We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - Book beach bungalow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   109 Moo 4 subdistrict Kohlanta Yai koh Lanta, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Ko Ngai
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice - Book beach bungalow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Very nice resort. The beach bungalows are worth the extra money. Don't expect many places for dinner.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    82
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
38
83
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Nice but pretty basic resort in need of some refurbishment. Located on a beautiful beach. Water on a nice day is so clear and turqouise but on a cloudy day when the waves are bit bigger than normally it gets murky. That's how it looked like when we arrived and were a bit dissapointed but when the weather changed it turned out to be a true paradise ;)
Rooms are different. We stayed in two rooms. Beachfront suite first. What a location! You jump out the balcony and you're on the beach! Fab. But the room itself wasn't fab. Looks old, decor bit 80's. Bathroom could do with a refurb. Room size just right. bit expensive for what you get, though. And there is super beachfront villa. And that's what you want. Much bigger, right on the beach.We stayed in villa no 999 - you open the door and there it is - beach. :) Nice inside, spacious, nice bathroom, hairdryer(!), tea coffee making fac.
Restaurant is ok. but then again bit tired. Food delicious. Biggest dissapointment was breakfast. pretty much same thing every day, not much to choose from. Lunch and dinner totally different. wide choice, nice portions, finger licking good. Staff absolutely fantastic.Very friendly and helpful. You won't feel dissapointed. :)
There's a little shop there and a bar, also tour office. You can explore the island on a rented kayak or book a day trip and visit surrounding islands and go snorkeling.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at koh ngai fantasy resort for 7 nights. Our room,a beach front villa was excellent, when we were first shown into the room it was a definate wow!!, the view of the gorgeous turquoice sea was beautiful. The room was lovely, nice big bed, good bathroom, just lacking tea and coffee making facilities.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and attentive, especially the dining room staff. The food was very reasonable compared to other restaurants on the island, very good portions,and very tasty.

The beach was so lovely, clear water, and a great reef that you could easily snorkle out to. We also walked across the island to the paradise resort beach,however this was not as nice as our beach. The fantasy resort and the thanya resort next door has the best piece of beach on the whole island.

We had a great time on koh ngai, and would definatly return to the fantasy resort in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Great place, lovely staff! we had no porblems staying here, it was low season and we were pretty much the only people staying but it is a beautiful place. We stayed in a beach front bungalow and by beach front it was about 2m from teh sand !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

What luck to have found this beautiful island, and enjoyed this great hotel.
We stayed in one of the hillside rooms which had a lovely a/c bedroom with clean bedding and towels every day. the shower room was huge with lovely hot water, and an enormous veranda with ceiling fan where we watched giant hornbill!
The beach is pristine white sand and the sea is clear blue, had a wonderful time snorkelling metres off the beach and feeding the many fish. Ideal place for children to enjoy snorkelling for the 1st time.
Whilst there our friend was not too well and although there is no real medical facilities the staff was more than able to help.
The staff were just lovely and made us so welcome, on our last evening they gave us a special dinner,infact Koh Hai is so good I almost don't want to recommend it for fear it will go the way of places like Railey beach which is now a DUMP!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

friendly stuff,speaking English.clean room but economy room had no hot shower.nice view,nice sea food.cheepest rate in the island.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

My friend and I went backpacking around South East Asia for four months, and we decided to treat ourselves in what would be our last Island trip in Thailand before returning home.
We arrived on the island knowing that prices here are more expensive than other places, but we managed to bartar with Fantasy resort to get an aircon room right next to the beach for 1400bht (about £28) a night. The room was clean and comfortable - although it only had cold water and no tv - but 1 its hot so cold water is fine, and 2 you're in Thailand on a beautiful island why would you want a tv???
The beach at high tide is great! The water is clear and the views are stunning, the tide does go out later in the day and you cant really swim when this happens, but we found it fun to go out and walk on the rocks which are exposed. I think it would be fun if you took your kids here as they can go pick up shells, look at rock pool life and crabs etc. (also its a safe beach for children)

I found the staff here very friendly and pleasant, they genuinely seemed to want to make your stay a good one. The food in the restaurant (and all drinks) are subject to 10% service charge, and 7% VAT, but I still don't think it worked out expensive at all. Considering there are only about 10 places on this island it could be a whole lot more pricey!! The menu is mostly Thai food but they do have garlic bread, french fries, chicken and some western food should you want this. They have a nice Massaman curry though which we had most nights.

I would definitely recommend this island, its perfect for relaxation and for those wanting a slice of paradise. Its not budget orientated but the Fantasy Resort was not overpriced (or some of their rooms weren't anyway) - the only actually overpriced place we went to was Phi Phi - not really worth the money you pay, you get basic rooms for resort prices and the place is pretty much ruined by tourism (in my opinion)...in fact being there made me feel quite disappointed and sad about what it probably used to look like.

We walked to the other side of the island where Paradise Resort is (it wasnt open when we went as was low season). The beach was really lovely and quiet (much smaller than the main beach but still a good stretch of sand) and we took snorkels and there were lots of different fish to see.
We also paid 500bht to go to Ko Mook's emerald cave and Ko Cheuk. The emerald cave is quite impressive although full of tourists!! Also don't go if you're really clausterphobic as you have to swim through a dark tunnel...quite freaky....although they do form 'human trains' for those who aren't confident swimmers. The snorkelling at Ko Cheuk is AMAZING!!! The coral is nice and there are SO MANY fish. We even got to see Clown fish - WE FOUND NEMO!! I recommend doing this trip or just a trip to Ko Cheuk if possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa

Address: 109 Moo 4 subdistrict Kohlanta Yai koh Lanta, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Hai Fantasy Hotel Koh Ngai
Koh Hai Fantasy Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.