We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Plume d'Oie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Plume d'Oie
Save
You added La Plume d'Oie to your Saves list
Main Street, 24250 La Roque Gageac La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

La Plume d'oie is beautifully situated right on the Dordogne River but best of all the food Mark prepares is beyond comparison. An accomodating host who prepares the most delicious food! Worth going out of your way for the food alone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Like most other reviewers on this site, we found La Plume d'Oie to be an exquisite auberge.

We stayed in the Tichodrome and Martin-Pecheur rooms which have unencumbered views up and down the River Dordogne. The location is centre-town and perfect for touring the considerable number of "Plus Beaux Villes", chateaux and formal gardens in the local area. As a further outstanding feature, owner/chef Marc Walker offers cuisine at both dinner and breakfast that is imaginative, tasty and well-presented which, in our experience, is an unusual combination for many eating establishments in France.

Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This fabulous restaurant is one that we have returned to over the last 3 years (last year we ate here twice!). The setting overlooking the Dordogne is beautiful and when it is hot the glass doors open allowing you to take in the full beauty of the scenery, if you're really lucky you can watch the hot air balloons hovering metres above the water.

The restaurant is intimate and cosy, the front of house attentive and helpful, speaking perfect english if required. The menu is varied and seasonal with attention to detail. The duck, fillet steak and puddings are exceptional. The wine selection is also great. Definitley worth a visit even if it is a little out of your way. We are already planning our next visit hopefully next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed at The Plume D'Oie for 3 nights recently. What a wonderful auberge situated in the middle of the beautiful town of La Roque Gageac. We had reserved 2 rooms, the Tichodrome and Martin-Pecheur, both of which had picturesque views over the River Dordogne and were comfortable and clean. Towels were changed daily and bed linen every other day during our stay. Now the real highlight! The culinary expertise of charming British proprietor/chef Mark was exceptional, ably supported by a very efficient team. The front of house spoke perfect English! We had breakfast and evening meal on each of our 3 days and we were overawed with the presentation, creativity and flavours of all the dishes. The guinea fowl on the final evening was, quite honestly, stunning! The Plume D' Oie is firmly on our map of France!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Sorry for the delay in writing this. We stayed at La Plume d'Oie during our trip last early spring that started in Barcelona and traveled via car to the Dordogne and back to the Priotat region of Spain. Mark opened the hotel and dining room for us as he had just returned from New Zealand. His cooking was so spectacular it made the other places seem a let down, sometime a terrible let down. What he did with whatever was available and in season was truly incredible. Breakfast each morning was actually exciting to wake up for. At breakfast Mark would casually ask whether we wanted dinner that evening and offered suggestions. He would allow me to go into his wine cellar and pick a wine for dinner. It was like having our own chef. The rooms are adequate, ours had a fine river view. The setting is spectacular. A great location for exploring the area. I would go back there in a minute and stay as long as I could!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We ate at Plume d'Oie's restaurant, and so far this has been the highlight of our gastronomy during our 6-day visit to the Dordogne. It is pricier than the average good restaurant, but is in a different league, so worth the extra.

My wife & son chose the salmon & scallop entree, which was really a sashimi dish, and was melt-in-your-mouth fresh, complimented with a superb dill sauce. I had the duo of mushroom lasagne, which I would have called a ravioli of chanterelles and cepes, and which was just as delicious, accompanied by a very light mushroom sauce.

For the main, my wife and I shared the Pintade, served with both lighter breast meat and the more darker thigh meat. Again, absolutely perfectly roasted and tender. My son enjoyed a Limousin steak, cooked to his liking.

Deserts of cooked pear with ice-cream, or fresh fruit in a caramelised basket with sorbet completed the meal.

A local Bergerac red rounded the whole experience off.

Highly recommended, and a stand-out restaurant in a quiet little village, placed to watch the Dordogne river glide past.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Tx. USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

La Plume d'Oie is a wonderful choice to stay while in the picture postcard beautiful village of La Roque. The owner, Mark Walker, is also the chef and his restaurant is not to be missed. If you cannot get one of the four rooms try to go to his restaurant for dinner. The duck he prepared for us was the very best we have ever been served. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: The hotel has regular size and larger rooms. We had a larger room facing the river. Wonderful locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Plume d'Oie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plume d'Oie

Address: Main Street, 24250 La Roque Gageac La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Marc Walker has created a temple of gastronomy in the enchantingly beautiful village of La Roque-Gageac in the Perigord. The Plume d'Oie Restaurant has developed a faithful clientele, both international and local, since opening in 1981. Customers return again and again for chef Marc's dependably excellent and innovative cuisine. The Auberge was created in 1991 and welcome people from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Plume D'Oie La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plume d'Oie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.