We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Moo 4 Subdistrict Kohlanta Yai Koh Lanta, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Location is fantastic! Right on the pristine white sand beach with absolutely stunning view. The actual rooms are basic Thai style - clean, comfortable. Beds are better in cottages, but nothing can beat waking up with sea at you porch if you stay in older beach access rooms. So it depends what you like. Restaurant is blah. Eat next door in Tanya, where food is great and service better!
If you see a large black dog, give him soya milk that you can buy in the store fro 25 bhat. He loves it. Apparently that dog is vegetarian and eats rice, but not fish. His name is Adam. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    88
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
40
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had high expectations for this hotel, but were greatly disappointed..

We stayed at the Hillside Superior room (969 or 696, can't quite remember..) waaay up the hill. The room was fairly small but the balcony was huge with partial views to the sea. Everything in the room seemed like it was done with the left hand while keeping your eyes closed, so at first look it seemed nice, but once you looked closer everything seemed to be done in a hurry (or just not caring of the outcome..
The a/c was a total joke; it made a very loud noise but you could hardly feel any air blowing from it, the rotating fan in the ceiling did a better job cooling us down at night, altough it made a very annoying squeaky sound while spinning at was not able to stop it to blow just in one direction..
Then we get to the showering part.. No hot water except for a few second at a time and when you tried to adjust the water temperature from boiling hot to decent, it went cold again. And after our family of 3 had showered the bathroom flooded every time since the floor drain did take the water in veeery slowly..
They provide few bottles of bottled water per day, but it had a nasty side taste, so we ended up bying the water from the little store.

The beach in front of the resort is the best on the island, though its packed with people during the day. A little children's play area on the beach was a nice thing.

Breakfast was very good and it had a lot of options to choose from. We ate at the buffet one evening and it was also great. Other nights and days we ended up getting food from the little tent place next to this resort; the food was a whole lot cheaper there.

Oh, and the wifi did not work in our room up the hill, had to walk almost all the way to the reception area to get it working, and this is a long walk from up the hilll, and of course, then you had to walk up again..

Room Tip: I would not recommend one to stay in the hillside rooms, you get more value for your stay, if stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Ngai hotels

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Wonderfull place, wide, long sandy beach with crystal water.
spectacular views from hotel restaurant.
nice villas, very good food with choice of fresh seafood fir dinner.
whole place is perfect for family vacation. Truly relaxing place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wierd resort. Beautiful beach, nice rooms. Strangely unhelpful staff. We asked for an extra towel for the room. Theysaid they would have to charge us for an extra person if we wanted an extra room towel. We decline, but then we find out you can get as many beach towels as you want for free. We asked to change dollars to baht. They said they only change Euros. I have never been to a hotel that changed Euros, but not dollars. Restaurant is over-priced. Walk down the beach to find better for cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Fantasy Resort is toward the south end of the island and is one of the best placed resorts for when the tide goes out. The beach is better at this (south) end of the island. We were given a warm welcome at reception though a bit disappointed that the bell boy who took our luggage then waited around until he was given a tip. Breakfast was decent enough and the one dinner we had was excellent. We ate twice at the camp site restaurant next door which has tables on the beach and very good food including a fish barbeque.
Our accommodation on the sea front was fine with a wonderful view to wake to each morning.. The bathroom area has a window facing into the room which means it is much lighter. It also meant one could have a shower whilst taking in the beautiful views.
We felt other cheaper accommodation in the resort was very crammed in. The beach villas with pools are set back from the sea and imo vastly overpriced - maybe explains why they were empty when we were there.
The resort has a massage spa which we enjoyed though a shame it was up the hill a bit and not looking out on to the sea.
Worth going on the jungle trek to the west point, a walk which takes about an hour. The start is accessed by Thanya Resort next door. Take a lot of water. Also walk up the length of the beach to the most northerly resort. The staff were quite happy for us to use the pool for a few hours if we had lunch.

