We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely flower farm in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ferme Fleurie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Ferme Fleurie to your Saves list
La Ferme Fleurie
24250 La Roque-Gageac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely flower farm in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This B&B is set out in the country, surrounded by woods and fields. the grounds contain flower gardens, which the owner takes great care and joy in growing. dinner was a great experience - most of the clientel are French and the owner is expert at regaling the guests with (apparently) great stories. we met folks from all over the world during the wonderful family-style meal. rooms are clean and quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs. our downstairs room was a bit musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this lovely b & b for one night in August during a tour of the Dordogne region. My husband, teenage son and I all enjoyed our stay tremendously. The property is set in beautiful gardens in a very quiet location but only minutes away from Sarlat and La Roque Gageac. Our room for 3 was very well appointed and clean with a lovely bathroom. We booked the "table d'hote" dinner in the evening in advance and they had no problem accommodating the vegetarian in our party (which is quite something in France!). As is customary, we ate at large tables with the other guests - outside under the catalpa tree as the weather was hot - and enjoyed melon, tomatoes and potatoes stuffed with meat (savoury breadcurmbs for the vegetarian) with rice, selection of local cheeses and strawberry desert. The food was very plentiful and the hosts serve the meal and chat with guests throught. (It helps to have at least some French as they do not speak much English.) The French breakfast of baguette, fruit juice and tea/coffee/hot chocolate was also very plentiful.
This is a family-run property with 3 generations, including the young children, and assorted dogs and cats, involved! There is a very friendly atmosphere and everyone is very helpful and welcoming. It is very good value and we will certainly stay again if we travel to this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Although we were staying elsewhere, we wanted to eat once at a ferme auberge, where it is said all the food comes from the estate. Our host Philippe at Le Pigeonier secured a reservation for us here, right down the road. We were the only English speakers, and the long tables were filled with jovial French folks enjoying jokes with the entertaining host. Our meal of pates, foie gras (small extra charge), duck confit, haricot verts and walnut cake was delicious. Local wines and aperitifs added to the fun. Although we do not speak French, we do speak both cat and dog, and one of the farm's canines, Ulysses, joined us for the meal and conversation. We were quite taken with him (and his beautiful manners) and loved having him warm our feet. When we got up to leave, the French guests sang us a good bye song-sweet! It was an experience not to be missed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed for three nights and loved it - wonderful flower gardens, very nice room, but the highlight was the food - we were the only English guests, we ate all our meals there, five course meals with aperitif and coffee included, lovely traditional farmhouse cooking and most of the ingredients grown fresh on the farm. We thought the value for money was fantastic and would not have eaten anywhere else. It is very French, meals are communal - we surprised the other French guests and the owners by eating rabbit, but as there was no choice we would have been hungry if we hadn't, so you do need to have fairly broad tastes in food. If you have, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

La Ferme Fleurie is located about a half mile west of the small town of Vitrac on the road to La Roque-Gageac. Mrs. Brainiac and I found it thanks to a query we posted in the Dordogne Forum on TripAdvisor and, thanks to its B&B style and the online endorsements, we opted to reserve four nights there to use it as a base to explore the Dordogne region. The price was more than right: four nights for two set us back only 160 Euros. Given today’s exchange rate, that is a bargain.

Our first impression of the Ferme was a bit mixed: its B&B atmosphere, its delightful gardens (tip: don’t miss the garden trail through the flowers and the woods), its wide open spaces set away from the road, its peace and quiet and the scenery were very appealing. Our room was initially a bit of a disappointment. While there are accommodations available for larger groups, i.e., separate buildings with kitchens, etc., we stayed in the lodge area on the ground floor. The walls are very thick so the room was quite cool, even sometimes cold, during the warm days but the ceiling was thin and footsteps and creaks above us after we were in bed and before we got up in the morning irritated us the first day. The proprietor and staff do not speak much English; fortunately we butchered enough French to be understood.

That being said, during our remaining time La Ferme Fleurie grew on us. The staff is friendly and kind; the other clientele proved to be diverse and very social and we took long walks with them after dinner around the property. Many of them were from other parts of France, like Lorraine, and were in the area for long distance hiking. Sometimes in late afternoon, the guests would pool and share food and wine and assemble at the picnic tables before dinner at La Ferme which was served around 6:00 pm.

Reports of the food at La Ferme were consistently excellent; we did not eat there only because Mrs. B and I usually eat our main meal much earlier in the day. And while our room seemed initially like a cave, we grew to like its charm, the views and the excellent shower, even though its door was a tight squeeze. Given the age of the buildings, the interiors are dark; the bathroom could use a stronger light, and having a flashlight with you for moonless nights when you can't find a light switch would be a plus! You do need to bring shampoo and similar sundries.

The location of La Ferme Fleurie is excellent if you have a car. Within a few minutes of driving, we were able to explore La Roque-Gageac, Sarlat, Domme, Rocamadour, and many places even further away and also in-between. For the price, one would be very hard-pressed to beat this place.

If and when we head back to Dordogne, we’d stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

If you want to experience French culture in beautiful surroundings this is the place for you. Located between La Roque-Gageac and Port Vitrac in beautiful Dordogne, this is the perfect location to explore this beautiful region of France. You are surrounded by acres of beautiful flower gardens and forest with a trail that explores every nook and cranny of the property. Our room was small, but fully decorated in country French fashion, complete with a little alcove where our teenage son slept. Whatever you do, don't miss having dinner with the family and guests. Fanny, the chef, serves specialities of the region on different nights, and you dine at a long table under the trees. Don't be surprised to see a hot air balloon or two pass overhead during dinner! During our two day stay, no English was spoken by either our hosts or the guests. We were made to feel welcome in spiite of our language deficit! This was our favorite place to stay during our two week vacation in France (and the least expensive as well!).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the move in Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I stayed here when I was traveling alone and really enjoyed my stay. What I remember most about this place were the amazing dinners and the wonderful people I met. I wish I could remember the names of the cheeses and duck dishes they served each night but I guess I'll just have to go back and ask them in person. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it. Seriously, don't bother looking for a place in the area to eat dinner, I can't imagine you could do better than eating here.

The dining area has a few large tables and everyone gets the chance to talk about what they did during the day and what their plans are for tomorrow. It would certainly add to your enjoyment if you speak French though since I was then only English speaker among the 20 or so other diners while I was there.

One thing to note is that you will hear everything going on in the hallway and in the rooms next to you when people are getting ready for bed or waking up in the morning. When I was there, everyone seemed to be on the same schedule so it wasn't an issue for me but if you are a real night owl or like to sleep late, this may not be the best choice for you.

All in all I wouldn't look for other accommodations should I find myself in this area again. For the price you really get a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Ferme Fleurie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme Fleurie

Address: 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Ferme Fleurie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Fleurie La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ferme Fleurie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.