We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Perigord

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Perigord to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Le Perigord
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port de Domme | D 703, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was adequate size and had pleasant decor. Looked like the room had been renovated. Air conditioning was a plus as it was very warm. Room was very clean and well-serviced. Good sized wardrobe for storing clothing. Flat screen TV and small desk and chair as well. There are no lifts/elevators, but we don't find this a problem. I had a peek at the pool, and it looked nice, but I didn't have a chance to use the pool. The room was quiet, and we slept well.

Great location. Convenient to explore the area. Convenient and ample parking.

Breakfast was nice, with pastries, bread, ham, cheeses, coffee and teas. I believe there was yogurt and cereal, but can't remember for sure.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was very good, but not extraordinary (for the prices). Menu is not extensive, but I did notice a vegetarian set menu, which was something I didn't see a lot on this (two week) trip through France. On a night when you want to have a relaxing and tasty meal without leaving the hotel, it is a nice option. The restaurant and terrace areas (atmosphere/decor) were not fancy, but pleasant and clean. The service was very good and friendly.

The staff were friendly and available. Everyone I spoke to spoke English and cheerfully tolerated my bad French.

Overall, it was a good hotel choice, and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We planned for an overnight stay but ended up staying 3 nights. The location is fantastic for exploring the Dordogne area and the beautiful villages, castles and chateaus in the region.
Our room was newly refurbished and very boutique in style with a big comfortable bed, matching linen and fabrics, a small flat screen TV, desk, 2 chairs, lots of wardrobe space and shelving and a fantastic wet room and toilet. The room also had controllable air conditioning which was useful as the daytime temperature was reaching 35°C!!! The views across the back of the gardens to the river were stunning although you can't get to, or see the river - shame! But it is a very short drive away or a slightly longer walk to the village of Cenac.
The gardens had a large swimming pool which was kept nice and clean, plus a tennis court.
The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful and we felt as though we were valued as customers. The hotel has a restaurant with an extensive wine list that had some good value bottles though you could spend a lot if you had the money to do so. I would recommend a local red - they are very good especially Vin du Domme. These are all the good points - now for the bad points...
It took 2 days to fill the shower/shampoo gel dispensers in the bathroom.
Dinner was good but overpriced and limited in choice. On our second night we had booked a table for 8pm but weren't served our main course until 9pm - and we didn't order a starter either! A coach full of people had arrived and they were getting all of the attention. Whilst we had apologies for waiting so long, it shouldn't have taken an hour to serve us.
Also that night, the restaurant manager (lady) had an argument with one of the waiters at the bar that was clear for us to hear, and others I suspect which is very bad form.
One night we had tempura prawns. In our opinion, the pastry was not cooked properly and it was very moist and not crispy. Maybe this is how chef does it but for us it was not cooked as tempura should be.
It was over 30°C in the evening and couples were seated in a glass fronted terrace to dine with no air conditioning making eating food the last thing that you wanted to do. This could have easily been rectified as there was an air conditioning unit in the terrace.

I would recommend this hotel for a 2-3 night stay so you can explore the area and relax by a lovely pool but I would find somewhere else to eat in the evening. There are plenty of places around and not too far away. The hotel clearly caters for large coach loads of tourists from all over Europe and can deliver food in a quick and mass way. They also do weddings and have a function room for such events. There is no lift!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished boutique type room - N°15 for example. Also ask for a room at the back to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Le Perigord is your best choice for visiting this part of the Dordogne Valley. It is an attractive hotel and very professionally run. We originally booked for one night but enjoyed the renovated room and the food so much that we extended our stay. We look forward to our return to Le Perigord and to this beautiful part of France.

