We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the river” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'auberge des Platanes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
Save Saved
You added Hotel L'auberge des Platanes to your Saves list
Le Bourg, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
San Leandro CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Great view of the river”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location on the River, parking next to the bar and very inexpensive rooms. That said, when they saw our disappointment with the room they had selected for us, they offered to upgrade us for a reasonable price...the result was a very spacious room with a great balcony overlooking the river (see pic). The bar and restaurant downstairs were convenient and provided a comfortable place to relax, but with the balcony and a bottle of wine I didn't spend much time downstairs. We originally tried to book a room at the Hotel La Belle Etoile...unfortunately, they were full (this two months before we left the states). But we did manage to have one dinner there, and it was a wonderful experience..one of the best meals of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    6
    11
    24
See reviews for
18
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is just a review of the restaurant. We stopped for lunch on a canoeing trip & liked the look of the terrace. We hadn't checked the menu though & after we'd sat down found that there wasn't much that appealed to any of us.

The waiters were friendly but the food was awful! The only completely dud meal we experienced on this trip.

We all picked salads apart from my son who had a steak with salardaise potatoes. The steak was fine but the potatoes were cooked in old oil & were soggy & unpleasant.

I had a Gesier salad & really didn't want to eat it when it arrived just from looking at it. The gesiers had been ladled onto the lettuce with a dollop of grease that had congealed underneath. The salad ingedients were all old & bruised. My daughter's smoked salmon salad smelled of fish & not in a nice way. My wife had a salad Nicoise which should have been a safe bet but was again poor with a mean portion of tuna & chewy watery rice.

Not cheap either - yet it was packed! I'd always understood that the French wouldn't put up with this sort of thing too.

Don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We arrived to find a friendly waiter immediately help us put our bicycles away - we were on a cycling holiday of the area. Our room was a little lacking - the light bulb in the toilet didn't work, the wall paper is peeling off the wall in places and the bed covers were old with ripped stitching, but it was clean. The first meal we had wasn't very pleasant - it was only a salad but it was 'watery' with poorly drained rice in a salad nicoise which shouldn't have rice. The next evening we did rather better with a set menu of 3 courses. I enjoyed the walnut cake but expect it was not made on site. The waitress each morning was very pleasant with a smile and always wanting to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'm only reviewing the restaurant because we didn't stay at the hotel. We ate here every day when we stayed for a week in June, and thought it was fab. The food was great - we had quite a variety off the menu, eg the confit de canard, salad perigoud, delicious omlettes plus some of the yummy deserts (strawberry tart for example) and we enjoyed every mouthfull. It was a lovely place to eat too just overlooking the river, and the service was great. We had a very nice waiter who served us all week, and the staff (including monsieur le patron) were friendly and really welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This review is only for the restaurant.....DO NOT EAT HERE! Rude service; the food was literally not edible.....canned peas and carrots that were coated with a sugary sauce and meat that I could not chew and had to spit back out on my plate. No refund was given.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

We only tried the restaurant - overprice and boring food and quite rude service. Luckily we didn't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I reserved a room here for 2 nights 2 months in advance. At first glance the room seemed okay and we went out for the evening. When we got back, the owner came running after us and informed us we had to leave the night - it turns out an old friend was coming into town and he wanted to give his friend our room. As an alternative, he offered we could stay in his "house 400 meters down". We walked down the street and found ourselves a different hotel for the next night, but still stayed there that night.
Looking a little closer at the room, we saw tons of bugs swarming around the lights and lots of spiders on the ceiling. Instead of a pillowcase the bed sheet was folded over it, leaving the mattress exposed underneath.
We couldn't get out of their fast enough the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'auberge des Platanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'auberge des Platanes

Address: Le Bourg, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Auberge Des Platanes La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'auberge des Platanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.