area.

Mike and Paula D
Sacramento, Ca

Room Tip: The suite is easily worth the small extra cost, although all the rooms I believe overlook the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had the suite over the dining room, which was very comfortable and well worth the reasonable price premium. The hotel is beautifully situated, clean and well-serviced by the staff. The dining room is exquisite, and is matched by the quality of the food. Breakfast is unexceptional - a standard French buffet. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Can't believe this hotel is only rated as a 2 star. We stayed 3 nights and at the prices quoted decided to stay in the suite. The room was enormous (especially by French standards), it was more like 2 rooms. It was clean and comfortable and even though the hotel is by the road, there wasn't any noise. The service friendly and relaxed and make sure you eat at the restaurant, the food was sensational (we also noticed the kitchen was absolutely spotless).

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Belle Etoile

Address: Le Bourg 24250, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Belle Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
La Belle Etoile Hotel
Hotel La Belle Etoile La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Belle Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.