Room Tip: Go for a sea front villa. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Koh Ngai is basically beach. There are 11 resorts scattered along about a 2km stretch. We got there via Air Asia land/sea option and it was very straight forward and well organized. On arrival at Trang airport, a man was waiting with a sign to take us to the pier. At the pier we were dropped at a small shop to wait for the boat transfer. For both the car and the boat we were the only customers. Air Asia advertises the boat goes to Koh Ngai Villa - but the boat stops at any resort you tell them. They also pick up from any resort but you have to let Koh Ngai Villa know in advance where you want to be picked up,
The Fantasy Resort was good value for money. They seem to have lots of room options including new private villas with pools right in the front. We got a beach front room which is a small section of 7-8 older rooms off to the far right side neighboring Thanya Resort next door. It was a great view and nice deck chairs which you can move down to the sand.
We were not expecting the tidal changes to be so dramatic - high tide you cannot stand up within a couple of meters from the shore so great for swimming. Low tide you can walk out more than 500 meters over coral and rocks so great for walking.
Day trips are what everyone does and there are lots of options up and down the beach at the various resorts. We ended up choosing the 10.30am 4 Island option offered by the Fantasy Resort and we are glad we did. It was a small group of just 13 people and a reasonable boat with 3 crew. Although the water was not very clear in any of the snorkel spots it was a good day as the fish we pretty. Coral was mostly dead so not so colorful. At one point we got caught in a rip with 2 other people and the guide stayed with us and helped to call the boat. The Emerald Cave was insane - would not go there again although it was beautiful. Going through the cave to get there was claustrophobic and probably dangerous as the water was high and ceiling low.
2-3 nights was enough at the Fantasy Resort. Next time we will look for an Island with villages and more local culture but for a relaxing beach vacation this was a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at this resort for 1 week. My friend was getting married in the resort next door so this was a convenient spot for me to stay in. I stayed in a standard room that didn't have a beach view. It was basic but clean and perfect because I wasn't planning to spend much time in the room itself. Air conditioning was good and the shower had hot water. Fresh towels and water were delivered to my room each morning. The food in the restaurant wasn't as nice as I had hoped and there were hundreds of flies! The breakfast buffet had an egg station which was good because you could request a fresh omelette. The daytime menu was pretty much all fried food as the chef didn't begin cooking until 5pm each day. In the evenings when I ate there I had a mixed meat grill and also a mixed seafood grill. Both were pretty average. The staff were very friendly though and went out of their way to help in any way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa

Address: 5 Moo 4 Subdistrict Kohlanta Yai Koh Lanta, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Hai or Koh Ngai is the most well-known island near Koh Lanta, Krabi in the Andaman sea. It is framed by many charming islands such as Koh Kradan well-known for under water wedding ceremony, Koh Mook The Emerald cave - Unseen Thailand, Koh Cheuk , Koh Mah and Koh Rok . All of them offer you with a plenty of activities, some of them is the world best place for diving and snorkelling. With its natural and peaceful surrounding; making this small island is the best place for your personal visit; it is the environment where you can feel at home, according to its geographic, you could walk around along the beach for sightseeing or conveniently travel to the other famous islands such as Koh Lanta, Koh Phi Phi, Phuket, Koh Lipe, and Koh Langkawi by boat. Try to imagine to the tranquil white sandy beach bordered by warm crystal clear sea water with magnificent coral reefs, all of them will be provided exclusively for you at Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa ; with our premium facilities we have Ocean Pool Villas faced located at the white sandy beach front with panoramic sea view. Furthermore, we also facilitated you by outdoor swimming pool, Spa, Minimart, Medical Corner, Bar, and restaurant which available for both of Thai and Western Cuisine. In addition, we also have scuba diving service and free Internet WIFI. According to our passion and pride, all of them are combined and presented to you; we hope it will become the impressive experience that will be engraved in your mind for everlasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Hai Fantasy Resort And Spa
Koh Hai Fantasy Hotel Koh Ngai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.