We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River sights of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Gabares Norbert

Les Gabares Norbert
Le Bourg, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
05 53 29 40 44
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“River sights of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This river cruise that lasts an hour is pure bliss. There are free Audio devices for those of us with poor French skills that are informative and easy to understand. Extremely good value for money. It provided us with a view of the area from riverside that gave us the clues as to the sites we would explore during the rest of the week. We were there on shoulder season on a Monday so no queues with boats leaving on the hour. I would recommend if going during weekends or peak seasons to book ahead though to avoid queuing as I believe it would be very popular.


There were plenty of restaurants nearby but some tables to being your own food also. Great for all ages. And those more energetic could hire canoes.

Operates between April and 1 November

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well worth a trip the river has lot's of hidden secret's and you will be surprised how much more you can see from being on the river.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The boat didn't travel far enough. Very comfortable and interesting, as far as the boat went. We also had trouble with our headphones for the English translation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect end to any day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A group of us stopped off here on the way home and to get some ice creams and we decided to take go on one of the many boat trips which run every 30 mins. Having a small child with us we thought we would chance it as we could easily entertain them if the 1 hour trip proved boring for them.
The trip was great, the scenery was beautiful and all of the other people on the river were constantly interacting with the crew of the boat and that passengers.
It was honestly a shame when the trip ended and the activities on the river were more than enough to entertain any child

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant view of chateaus from the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I found Gabarres Nobert on the Sarlat tourist office website (which is quite comprehensive) and I'm glad I did. We spent a pleasant hour floating up and down the Dordogne looking at beautiful views.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Gabares Norbert also viewed

Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Gabares Norbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Gabares Norbert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.