We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Belle Etoile

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Belle Etoile
Save
You added Hotel La Belle Etoile to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Bourg 24250, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Can't believe this hotel is only rated as a 2 star. We stayed 3 nights and at the prices quoted decided to stay in the suite. The room was enormous (especially by French standards), it was more like 2 rooms. It was clean and comfortable and even though the hotel is by the road, there wasn't any noise. The service friendly and relaxed and make sure you eat at the restaurant, the food was sensational (we also noticed the kitchen was absolutely spotless).

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant and it didn't disappoint. Located on a main road in a picturesque village this 2star family owned hotel and restaurant is well worth a visit. The dining room is quite stunning and window tables overlook the Dordogne river. Food was well presented and of excellent quality, served by attentive and friendly waiting staff. There is a good varied menu which includes the regional traditional dish of foie gras (goose liver) available virtually everywhere in the Dordogne. Can definitely recommend for a special evening with great food in a tastefully elegant decor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed three days in {2003} and ate there in {2006}, .
The food is a master work, staff are superb,views from the terrace in the morning and at night makes ya want to win huge money and buy it.
100% the business.

Room Tip: Just do not miss it if you are within 100KM
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The restaurant of this lovely hotel overlooking the Dordogne River has a great menu specializing in liver pate dishes specific to the region. The owner is the chef, who greets guests passing by the kitchen with a friendly 'bonjour'. We arrived late in the evening shortly before the dining room was to close, but they happily seated us for a delicious meal. La Roque Gageac and the beautiful surrounding villages have a unique history and Belle Etoile is a great location from which to explore. The receptionist was genuinely helpful and friendly, to the point that she hugged and kissed us in the traditional French manner when we checked out!
We would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit the Dordogne region.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has everything going for it - it's in the center of the cute little town of la roque gagneac, perfect starting point to explore the region, the food is amazing, although a little pricey, and the rooms are comfortable and have great views. Bathtub is deep and great for a nice long soak (especially after being on a bike all day!) the breakfast was pretty disappointing for me as I have celiac disease and can't eat any sort of bread. Breakfast was breads, croissants and jams.

Great things to do nearby, I just wish I'd had more time here!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our room was clean and cute with a great window overlooking the river. While a bit pricey, the restaurant serves a delicious meal, and I would recommend it for a splurge if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: I liked my river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spent two nights in Hotel La Belle Etoile in early June 2012. Area is remarkably beautiful. We stayed in a suite overlooking the river so we were very satisfied with the room. The restaurant has genuinely excellent cooking. It is at a far higher level than anywhere within miles. All staff we encountered were genuinely helpful and polite. Many were local which is amazing considering the tiny size of the area. We have no criticism of this hotel--excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Belle Etoile

Address: Le Bourg 24250, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Belle Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
La Belle Etoile Hotel
Hotel La Belle Etoile La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Belle Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.