Madame Swann

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our family based ourselves at this hotel for four nights whilst we visited the Dordogne. The hotel is about 4km outside of Roque Le Gageac but less than 1km from Cenac which is right on the river. We toured the local area by pedal cycle (Sarlat, Roque, Domme, Carsac- Aillac) and found the hotel to be ideally located. We didn't eat at the hotel as other local restaurants offered far better value for money but the hosts were friendly and spoke good english. Our room had been recently refurbished and had a lovely modern bathroom. The hotel has pleasant grounds with a good sized swimming pool and a tennis court and a large parking area. The only minor grumble was the road outside the hotel which spoilt the peace of the swimming pool area but as we spent very little time there it really was a minor point and I would consider this hotel again if I return to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms with a modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, B
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Based on the positive reviews we booked at this hotel. We were thrilled to read in the reviews that there was a great vegetarian set menu, which is quite exceptional for a hotel in this region.

So we let ourselves be tempted to take the vegetarian half-board arrangement for our entire stay. That was a mistake. It appeared very soon that the cook lacks the inspiration or motivation to cook any other attractive vegetarian dish apart from the few included in the existing set menu. For the other dishes he will just serve you the vegetable garnishes of the meat/fish dishes. This meant for instance that one day the non-vegetarian half-board guests were served trout and mashed potatoes as main dish, and the vegetarian diners were treated to ... a bowl of mashed potatoes. We were just flabbergasted that they dared to serve this with a straight face.

To be short, I agree in general with the positive reviews; it is a very nice place, in a nice location, it has a very helpful female owner etc. I would stay there again, but would only have dinner there for one evening and not be fooled by the half-board proposition.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freibo, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Perigord, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We are sorry you did not apreciate our vegeterian cooking, some how it'is probably due to the fact that we did not realised, you wanted the all stay as vegeterian, we did understand you query, just as if we had a vedgetarian proposition, we would have catered completely different if we realised. Sorry for that, we are happy to know you enjoyed the rest of our services.

If you do give us a second chance make sure you are clear about wanting vedgeterain for your entire stay.

Best regards


Patrick Freiburghaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Recently got back from a roadtrip around France and this was by far the best hotel we stayed in! This 2 star hotel must be the equivalent of a 4 star in England. The Couple who ran it were amazing, extremely friendly with excellent english. Rooms are airconned and comfortable with plenty of space. The pool is nice and they even provide you with towels and also tennis racquets for the tennis court. Excellent location for the Dordogne river and some good kayaking down the river. The restaurant attached served the best food I have ever had and the lamb dish was the best bar none! The Rose served in litres was tasty and will have you wanting more (no risk of headaches in the morning with this great wine though). The staff were all really friendly and helpful and I would return without hesitation. Being in our late twenties we were probably the youngest there by a bit but were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in. So much character in the place and from the people. Chapeau to them (they even sent us in the direction of where they got there great wine choice so I can enjoy a little bit of Hotel Le Perigord back in London). At a very reasonable price everyone should go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and didn't expect much, but were stunned by just about everything! When you walk into the lobby you wouldn't believe what the rooms are like. They are airy and fresh, recently renovated and large. We liked the interior decoration, very modern yet cozy. Bed was big and comfy, also the bathroom was one of the best we've seen in hotels around this standard level. When you open the window you'll get picturesque view over the hills (where by the way you can eat a top-notch dinner while admiring sunset).

They also have a lovely swimming pool and terrace. Breakfast was ok with the usual stuff such as bread, croissants, jam, cheese and ham etc. We enjoyed it every morning before taking off.

There was a group of us and no one could criticise this property - very nice and well kept hotel. Over there it's easy to relax and enjoy quiet vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Perigord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Perigord

Also Known As:
Hotel Le Perigord La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne
Address: Port de Domme | D 703, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Perigord 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a park of 2 hectares, offering the comfort of a modern and convivial establishment, The Périgord offers 39 rooms equipped, with shower or bathroom, WC, bidet, television and direct dialling telephone.The restaurant awaits you for your meals from breakfast to the dinner, for a meal of festivals or a moment of relaxation between friends.The conference rooms propose to you an ideal environment for reflexion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Perigord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Perigord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.