We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plume d'Oie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Plume d'Oie to your Saves list
La Plume d'Oie
Main Street, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Two brief descriptions: The best in French cuisine at an extremely slow pace. We were seated at 8:30 and walked out near midnight - but what happened in between was unparalled French five-course gastronomie. Each meal is individually prepared from scratch after ordering. The mushroom ravioli was tender; duck and lamb main dishes were outstanding; the pear dessert was sweet. Prices are not cheap but at least 50% less than one would find anywhere else the world. Just don't go if you are in a rush.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

La Plume d'oie is beautifully situated right on the Dordogne River but best of all the food Mark prepares is beyond comparison. An accomodating host who prepares the most delicious food! Worth going out of your way for the food alone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandJSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Like most other reviewers on this site, we found La Plume d'Oie to be an exquisite auberge.

We stayed in the Tichodrome and Martin-Pecheur rooms which have unencumbered views up and down the River Dordogne. The location is centre-town and perfect for touring the considerable number of "Plus Beaux Villes", chateaux and formal gardens in the local area. As a further outstanding feature, owner/chef Marc Walker offers cuisine at both dinner and breakfast that is imaginative, tasty and well-presented which, in our experience, is an unusual combination for many eating establishments in France.

Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This fabulous restaurant is one that we have returned to over the last 3 years (last year we ate here twice!). The setting overlooking the Dordogne is beautiful and when it is hot the glass doors open allowing you to take in the full beauty of the scenery, if you're really lucky you can watch the hot air balloons hovering metres above the water.

The restaurant is intimate and cosy, the front of house attentive and helpful, speaking perfect english if required. The menu is varied and seasonal with attention to detail. The duck, fillet steak and puddings are exceptional. The wine selection is also great. Definitley worth a visit even if it is a little out of your way. We are already planning our next visit hopefully next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsy_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed at The Plume D'Oie for 3 nights recently. What a wonderful auberge situated in the middle of the beautiful town of La Roque Gageac. We had reserved 2 rooms, the Tichodrome and Martin-Pecheur, both of which had picturesque views over the River Dordogne and were comfortable and clean. Towels were changed daily and bed linen every other day during our stay. Now the real highlight! The culinary expertise of charming British proprietor/chef Mark was exceptional, ably supported by a very efficient team. The front of house spoke perfect English! We had breakfast and evening meal on each of our 3 days and we were overawed with the presentation, creativity and flavours of all the dishes. The guinea fowl on the final evening was, quite honestly, stunning! The Plume D' Oie is firmly on our map of France!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosefeather24, Gérant at La Plume d'Oie, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
Thank you.
We are glad you enjoyed it.
We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Sorry for the delay in writing this. We stayed at La Plume d'Oie during our trip last early spring that started in Barcelona and traveled via car to the Dordogne and back to the Priotat region of Spain. Mark opened the hotel and dining room for us as he had just returned from New Zealand. His cooking was so spectacular it made the other places seem a let down, sometime a terrible let down. What he did with whatever was available and in season was truly incredible. Breakfast each morning was actually exciting to wake up for. At breakfast Mark would casually ask whether we wanted dinner that evening and offered suggestions. He would allow me to go into his wine cellar and pick a wine for dinner. It was like having our own chef. The rooms are adequate, ours had a fine river view. The setting is spectacular. A great location for exploring the area. I would go back there in a minute and stay as long as I could!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_and_Maria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We ate at Plume d'Oie's restaurant, and so far this has been the highlight of our gastronomy during our 6-day visit to the Dordogne. It is pricier than the average good restaurant, but is in a different league, so worth the extra.

My wife & son chose the salmon & scallop entree, which was really a sashimi dish, and was melt-in-your-mouth fresh, complimented with a superb dill sauce. I had the duo of mushroom lasagne, which I would have called a ravioli of chanterelles and cepes, and which was just as delicious, accompanied by a very light mushroom sauce.

For the main, my wife and I shared the Pintade, served with both lighter breast meat and the more darker thigh meat. Again, absolutely perfectly roasted and tender. My son enjoyed a Limousin steak, cooked to his liking.

Deserts of cooked pear with ice-cream, or fresh fruit in a caramelised basket with sorbet completed the meal.

A local Bergerac red rounded the whole experience off.

Highly recommended, and a stand-out restaurant in a quiet little village, placed to watch the Dordogne river glide past.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#10 of 36 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#21 of 36 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#22 of 36 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plume d'Oie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume d'Oie

Address: Main Street, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming inn , facing the Dordogne, in La Roque- Gageac , we welcome you all year for a night's rest , a stay of discovery or a lunch to dinner . The chef, Sebastian Bickel , realizes an original kitchen, modern, dynamic & only fresh produce. Discover the map on our website or our Facebook page. A meeting between our knowledge & your desires. Our motto : " A kitchen Men & their passionate desire to please " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Plume d'Oie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plume D'Oie La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing